We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but could have been even better...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H Bistro at Hansar Samui

H Bistro at Hansar Samui
101/28 Moo1, Bophut, Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 245 511
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 121 restaurants in Bophut
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
HongKong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good but could have been even better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lovely setting, good food, poor wine list (very expensive as in all of Samui), staff lovely although English not great. Had a overall great experience here, the slow cooked pork with risotto was the best thing I ate throughout our trip. Corkage at 1500 baht extortionate, although I was kindly given a reduction. I would have ordered something of the wine list but there really was nothing that I fancied. Would I go back, yes if you want a top drawer (for Samui) romantic dinner. Both the Western and Thai dishes are great and not too expensive. Just please reduce the corkage fee and / or stock some better wines please!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    201
    52
    17
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious beach-front dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

H Bistro is in a gorgeous location, peaceful, and absolutely delicious. They serve both Thai and European food, and they have a separate vegetarian menu. It's definitely on the expensive side, but the food is great. Make sure to save room for dessert!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Tucked a little bit away from the hustle and the bustle of Fisherman's Village. But only a short walk. Just enough to prepare your appetite for a wonderful meal. The place to sit is the tables closest to the beach. There is enough staff and the service is polite and attentive but not intrusive. The food was tasty and prepared with care. Only small issue is the price of imported wines that is a bit higher than the Thai average but it sure is worth it! Just don't order the champagne! A nice Sauvignon Blanc will be good enough! Will definitely come back on my next visit to Koh Samui!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dinner under the stars was amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hansar resort and had dinner at H a couple of times, breakfast every day and also had the private beach front dining.

The breakfast was nice and varied, with standard items such as cheese and sliced meats, but also Thai dishes and different options every day, you can also request different dishes from the staff including egg's benedict, bacon and so on. After 2 weeks it felt a bit samey, but that's the same with every hotel I have ever stayed at!

Dinner was lovely - although the prices are higher than in the Fishermans Village we felt we got great value as everything was cooked to perfection. The views are stunning and although it is hot (we are in Thailand after all!) the staff kindly ensured we had a fan blowing cool air for us and fussed over us.

The private dining on the beach was spectacular with our own table set up with flowers, burners and a gorgeous gazebo / canopy to isolate us a bit more. Every dish was fabulous and the service excellent. As this is where I chose to propose to my (now) fiancé the staff had pushed the boat out for me and made it a really memorable experience.

Great place, great staff, great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent service, great breakfast choices with both the buffet and made to order omelets. Stunning views. Breakfast is included for hotel guests - one of the best we've ever enjoyed at a hotel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H Bistro at Hansar Samui also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to H Bistro at Hansar Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H Bistro at Hansar Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.