We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Samui Resort to your Saves list
Mantra Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/124 Moo1,, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #17 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

After backpacking around parts of Thailand we ended up in Koh Samui and after spending 2 nights in Lamai we couldn't take any more fast food and dodge blue cocktails so we found Mantra online. Got a fantastic deal on Agoda and when we arrived we got a free upgrade to the Cozy suite complete with sea views. Everything about this hotel was superb, from the food to the amazing cocktails made by the very knowledgable mixologist Kris. I was a little chilly on the first night with the air con and need a heavy blanket to sleep under so they very kindly sent me up one the next morning without fuss. We had dinner both nights we stayed and my boyfriend's New Zealand lamb was one of the best we have ever had. Amazing presentation also. If you are looking for a luxury getaway at an affordable price I would highly recommend Mantra. Oh and happy hour is from 3-7pm every day, check out the espresso martinis!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    324
    87
    30
    10
See reviews for
171
807
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The definitive place to stay in Ko Samui. Away from the touristy hustle and bustle of the beaches, this retreat up in the mountains is definitely one for couples. It is more expensive than other accommodations, however in Europe you would definitely be paying 4 times the amount for the luxury you get here. We stayed in a WOW apartment overlooking Ko Phangan and Ko Tao. Amazing Infinity pool and the food in the restaurant was out of this world (Lamb Massuman was my favourite). The staff were extremely friendly and even though our flight was at 5.30pm we were allowed to check out at 12pm and use the facilities for the rest of the day (pool, shower in the 24 hour gym, restaurant etc.)... Just go there!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited Mantra Samui for 4 nights in mid August. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the staff members and offered a cold drink (much needed!). We had organised pick up from the hotel and this was there on time and easy to organise. As we had arrived from the airport early, we were pleased when we were able to check in early. Our room was a "love" room. It was very nice, clean and had all facilities we required. We had free wifi and international calls- this was very useful as we could keep in touch with family abroad. The hotel had a very relaxed feel and there were many positive and nice sayings scattered around the hotel that were nice to read! We had a lovely view from our room and in general it was a lovely, friendly place to stay. All the Staff members were welcoming and polite. We were able to organise tours directly through the hotel and there were many things to do if you were not going out including cooking classes, yoga and gym classes, they even had a BBQ night with live music. Alternatively, the hotel offered a free shuttle service to all 3 beaches around the area and we saved a lot of money by using this! Overall, a lovely place to stay- if we did go back to Koh Samui- the Mantra hotel would be where we would stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Wind your way up the hill to your tropical paradise. This hotel is located on the hill, looking down over the Bohput village. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly and the hotel is run by a beautiful couple. The double loungers by the infinity pool are great, swim up to the bar for a cocktail. They run a convenient shuttle bus to the village or Chewang and the shuttle carts that take you up to your rooms are great fun, one night we tipped up on the steep climb must have over loaded! I would say that anyone with mobility issues may find the hills too steep. The WOW rooms are very clean and comfortable aswell as peaceful. Breakfast is a delight, order your coffee and eggs from the delightful staff to start your relaxing day. Laundry if staying longer can be done quite cheaply down in the village at the bottom of the hill by weight. I also did my first yoga class here, another free bonus and have since continued my yoga on return to Sydney. Overall a great hotel on beautiful island in a great village. Bohput village has great Friday market, this is a must, fantastic atmosphere and good shopping, food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed as a family of four in late June early July for 10 days. Our family stayed in a Wow room. We stayed here based on the reviews from our family who had stayed there before, we were not disappointed. We had free transfers because we booked directly through the hotel which is a nice added bonus.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Boy. Boy is the most helpful, kindest person I have met, you can truly tell Boy loves his job and is good at it, our family felt immediately welcome and at ease. We were lucky enough to see Boy several times during our stay, he was always willing to help, offer advice and went out of his way to make sure our family had a great holiday. Overall we really enjoyed the staff at the Mantra, it has a really relaxed casual vibe and this shows in the employees, it really makes you feel relaxed and welcome, which when you are on holidays is exactly what you want.

We as a family found the wow room very comfortable, our two children aged 11 and 15 shared the day bed which they found comfortable. The bedding was comfortable and we all slept really well. I loved having a lounge in the room and seating on the balcony, we loved sitting outside and looking at the awesome view, it is simply amazing.

The breakfasts are great, lots of variety and great coffee too which is sometime hard to find in thailand. We certainly enjoyed the service of the restaurant staff and having your breakfast order cooked to order is a nice touch. The breakfasts have so much variety and really cater for all tastes, loved the endless supply of coffee at breakfast too!

The pool one word WOW! We enjoyed lots of time in the pool, it was so relaxing just looking over the edge to the ocean views I found this one of the most relaxing parts of my holiday. Others say it is hard to get a lounge, yes sometimes it is, but you just need to be patient, most people are mindful of others and it doesn't take too long to get a sun bed, we certainly never waited too long.

We used the movie room on one occasion it was great laying back in the bean bags in the air con watching a movie this is a really nice feature especially for families. We ate in the restaurant on one of the theme nights it was an enjoyable experience. We ordered room service pizza and it was beautiful.

We used the shuttle buses to get down to Chewang and to Bophut mainly of an evening to go for meals. The times are not overly ideal if you don't want to be down there for hours, but for a free service they are fine. We on several occasions paid the private taxi 500 baht to go down to Chewang and then caught the free shuttle back this solved the problem of the time issue for us. We also hired a car though the Mantra, this was an easy process, the first time we have ever done anything like this in Thailand, the Mantra staff were great and organised this for us. I would say having a car is such an advantage if you stay here, you can just come and go as you please and explore Koh Samui, get some tips from staff they are really great at pointing out some great places to explore.

For those wanting to do laundry there is a family laundry service at the bottom of the hill which is a reasonably priced and good service, we used it very regularly.

Overall we loved the Mantra, it was the most relaxed, casual and welcoming resort we have ever stayed in. Our family totally enjoyed our time at the Mantra, we met some wonderful friendly people, the staff certainly portray the relaxed welcoming vibe that the Mantra promotes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 night stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value resort in samui.
Amenities were great - spa was great, pool was absolutely gorgeous and we never had any trouble getting a lounger despite having a few long lie ins! Food was good at breakfast, as were any meals we had at lunch/dinner. Can't fault the shuttle at all, although the pick up point in bophut was a little bit scary at night... We used it daily to go to bophut and chaweng. Can't believe people complain about this, there's on almost every hour apart from 6&7pm - the hotel doesn't have to provide this service after all...
The staff were brilliant, particularly On who was one of the restaurant managers, she always had a smile and a hello and made the effort to stop for a chat, much nicer than the male manager! Was nice to see the general manager on site so much. There was one shuttle/golf cart driver who was very rude though (mustache and always wore aviator shades) seemed very disinterested and when I asked him a direct question he blanked me completely and began speaking to another driver!!
The views are unbelievable and the location was perfect for us, it was lovely to be out of the hustle and bustle. Resort is most certainly not as hilly as some reviews have suggested and if this will be a problem for you, why choose to stay here when it's clear from the outset?

The reason I didn't give the hotel 5stars? The rooms! We stayed in a love room and although spacious, seemed a little worn and grubby with marks on the walls and floor and the wood in the bathroom was faded and rotting a little in the shower. Because of this there was a damp smell when using the shower. The gardens and exterior of the hotel were all extremely well kept, as is the pool area but the restaurant and the reception area look a bit tired and in need of a little rejuvenation.

All in all a brilliant hotel and unbeatable value for money, would not hesitate it to anyone, particularly good for couples.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for 6 nights. The approach to the property is quite tricky (small turn, which one will miss if you don't know the place well), through a narrow winding road leading up to a small hill and the Hotel reception, but the view from there more than makes up for it! Our room had a large sitout area with an open air Jacuzzi overlooking the ocean! The room is large and spacious with a 'LAN Drive' that has an interesting array of movies loaded onto it. The bed was shaped like a Thai Bed and had a small 'ledge' that one would easily miss (and therefore go off balance sometimes, esp in the night), though the sleep quality was quite good. The food at the restaurant is good (though it lacks variety) and the wine selection interesting too. The gym/swimming pool is good, though the pool can get really crowded esp in the mornings. The staff at the Mantra are the reason that i have given them 1.5 stars extra, they are extremely courteous and always wanting to go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. Mark in particular was a great guy and makes a great drink at the bar! They have an inhouse spa which was very good. They also provide a shuttle service to Fisherman's Village where you have a plethora of shopping and dining options. All in all, a great property esp if you want a quiet holiday away from the maddening/partying crowds of Samui/Phanghan.

Room Tip: Elderly guests are advised to ask for a room closer to the main restaurant/Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/124 Moo1,, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mantra Samui Boutique Resort***** is located 10 minutes from Bophut Beach with our complimentary shuttle service (provided multiple times a day)or with a scooter or a car. Enjoy our amazing range of Facilities that include: Squash Courts, Himalayan Salt Yoga Studio, Steam Room and Sauna, Fully Equipped Fitness Center, Two Restaurants, Swim Up Bar, a Cinema, a Kids Club and a Game Room. An amazing Sea View can be enjoyed from all of the WOW, LOVE, COZY and GRAND rooms.Most importantly The Five Star Mantra has the friendliest and most professional staff on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.