We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and delicious Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Friendly Frog

The Friendly Frog
Fisherman's Village (on right just after big 'Fisherman's Village' sign overhead, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 302 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local lady cooking at the front of her house - delicious food and shakes
Leics
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent value and delicious Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a cafe style establishment - not up-market, and each time we ate here we found the food to be delicious. I am not sure what the previous reviewers expected for what they paid. The food was freshly cooked on the premises and we enjoyed it very much. The place was full each night we ate there....always a good sign. We thought it compared very favourably to the pricier establishments on the beach front.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    70
    21
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“average food - amazing prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I feel kind of bad giving this place an average review, as I feel like it’s the same as paying for an economy seat and expecting business class;-)

The truth is, I can't really grumble, given how cheap this place is. The food is average - a little greasy and by no means close to the best, fragrant Thai meal you can experience in other places, but how could I expect 5 * food when my dinner costs less and a McDonalds burger meal...

The staff are very friendly and if you are on a very tight budget, then I think this place is fine.

It’s also a great place to people watch, as it’s situated on one of the main entrance roads into Fisherman’s Village.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap but poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food is cheap,which is why it is popular, but unfortunately it is very poor quality and nothing like authentic Thai food.
If you are used to the sort of food you get from a cheap Chinese takeaway in England, then this is the place for you, but if you are used to good quality food do not go there.
I would recommend 'The Hut' which is 5 mins away for a similar priced meal but authentic Thai of a much higher quality. 'Krua Bophut' is also good for authentic Thai food but a little more expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Total value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate here by accident, do not be put off by the look, food is excellent, cooked as you wait, very very good Thai food, very very cheap
We ate in several restaurants on the beech front, none of them match the quality and value that the friendly frog provides

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A must for good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This establishment appears to be a basic cafe - don't let decor fool you! Yes, it's basic but the food is oh so tasty and, cheap to boot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Friendly Frog also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to The Friendly Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Friendly Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.