We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant with a style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 69

Cafe 69
157/52 Bophut Avenue Apartment, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
66-81-978-1945
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 302 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just steps away from Fisherman Village and Bo Phut Traffic Light. Located on the Main Street, opposite Anantara Bophut Resort)Explore a new twist of Southern Thai Indigenous Cuisine designed by our dedicated Chef Vivien. Sip 69 secret yummy potions, freshly brewed coffee, smooth and delicious ice cream and sorbet...at a cozy shadow-terrace on a lively street... and cool air-conditioned lounge with super-comfy couches. Music ambience on iPod and guaranteed Dynamic Zen atmosphere in a vibrant and colorful setting.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“restaurant with a style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

cafe 69... the name is already unique but when you step into the cafe, you will be impressed by the chic, fancy decor which might be reflected from vivian's character.  vivian will normally welcome you by himsels with a big smile and will explain about his menu items on the big board or suggest his special menu if he is not too busy in the kitchen.  i would like to suggest the papaya salad with soft shell crab to start with or you may want to try the salmon in sour soup which is very very superb to me!  it's similar to tom yum kung (spicy soup with prawns) but more tasty and so delicious!   these 2 starters are my favourite!  vivian also will be able to tailor-made a menu as per clients' need since i wanted to have a simple chicken noodle soup which is not in his menu then he was willing to prepare the dish special for me which impress me a lot! and i have to confess that the soup was real nice and the chicken was melt in my mouth!!!  i also tried chicken green curry puff and it was also excellent!  vivian's dishes are real delicious and always come with pretty presentation.  i saw other tables ordered snapper in green curry sauce and it looks delicious! i will have to try the dish next time.  well, i would like to conclude that this place is a must to be visited if you come to samui

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    155
    41
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best menu on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This looks like the most un-assuming "cafes" in Samui (Maenam road view) however if this menu and establishment was in London it would be famous by now! Why?.... The menu is totally unique to Samui.. Thai infused but still nothing to compare against they normal Thai fayre which is great until you want something different, so come here, we chose the Thai Salmon and potato cakes and Thai Chicken Curry Dumplings. they were AMAZING!! Whilst we were waiting we also tried the shrimp crackers and Tom Yang chutney type Sauce and the pad thai spring rolls, again with the same dip, ( please bottle this dip and sell it!!). Anyway.. Give it a chance, enjoy the brilliant service and welcome, but most of all the quality of food and menu choice is excellent! Cafe 69 is fast becoming a "brand" in Samui! Bottle it please :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quirky decor, unique menu and friendly service - chicken dumplings are a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here after seeing it was number one on TA.
The location is on the main bophut road so a bit busy and doesnt have a good view but we wanted to try it after seeing the reviews on here.
The staff were friendly and the owner came and introduced himself and took us through the menu which made it very personalized - we went at lunchtime and were the only people in the cafe the whole time which meant it lacked a bit of atmosphere and the food arrived very quick. I'd recommend booking a table and going in the evening.
The green curry chicken dumplings were really tasty and one portion is enough for two - they were served on a set of scales as part of the quirky ambience and style of the restaurant. I had red chicken curry which was good and my partner had the soft crab from the special board which he said he would definitely recommend.
The decor in the restaurant is being like on the movie set of an Austin Powers movie due to all the sequins, pink and feathers so be prepared for something a little different to the usual Thai restaurants!!
I wouldn't say it was out favourite meal in Thailand but it was certainly up there with the best - would recommend and have added a few photos for you to check out too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky but what a find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had 3 great dinners here recently and can not recommend it highly enough. Sure, you're not eating in a restaurant but in a cafe but that is the point. Fantastic menus with no faults. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Great Thai food with a difference. When we return this will be our first port of call - hope you are still there !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A tasty gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Being billed on Trip Advisor as the number 1 place to eat in Bohput we had to give it a go. This easy to find cafe is simply superb. Some of the dishes are simply inspired, traditional Thai delights with a nice twist. The prawns are chunky and tasty and made for a great starter. Portions were huge, staff were amazing and the bill was tiny. Absolutely deserves its spot. As for another reviewer (2 star), remember this is 'cafe 69', not 'swanky 69'.

Loved it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 69 also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Cafe 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 69, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.