We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views, Very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Save Saved
You added Mantra Samui Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/124 Moo1,, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Bophut
Katherine, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous views, Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mantra for 6 nights and were very fortunate to have a room with uninterrupted views.....on the highest level. Not all rooms had these views. Fortunately the hotel provides speedy and efficient service transporting guests around the establishment in "golf carts" which was an absolutely necessity unless you are a mountain goat. The views from the infinity pool are fabulous, also from the restaurant. Great food presentation and options at all mealtimes. It was enjoyable that we could take the hotel shuttle to the busier areas of Koh Samui, walk and shop to your hearts content, and be picked up by shuttle again to return to a peaceful location. For the more couragous drivers, there are plenty of hire vehicles and hundreds of hire motor bikes to take you around the island. Great value all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with uninterrupted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    750
    289
    77
    25
    9
See reviews for
155
700
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 7 nights together with my wife.
Originally we booked this hotel Sept 8-14 because we would travel further to Ko Phangan.
When arrived in our Phangan hotel we had like homesickness, therefore we decided to return back to Mantra for another night.

One thing should be said, you must be aware that the hotel is not at the beach side but a bit higher up in the hills. Yes, you must rely on renting scooter/car or taking hotel shuttle (free of charge, and runs very often) to go to the Bophut or Chaweng beach. We were very much aware of this and we just enjoyed the fantastic scenery from our room, so lovely to see the see and Phangan Island at the horizon.

We had booked a Love room, which comes with a jacuzzi on the balcony.
The room was spacious and nicely designed. The bed was large and the mattrass of good quality. Wifi (free) was working alright. the cleaning staff did their work well, as the room was cleaned each day very well. Negative was that from time to time there was a bad small from the douche drain.

The swimming pool is quite big and offers GREAT sights, very relaxing to swim in. The water was clean and had just the right temperature.

The breakfast was simply overwhelming, so many choices to choose from. The food was of excellent quality, great eggs (just say how you want the eggs) and pancakes, but also Thai noodles and western pastries. Top quality tea and coffee.

The staff is trained very well, they have a very friendly attitute and are very much willing to give you a fantastic stay in Mantra.


As mentioned above we have returned to Mantra after staying 3 nights in Koh Phangan, before taking our flight to Bangkok. As my wife and injured her feet seriously in Koh Phangan, she could not walk easily. for that reason were got an upgrade to the COZY Suite, because that room was most close to the breakfast room. Thanks again for this! it was HIGHLY appreciated!

I can continue my story about all the great things of Mantra, but would advice you to book a room and just experience it yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The only bad thing i can say about this hotel is that it is located quite far from everything, but the hotel organises free shuttles during the whole day practically anywhere, the room was spectacular, every room have a pc loaded with thousands of free movies directly to the flat screen and also internet access to facebook and google, the flatscreen is facing the sofa which we found to be not so comfortable as we usually wanted to end the day in the bed watching a movie... the breakfast was god, the pastries were amazing - the best in thailand. the rooms are located on a hill, and you are taken to the rooms by golf carts, but when you want to go to breakfast you have to clime it, not so good but ok (you can call the reception when you want to go and they will send someone to take you up if you wish), beautiful pool!!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms only, ground floor rooms are open for everybody to look into - no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent value for the money. Room and amenities were good, free room service, good food, good minibar. Excellent breakfast and free. Staff was very friendly and came at a moment's notice. Location is a bit isolated so if you don't rent a car or scooter you feel a bit stranded, however, can take shuttle service which is a nice benefit. This hotel is more for those who want to kick back and relax, enjoy the pool, get a massage and relax with room service and a movie. If you are looking to be in the action, probably not the right hotel for you.

CONS: My only recommendation is watch what room you get! I got a room over the kitchen and the smoke and smell coming up from the grill was intense. I didn't use the deck for that reason. It wasn't a major complaint as the view was stunning even with the sliding doors closed, but I did have some trouble breathing if I went out on the deck. If I had been staying more than a couple days, I probably would have asked for a new room. Also they need to clean out those air conditioner vents... I found soot on the floor every morning.

Room Tip: Do not get a room above the kitchen. Smoke and major smell coming up through the grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Amy


I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review!

It was very good to read that overall you had a good time with us and I hope that we can welcome you in the future.

I was very sorry to read that you did not like your room but was even sorrier that you did not let us know about the issue. We created and nurture Mantra to a be a place where our Guests have a fun and relaxing holiday. If we know about an issue we are always happy to help. We understand that preferences might differ. Some people prefer higher floor room some prefer to be situated close to the pool. If we know about those preferences we always do our best to keep them at priority.
We also feel that our location is one of our biggest advantages.

Mantra is located on a hill and this location makes it possible that all Guests can enjoy amazing views from all our rooms our restaurant, our fitness center, yoga room and also from our spa.

Being located in Bophut also means that we are only 10 minutes away from Fisherman’s Village and 20 minutes from Chaweng – on wheels. We provide 22 complimentary shuttles per day ( a service that is unparalleled on Samui even among hotels on similar location the maximum shuttle is 3 per day) including drop offs and pick ups. In addition Guests can rent motorbikes and cars in the comfort of our reception and all day tours include a pick up right from our lobby.

Thank you again for your review!
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I loved our experience at the Mantra! From the time we checked in, we were treated warmly and welcomed like family. Throughout our 10 days there, we were consistently greeted warmly by the entire staff. They loved giving us tips on beaches and fun things to do, too!

The hotel is fun and modern, with lots of whimsical touches. Our room was beautiful, clean, modern, and comfortable. The view was to die for. The staff set it up with flowers for our honeymoon- so romantic! Breakfast every day was complimentary and there was lots of variety. All of the food/drinks were delicious. Snacks in the room are healthy and locally sourced. Gym, yoga, and pool facilities were gorgeous and perfectly maintained.

We loved exploring too-- the hotel is up on a private, quiet hill but it's still close to bophut and chaweng...we got a scooter from the hotel for a really reasonable price and enjoyed zipping around Samui!

We were given a really cute parting gift, too.

We will definitely be back. Truly amazing experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and overall we really enjoyed the resort.

Downsides:
- On a hill so yes there is a a few stairs in the heat. They do have buggies you can call when ever you need to go out.
- Only 1 restaurant. There FAQ's on there website state there is also Damma Dining but this is closed
- Ministry of coffee which is also stated in their FAQ's and brochure but is non existent
- Juice bar at the gym never has any service
- Daily Yoga classes are from 5-6.30pm - Who wants to do yoga at cocktail hour? I would suggest they put on some morning classes
- Shuttles are very limited and taxi's will charge you a bit to go up the hill
- No 'do not disturb' sign in our room so we were woken up by cleaners in the morning.
- You have to pay for every coffee capsule used. Their website is a little deceiving in saying they have put an 'Illy coffee capsule' in every room but it really so they can make money in the end.
- There are not enough sun beds at the pool and they are very different to the ones pictured on their website. Some people even put there stuff on the beds before going to breakfast to ensure they have a bed for the day.
- We couldn't make one international call. It always said the lines were busy. They say 'unlimited international calls' but they are definitely limited!
- There are no doona's on the beds, only one sheet so after one night we both had colds from having the aircon on (low).

Upsides:
- Great massage! My husband is very picky and only like very hard deep tissue massages and even he was impressed.
- Food from the restaurant is good and not too expensive. There is no extra to get any of the food delivered to your room which is great.
- Views from the pool are amazing
- You can hire a scooter from the hotel for 300 Baht per day which is great to get around Koh Samui. You can get it for half the price in town but it isn't really worth the effort.
- Happy hour - 2 for 1 cocktails from 3-6pm are great!
- The service at breakfast is better than any other hotel I have stayed at. Most hotels have their worst staff working breakfast but Mantra has their best staff on!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Nicci,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about Mantra!

I was really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant and the view from you room!

For the benefit of future visitors I would like to respond to some of you comments:

The schedule of the complimentary yoga classes was created based on the feedback of our Guests and on average we have 6-8 people participating every day. We used to have morning classes but they were seldom used an hence we focus on sharing our love of yoga in the afternoons.

I was sorry to hear that you could not use our phone. We use IP phones which means that in essence thee phones are mini computers and access the internet. sometimes they need to be refreshed. I have checked our records and we do not have records of service request for the phones during your stay with us. One can simply restart the phone by turning them off and on - or of course our engineers that are stand by 24 hrs a day will be happy to help.

Samui is on of the hottest places on earth where the average night temperature is seldom below 26 degrees Celsius. We are an environmentally conscious hotel and encourage our Guests to help sustain tourism on this island by reducing our energy consumption. We feel it is quite wasteful to cool the room with airconditioning only to have a thick duvet cover to keep cool. Of course if someone wishes to use a duvet all he/she needs to do is call our reception and we will provide one within minutes. The next time you visit us feel free to call.

We provide the highest quality illy espresso machines in our rooms and Guests need to pay for the capsules. We provide numerous complimentary services (yoga classes, cooking classes, unlimited international phone calls, 22 complimentary shuttle rides (drop offs and pick ups together), thousands of movies in every room, complimentary wifi and complimentary PC in every room. We feel that at our price point this is unparalleled on the island.

We are careful not to exaggerate and nowhere do we mention that the coffee is free of charge. Similarly we mention that the room comes with a mini-bar but Guests generally do not expect it to mean free vodka.

We can also provide nescafe powder upon request free of charge for all Guests.

Thank you again for your review.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at the Mantra and had a mixed experience. On the positives - wonderful view from the room (we had a Wow room), the pool and restaurant. The room was nice and the king sized bed one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom was a wet room and well laid out. They had an espresso machine but no real milk just creamer powder (I got room service to deliver the real stuff), good sized flat screen TV and the free calls home were a fantastic addition. The service was excellent and the food at the restaurant wonderful. On the downside it's on a hill...a steep, steep hill which ok they do buggy you from the lobby to your room but to go to the pool and restaurant was kind of in the middle so there were stairs, lots and lots of stairs which by day 4 sucked. Also don't rely on the WiFi, it's hit and miss. They had a power surge at one point and both of our Apple chargers were in the wall and were fried. It also killed the rooms WiFi and although they sent someone to fix it we had no WiFi through the TV from that point on. There is only one restaurant so if the hotel is busy you have to book to get a table otherwise it's room service which we actually preferred. Don't count on getting a lounger by the pool there's no chance. They really can't do anything about this due to space but your more likely to have to dump your stuff on the ground then get a seat by the pool. Oh and take your insect repellant, the mossies will eat you alive at night. Overall, a mixed bag, not quite a five star experience but still pretty good in parts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/124 Moo1,, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#5 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mantra Samui Boutique Resort***** is located 10 minutes from Bophut Beach with our complimentary shuttle service (provided multiple times a day)or with a scooter or a car. Enjoy our amazing range of Facilities that include: Squash Courts, Himalayan Salt Yoga Studio, Steam Room and Sauna, Fully Equipped Fitness Center, Two Restaurants, Swim Up Bar, a Cinema, a Kids Club and a Game Room. An amazing Sea View can be enjoyed from all of the WOW, LOVE, COZY and GRAND rooms.Most importantly The Five Star Mantra has the friendliest and most professional staff on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.