We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope for quiet neighbours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Boat Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Boat Lagoon to your Saves list
Samui Boat Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   78 / 36 Moo 5 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK/Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Hope for quiet neighbours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The villas with pool are visually private but any noise from surrounding villas of course carries. Thankfully during our six night stay there wasn't too much noise, although we did spend one afternoon subjected to someone else's choice of music. The sound of the pool pump drowned out the worst of it.
Wifi was almost completely absent during our stay in spite of having a worker spend two afternoons disturbing our privacy trying to fix it. The worker ended up connecting my iPad to a nearby hotel's wifi that only worked intermittently. This made planning further travel within Thailand a very frustrating experience.
The lack of a restaurant wasn't too much of a problem as there are two small supermarkets and many restaurants in very easy walking distance. We didn't use room service.
The small private beach is lovely to look at but not good for swimming.
Housekeeping was only okay. Something was forgotten on every occasion, toiletries one time, clean tea towels another time, only one clean bath towel on a third occasion. Staff was friendly and pleasant, though.
The free transfers from and two the airport were great. Just email them to arrange.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from other occupied villas if you want a quiet and relaxed time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    54
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
32
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here as two couples in a two bed villa. After the hustle and bustle of Bangkok it was superb. It is exactly as advertised. The beach is not good which is why they provide complimentary shuttle to Cheong Mon beach which is beautiful. They pick you up from the airport and drop you off on leaving. There is a fruit basket on arrival. The rooms are as per the photos and the pool in the villa is a good size. The main pool is large with lots of beds and parasols. The manager told us that the complex was full but it felt quiet as the pool was never busy. Not a lot of restaurants close by but a taxi to fishermans village was 300 baht and 400 to Chaweng where there are lots of restaurants and bars. The staff are fantastic and they really are so friendly. We were often taken to these by Baow who was superb. We went to see a Muay Thai fight in Chaweng and he not only took us there but showed us the seat options and helped us buy tickets. We also asked him to recommend a restaurant and he took us to beautiful restaurant close to the stadium - Spirit House. Well worth a visit. We booked the elephant trekking from reception which was excellent but beware at the end they are very pushy for a tip and this took some of the enjoyment out of it. Do not be intimidated into giving them the large tip they ask for. The Thai food is great and cheap but if you fancy a change try Frenchys which is on the other side of the street from Oceans 11 restaurant in Bangrak. The owner/chef is a character and the food was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 11 and enjoyed the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent property! Must stay!!

Best Points: Private pool with sundeck chairs in all villas / Fully equipped super large villas with kitchen facilities and spacious bathroom/ very clean and well maintained / very close to the airport and fisherman's village / Superb outdoor swimming pool. Superb value for money.

Only drawback: No restaurant available on the property but the still deliver from nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Two bedroom villas are excellent for large families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

It is a relaxing place, loved that we had our own villa and pool and the bathroom with outdoor shower was amazing. But really there is no beach, its a roped off area, no chairs to lounge, stray dogs everywhere. The grounds were well maintained and the pool was beautiful, but not really on the beach. You could not order food until noon! Who doesn't eat breakfast?? We had to go into town each morning, which actually turned out to be ok. The restaurant isn't on site, so you can't go and sit anywhere, I believe it's just a restaurant that delivers - and no phone in the room to order, they give you a cell phone to use during your stay. Also, it's nice they offer massages but they don't bring their own tables? so we had massages on our lounge chairs. Go into Chaweng if you want a cheaper massage. Its in a good quiet location, close to Chaweng, but nothing within walking distance, so you'll need to rent a motorbike. We did this through the hotel. We got a flat tire and had to pay for it ourselves - only about $4 and they sent someone to pick us up - which was nice, we were stranded. But no refund for our tire change, which was frustrating other than the fact of the cost, which was ok because it was so cheap I suppose. I do like that the villa had a huge orchid tree, beautiful and the waterfall drowns out most of the noise from the neighbors, we had to call one night after hours and it was handled within minutes. The bed is a bit hard. All in all a good experience, but weigh what you are willing to give up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We didn't want to be near Chaweng and at no time was I led to believe that Samui Boat Lagoon was anywhere other than where it says it is! We knew there was no restaurant or bar because it says so if you actually read the description of the resort! And the English spoken by the staff was significantly better than my Thai!

Ok, enough of the sarcasm about other people's reviews, this place is lovely. We were in villa 24 and it is true that the pool did not get much sun and was a tad "interesting" to get into, but fine once you're in. On the upside, I burn easily and if you had kids you might have to try to keep them out of a pool in full sun which defeats the object of having it. If you want sun on the pool, ask for a villa on the side nearest the main pool where the geography of the buildings should work better.

The place was very clean and very peaceful. We hired a car for the 10 days which is well worth it even if just to get to the south of the island where peace and almost real Thai life can be found. Fisherman's Village is lovely, a little pricey but cheaper than UK pubs and amazing settings on the beach. The Happy Elephant and Smile were our favourite restaurants there. If you want a proper beach, go to Maenam, it is pretty hard to find the beach from the road but once you do it is quiet, pretty and relaxing.

In short, book the Samui Boat Lagoon, you won't regret it..... unless you like nightclubs.... in which case go to Bournemouth instead

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four days at the end of our 2.5 week trip to Thailand. It was nice to have a clean, cool, and comfortable spot to relax. We stayed in a one bed villa near to the beach (no. 35), and the pool had the sun track across it all day, lots of sun if you want to sun bake. The pool is cool, a relief from the heat, and clean. We hopped in and out all day long. The outside living area pavilion is a nice idea, fan cooled which is needed by lunch time. Bathroom is large, clean, but no fly screen on one window so close the door to minimise chance of mozzies in your bedroom. Garden is nice enough, the plants outside our bathroom though we're looking very sad indeed. Yes mattress is firm but that seems to be standard in Thailand, all we came across from north to south, east to west!

Kitchen is adequately equipped and we used it for self catering breakfast and lunch. No restaurant on site as mentioned by others. I think if the place included breakfast at least it would get a better rating by me.
Having said that, a trip on day one to Tesco Lotus a 20 minute drive away is worth it for a good range of provisions. The 7-11 is a 5 minute walk away and has basic supplies, and you can get fresh fruit and veg from local markets near the Big Buddha (a 15-20 minute walk away). Do try the local restaurant Sopa (see separate review), very good.

It is a bit out of the way and if you are brave enough to drive/ride a scooter then you will not feel the isolation too much. The upside is no road noise. We opted for walking to the main ring road and catching share taxis which are frequent and relatively cheap.

The hotel picks up and drops you back to the airport for free which is great. They do a free shuttle at 10 and 11am to a nearby beach at Cheong Mon which we used. That beach was very busy by our Aussie standards. The little beach area provided by the hotel is much quieter.

Staff were helpful and pleasant. Good wifi too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The previous reviews are spot on. Stayed in very nice 1 bed pool villa. Very relaxing, clean. We had a couple of issues with the air con but these were fixed very quickly. Staff are excellent. Resort is out of the way. We hired a motorbike. You need transport. Bangrak is 5 mins away on the bike, Fishermans village another 5 again. Bikes are safe enough if you know what you are doing (just take your time). For the price I recommend this place particularly as you have your own pool. Some of the fixtures and fittings are not top notch, and the bed is very hard (even with the mattress topper that the staff put on for us). Samui Boat lagoon is best summed up as 5 star concept, 3.5 / 4 star execution, but really nice staff and very peaceful place to stay. Place needs a gym though!

Room Tip: Villa 22 had sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Boat Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Boat Lagoon

Address: 78 / 36 Moo 5 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Boat Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samui Boat Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Boat Lagoon Hotel Bophut
Samui Boat Lagoon Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Boat Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.