We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF + Free Transfer
Ranked #5 of 176 Hotels in Bophut
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend 8 days here after visiting Patong three times for a sea change with less hustle and bustle. We love Thailand so here we are at the amazing Bophut Hansar resort. Situated almost at one end of the beach but only two mins from the start of the fisherman's village its perfect. The sand out the front is coarse and not a great walking beach but if you want peace and quite this is it. The resort is gorgeous. Rooms are huge with exceptional balconies with rocking chairs and day beds. The food is great at reasonable prices. Happy hour 3 times a day. The pool is around 26 degrees and overlooks the ocean, plenty of lounges also on the beach with full wait service. Equip gym, friendly staff, I could go on and on. This is THE Best resort in Bophut by far with lots of local restaurants within 10 mins walk. Just what we were looking for Tranquility.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    260
    65
    19
    10
See reviews for
237
901
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is more beautiful in person than the picture. Love the breakfast buffet, tropical fruits change daily, variety of breads, five types of butter & jam. Hot entrees in Western and Thai styles. Hotel fronts a quiet and clean beach. The bathroom is way large, luxurious and comfortable The balcony has a daybed and a laundry drying rack. It looks to the courtyard, pool and the sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Delighted to see reasonable rates on-line (comparables' on island outrageously priced) and had great email communication to secure offers and dates with Reservation Manager prior to arrival. Stayed for over a week. This place was beyond expectations - from airport pick up to drop-off … everything was superb. Minimalist luxury. Absolutely wonderful staff and service, impeccably clean room and facilities, with unexpected small touches and details to compliment the beautiful location and natural wonders of Samui. Whether you spend your day on the property, enjoy the local neighbourhood, or venture off you’re sure to have a phenomenal time. The location is ideal - not tourist mayhem, not in the middle of nowhere - accessible yet quiet. The food was of high quality - including the breakfast, excellent drinks (three happy hours a day!), large gorgeous spa, and a bit of a workout space. Lots of runners using the neighbourhood in the AM. Room was spacious with a balcony of my dreams. Laundry services offered were at very reasonable rates. Learning of the hotel’s genuine community outreach was also very interesting. Only feedback for improvement is to upgrade room towels and have some pool rules to ensure the safety and enjoyment of all pool facility patrons. Thanks for a exceptionally beautiful time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed there for a week. The service was good. The rooms were good, however the bed was too soft for me.
Breakfast was good ( a mixture of buffet and a la carte), but not as good as for example the Sarojin breakfast.
There were enough sun beds and free botteled drinking water. But at the beach there were always stray dogs running around and stay under the sunbeds. Bad smell. The hotel must do something about it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Classy all the way around.

The hotel is luxury simplicity at it's purest. We had a center 1st floor unit which made for easy access to the beach and pool. All the rooms have ocean front views and pool views. The eastern most have the best sunset views.

The infiniti pool was amazing. Though there were a few families, it was mostly couples enjoying a very quiet time away from the touristy parts of Samui.

Amazing experience from the complimentary fruit tray waiting at check in to the INCREDIBLE breakfast buffet. We highly recommend paying the $10 extra a day for that alone.

BTW - we were concerned about weather when we booked the entire trip as it was the beginning of the rainy season (first of June). There was rain but it came in 2 hour downpours and it was perfect afterwards. No need to fret about weather this time of the year.

The only downside was that wifi was incredibly slow at times. If you closed your computer or let it lapse for a certain amount of time, you had to log back in. Minorly frustrating for making skype calls.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the hotel. Each faces the ocean and you're able to see the incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I'm pretty fussy and quite difficult to please when it comes to hotels, hence I have never given a hotel an excellent rating. However on this trip, fortunately I stayed at two excellent hotels and Hansar Samui was one of them.

We stayed here for our honeymoon and intended to stay in an area which had some atmosphere but allowed us to relax in peace. This was exactly what we wanted - close to Fisherman's Village, which had lots of restaurants, bars and market stalls - but not as busy as Chaweng (although Fisherman's Village gets pretty busy on Friday nights when smaller market stalls open up).

The room was very spacious and clean with a humongous shower area, which we absolutely loved. We also loved the balcony area, which was also a great area to relax in if you wanted to be outside and not by the pool/beach.

The hotel delivered a rose with Hershey nuggets to us everyday (reminding us about the spa and giving us discounts, although we never got to use the spa).

The swimming pool was fantastic - not too small - it also had a Jacuzzi bit if you just wanted to sit in the pool and relax. Bar staff were always around so you could order a drink by the pool when you wanted.

If you wanted to relax by the beach, just walk further on and the beach is right in front of you.

Breakfast was good (there could have been more of a variety but it was good enough) and staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, a great hotel. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to couples/families if you want to stay in a 'quieter' location. Thanks Hansar for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Quit expensive for the island but it's a great hotel. Right in the water. The beach is beautiful, the location is quiet but a lot of shops and massage places are right down the road if needed.
The infinity pool is beautiful and well kept. There are a lot of pool chairs and beach chairs so it's not a competition to get one.
The rooms are modern and very clean. Only problem we had was the hot water having issues but they did send someone to fix the issue right away (although it kept acting out throughout our trip).
Service is great and people will bring you cold water all day. Prices at the pool bar is very expensive though for cocktails or other drinks (8 dollars for a cocktail a lot for Thailand).
The breakfast was included and amazing, lots of choice of foods- probably the best breakfast we had in Thailand. Also nice little gym available.
Great place to relax in Thailand!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#2 Business Hotel in Bophut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.