We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, New, Nice Design, well maintain, good services but totally impractical Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Samui Resort to your Saves list
Mantra Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/124 Moo1,, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
PROMOTION 30% OFF!
Ranked #23 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, New, Nice Design, well maintain, good services but totally impractical Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel as stated in my title which is extremely nice, lovely, clean but impractical which render me having to give them 2 of 5 points.

Booked 1x Grand Room which consists of 2 rooms with a connecting door and a cozy room in Aug 2013.

Since you have seen all the good reviews by others hence, i will not touch any of those as i do agree that the hotel is just fantastic.

Now here are the bad points why i gave only 2 star.

1) Extremely Out of nowhere.
You basically a handicapped as the hotel located at the mountain which you need to a transport to go out for food, massage, groceries and others.

The hotel free shuttle bus will stop at 1730hrs and resumes at 2100hrs for Chaweng. If you were to take any tour, you will bounce to get back to the hotel around 1700-1800hrs. That means you will miss the transport and you have to wait till 2100hrs.

Another way to do it is that you have to take the paid transport which cost you 500 bath for 1 way or you have to rent a transport at the hotel.

2) Unbearable heater and impractical Bath room

Bathroom design are superb but super impractical
a) Water for shower are either Super hot or Super Cold. There are hardly in between even you adjust the temperature to 50:50 or even 40:60. Extremely hot water will continue to flow until you adjust to 100% cold then it will be 100% cold. So, to take bath, you have the interval of 2 seconds where you can find the water that is just nice (warm) before it turns again to either too cold or too hot.

Be very very very careful if you have kids, they might get either burn by the hot water or catch a cold when the water is too cold.

I have to spend 30 minutes to complete my shower which normally take me 10 mins. The rest of the time i have to stand there to wait for the correct temperature.

Mind you, this is extremely serious and all 3 rooms with this problem.

1 way to counter this problem is that you try to take bath before dark where you can get a better interval of about 3-4 seconds of desired water temperature.

b) The Grand Room (2 rooms connected with a door) bath rooms are without Bath tub only shower. The design in such a way after you take bath the whole toilet will get wet. So after your shower, when you wear your pants and your pants will get wet (coz the floor is completely wet).

3) Huge room but a lot of space wasted for the empty kitchen. I wonder how many guests will actually utilize he kitchen.

4) Plenty of mosquito

5) Breakfast is too boring with 3 types of EGGS selection. Its like something something with egg.
Plenty of varieties of bread though.

6) Receptionists needs training, some are good but some are extremely rude. As if their bad English is my problem.

7) Check-in staff did not even bother to explain what the hotel offers, not even where to take breakfast everything you need to ask then they will give you the answer. For a quite frequent traveler like myself is ok because i know what i want and what to expect others might encounter some problems because the hotel don't even provide you a BLANKET to sleep where you have to ASK FOR IT.

Ok, rather i will touch a little bit of the PLUS point of the hotel.

1) Very clean and well maintain.

2) Extremely well deserved for their fantastic services (not all especially some of the check-out staff).

3) You can get a lot of complementary even 6* hotels will not give.

4) A lot of fun and extras

5) Management is guest oriented always give the extra thought which deserved a praise.

6) Huge bed and free movies.

7) and many more that you need to discover yourself.

Room Tip: No tip to help to choose a room because if you stay high up, you will get a good view of the sea but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Lonelywolf,

I was really happy to hear that you share the love for Mantra - our services, mentality and standards with so many other happy travelers.

At the same time I was sad and sorry to read that a few minor problems- that could have been easily sorted or prevented – stood in the way of fully enjoying what you otherwise called a lovely stay.
Ever since we moved to the island and decided to create Mantra we had two important goals – apart from creating a fun hotel of course.

We wanted to limit our negative impact on the environment to ensure that many people can enjoy the beauty of Samui for years to come and to have a great social impact on the local community.
Protecting the fragile Samui environment is of crucial importance and we are contributing to sustainability in as many ways as possible. We selectively collect and sort all garbage and even provide food waste to local farmers to limit wasteful consumption. We have our own deep wells (4) to source water from and we use treated grey water and collected rain water to water plants. We use environmentally friendly pest control methods and all the paper products that we use are made from recycled paper or come from farmed forests. We provide locally sourced refillable bottled water free of charge in the room to limit the use of plastic water bottles. We buy these products despite their extra costs.

One of our ways to limit electricity consumption – not to save cost because the prices are very low in Thailand, but to eliminate waste- is to provide sheets in the bedroom instead of duvets. On an island where night temperature rarely drops below 26 C (78.8 F) we believe it is a very good way to reduce the unnecessary over-use of air-conditioning.

Of course we respect our Guests’ preferences and should someone need a duvet all they need to do is call reception and one will be provided within minutes.

We value transparency highly and do our best to provide an accurate description of our rooms and their amenities. Our website clearly shows what type of a bathtub/shower a particular room has. I encourage all future travelers to have a look at the website or write us an email if in doubt. Our COZY Suite has a very large bathtub in the room.

If the Guests would have called us we would have gladly provided a portable bathtub for the child or would have tried to relocate the Guest to another room – if possible.

On our website - we clearly state our location because we believe this is one of our biggest advantages. There are very few spots on this island that can rival the views enjoyed from Mantra, you are at a quiet and peaceful location, yet you are only 10 minutes car/scooter/complimentary shuttle ride away from Fisherman's Village.

We also provide unparalleled number of complimentary shuttles - 22 drop off and pic up together per day - while hotels in similar locations provide between 2 and 6.

We use an environmentally friendly and more importantly child safe and edible mosquito repellent works amazingly – and have not heard complaints about mosquitoes in the past 20 months of our operation. Of course Samui is a tropical island and should someone leave the window open at dusk – the chance of attracting mosquitoes are higher. For these instances we also provide mosquito repellent sprays in our minibar.
Our breakfast consists of a wide range of buffet options and freshly prepared eggs made to order. Everything in our breakfast is home-made right here in Mantra – well apart from Nutella of course. We always provide a variety of 5 different home-made pastries, a selection of home-baked breads, home-made jams, fresh noodle soup, 2 mixed salads, home-smoked salmon, daily changing cold cuts, wide selection of fruits ( sometimes the bananas are from our own garden), wide range of cereals nuts and dried fruits, yogurts and bircher muesli.

Eggs are prepared to order and you can choose scrambled, omelet, poached, fried, boiled eggs and also eggs Benedictine, eggs Royale or eggs Florentine. And of course freshly prepared illy coffee.

I am happy that you also provided a long list of positives in your review and am looking forward to have you with us again perhaps in a different room type that meets your needs better.

Thank you for your review!

Dear TripAdvisor Members if any of you have concerns regarding the content of this review please feel free to contact me directly at r.mayer@mantrasamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    358
    108
    39
    12
See reviews for
190
889
38
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Mantra Samui is not simply providing an accommodation for travelers, it is in the business of creating an unforgettable experience.

The moment we stepped into the resort, it felt like a different world compared to the other Koh Samui resorts that we had stayed in. From the small details, like having interesting and meaningful quotes placed throughout the resort, to the welcome brochure packaged as a 'passport', to the excellent service and the ever-ready staff to provide amenities or buggy rides across, each little moment was enjoyable. We had additionally good luck to be upgraded to a better room at the top floor, where the room was incredibly spacious, the decor 5-star quality, and the view breathtaking. The room is absolutely impressive, top notch. The only strange thing was the lack of duvet. We were freezing in the middle of the night. That aside, the room is really perfect. In particular, their selection of videos (from the room system itself) was something we had never come across before. One additional great point about the resort, was that it was largely free from the huge swarms of mosquitoes that generally plagues Koh Samui. This could be due to the location of the resort, or the effort made to eradicate these pests, but a night without copious amounts of mosquito bites was very welcome.

Spent some quiet moments with your loved one at the infinity pool, enjoying the tranquility and peace, taking in the beautiful sights, drinking a mojito, living the moment. This is really the LIFE.

Remember the meaningful quote from Mantra Samui: Life is Short. Break all the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably and never regret anything that made you smile. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in mantra samui one night. The breakfast is the best. The rooms are lovely. The pool has magniificent views even though not inough chairs. Its far from the chaweng and from the beach. Have to get a taxi cause shuttle goes seldom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our stay at Mantra was amazing. The staff were always more than happy to help us and gave great advice on the best things to do in the area. They were always extremely helpful at breakfast and it was amazing to see the manager chatting to guests every morning.

The shuttle buses worked perfectly for getting to Bophut and Chaweng and this meant the location was no problem for us. It actually felt nice to be away from the tourism in these areas. The only thing I could suggest is that Mantra could arrange a late shuttle back from Bophut on a Friday night so guests can go to the Fisherman's village market withing having to pay for a taxi back.

Despite there not being a huge amount of loungers by the pool, we never had a problem getting one at somepoint during the morning/ afternoon as people are always coming and going. The pool is beautiful and has magical views.

We loved our stay at Mantra, there is something really special and unique about the atmosphere at this hotel.

Room Tip: LOVE 112 was brilliant - half way up the hill so only seemed like half the walk to get to the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I will start with what seemed to be a talking point amongst guests during our 5 night stay at Mantra and that is the hotel rating. It is not a 5 star hotel, however, this does not matter because it is still truly fantastic. The hotel is about much more than the great facilities that it offers. It has a fantastic personality and all of the members of their 'family' live this out. Nothing is too much trouble and service throughout our stay was always very prompt.

The hotel is situated on a steep hill but I would not see this as even approaching an issue for anybody < 45 yrs old. If the very short but steep walk is too much effort after a few Changs then there is always a willing golf cart driver just a phone call away. The hotel is approx ten mins outside of Bophut and there are numerous free shuttles thoughout the day (perhaps could do with one more after 8.15pm return). A taxi is only about 300 baht which is bareable if necessary.

The value of our stay was incredibly good compared to other hotels we stayed at on the island. Breakfasts are fantastic and included in the room price. Food menus are reasonably expensive for Thai prices but of good quality.

Overall a top notch experience for us at Mantra.

Room Tip: Love room was fun. Quirky design and decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As part of our holiday in Koh Samui and Koh Phangan, we stayed at the Mantra. We were aware of the distance away from beach, town, etc and so were looking forward to a relaxing time and happy to use the shuttle if/when we wanted to go into Bophut or Chaweng.

Upon arrival, our Love room booking had been 'upgraded' to a Cozy suite. In some ways, I was disappointed as I'd chosen the hotel so that we could have the jacuzzi on the balcony. However, the room we received was absolutely beautiful and just across from the pool, which my partner thought was an adequate substitute for the jacuzzi! The pool has such lovely views down to the bay at Bophut and there is a swim-up section of the bar where we sat and had a morning smoothie and an afternoon cocktail or two.

The food was very good in the restaurant, both at breakfast and lunch/evening. We particularly liked that we could order lunch in our room for the same cost as sitting in the restaurant. The noodle dishes and Thai curry infused red snapper were our favourites. There was a BBQ/buffet evening as well whilst we were there and we really enjoyed the variety on offer.

We had a 90 minute massage in the spa on our final day at the resort and I can honestly say that it was one of the best massages I've had.

The staff members were all so helpful throughout our stay and we really could not find fault with any aspect of our stay - except it was too short ... We hope to return to the Mantra in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our visit to Mantra Samui was a mixed experience. The views were breathtakingly beautiful--it is situated in the hills of Koh Samui. The infinity pool was lovely and overlooked the valley, although there weren't enough chairs for a hotel this size. The breakfasts were amazing, and included in the cost of the hotel stay. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but somewhat tired-looking, needing a fresh coat of paint. The workout facility was very good, with a beautiful view. Most of the staff was charming, although they were not able to discuss many dinner or sight-seeing options. Three concerns emerged throughout our stay:
1) the hills are very steep and you need to call for a golf cart to move around the hotel. If you have any problems with walking or balance, I would not recommend this hotel.
2) Mantra Samui is far from the beaches, and you need to use a shuttle or taxi to get to town. If we missed the shuttles, taxis are expensive, relative to Thailand costs.
3) the rooms had an offensive odor, particularly near the bathrooms. It appeared that their sewer system needs improvement.
Despite these concerns, we had a nice stay. If you decide to stay at the Mantra Samui, just be sure to pack good walking shoes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/124 Moo1,, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mantra Samui Boutique Resort***** is located 10 minutes from Bophut Beach with our complimentary shuttle service (provided multiple times a day)or with a scooter or a car. Enjoy our amazing range of Facilities that include: Squash Courts, Himalayan Salt Yoga Studio, Steam Room and Sauna, Fully Equipped Fitness Center, Two Restaurants, Swim Up Bar, a Cinema, a Kids Club and a Game Room. An amazing Sea View can be enjoyed from all of the WOW, LOVE, COZY and GRAND rooms.Most importantly The Five Star Mantra has the friendliest and most professional staff on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.