We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and a bit pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bianca - CLOSED

Villa Bianca
Fisherman's Village | 79/3 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
+66 77 245 041
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average food and a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch on a steaming hot day. Looking forward to a cold beer and pizza. Pizza was pretty good as were a couple of the salads but the beers were hot. Asked for 2 more cold beers and we were charged for the hot ones as well. (Which we didn't drink). Gorgeous location and pretty building but really disappointing for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    9
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bophut, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Easily the best Italian food on Samui - don't believe the bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

With a new french chef on board, Villa Bianca is once again the finest Italian restaurant on Samui. They offer a fine dining experience and an excellent selection of fine wines. The new seafood mixed grill is excellent, and the home-made pastas: the carbonara, the bolognese, etc. are spectacular. Service is always great, and the Owner / General Manager will see to it that you have an amazing dining experience as he is formerly from the Ritz Carlton organization. This is where the cognoscenti ex-pats meet for dinner and a bottle or two of fine wine. I have been to the other Italian restaurants on Samui, and Villa Bianca is easily the best, and the atmosphere and view are incredible. Great romantic date spot too...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarante, Portugal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Very expensive for the food you have.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had lunch on this restaurant, since it seemed very appellative from the outside.
The ambience is nice and the view is gorgeous.
We asked two starters, one pizza and one pasta. Lucky we didn't ask desserts and drank only water... Because, when the bill arrived we get a shock! So expensive for the quantity and the quality of the food we had. My pizza was good but my husband's pasta was not good.
We paid a lot, the same we would pay for a dinner in a better restaurant, in Samui. For example, we paid more in Villa Bianca for this lunch, than we paid in Orgasmic Restaurant for a complete dinner.
We won't return to Villa Bianca.

Visited: April 2011

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Soon back where it was, at the firmament of Samui's culinary experiences?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Villa Bianca was a culinary institution when I first came to Samui >10 years ago, and it might be shooting to the stars again. The new, inspired, French chef, who had pleased my taste buds where he was before, cooked me a delicious dinner, he said simple, I say refined. The delicate sour herbed cream made the nice salmon explode, the scallops after were just perfect (quality, pan-fried to the split second, warm but 'glassy' inside). I hope the upcoming new menu will allow him to express his creativity for the VB to stand again at the spot it was at before. Anyway, when you'd want top level Italian wines at (quite) soft prices, this is the one place to be. With the new chef you might even want to come back for the food before even thinking about the delicious wines... Fisherman Village has always been expensive though (the rents are gobsmacking), and this place is no exception, with this +service charge +VAT formula I don't like. This is not a 'tourist-trap' though, as many returning customers prove, though there are alas many in this Samuian top-location, as in any other top-location, just mind your steps...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressions don't last”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place looked amazing but unfortunately the food was terrible, after waiting nearly 1 hour (us being the only people there) the prizza was burnt and tasteless and the salmon ravioli tasted like the salmon was on the turn, unfortunately we couldn't eat our meal and after the wait decided to leave - after paying an enormous bill
Went back and had a meal at Hansar

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Bianca also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bianca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.