We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service by the breakfast crew and a gorgeous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE TRANSFER & SPA
Ranked #8 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service by the breakfast crew and a gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My mom, cousin and I stayed at Hansar Samui for 3 nights and the experience was nothing short of wonderful. Firstly, the resort is situated at an excellent location, with the Fisherman village (where you can find nice restaurants, pubs and travel agencies) just a stone's throw away. And we loved the infinity pool that overlooks the private beach!
Throughout our stay, we were greeted by friendly housekeeping staff and breakfast staff. A special mention to Pomb, a lady who served us during our breakfast. Her service was simply impeccable. She was really attentive to our needs and was patient to answer all our queries. We enjoyed our breakfast thoroughly because of her great service.
In comparison, some of the staff at the front counters weren't exactly helpful or proactive. There was this lady (I forgot to notice her name) who looked rather solemn and unfriendly most of the time. We asked to book a cab at 3pm when we checked out in the morning but they overlooked and did not make the booking. We only found out about this blunder when at 3.30pm and we almost didn't make it for our flight due to this. This little episode aside, we still enjoyed our stay at the resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have open shower concept and there is little privacy. While this is good for couples and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    279
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
268
992
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I are regular travellers and have stayed in many beautuful hotels in all our travels all over the world. We both agreed at the end of our stay that Hansar Koh samui, was the best hotel we have every stayed at! We could not fault one single thing about this hotel, which is why it is now our number one! The hotel is siatuated right on the beach (Bho put) and also just minutes walk from the village/promenade that is filled with many restuarants, bars, massage parlours, market stalls etc. Location was second to none. the hotel is also only 2 years old, so a guranteed a great atmosphere beautiful surroundings.

Upon arrival we had not yet made a booking (I suggest you dont leave it like we did, as if you want to stay somwehere nice, they book up very quickly, and not worth taking the risk). We were lucky enough to be greeted by Sam who juggled things around to allow us to stay at the hotel. Our room was massive! It had a big beautiful beachfront balcony, stand alone bath in the middle of the room, great sized shower, x2 vanity basins (great luxury for couples), king size 4 post bed, seprate toilet, wardrobes etc. ve were told that becuase we did not have a booking we would have to move rooms for the second half of the week. Well after asking Sam a couple of days in if there was anything he could do to leave us in the same room- he sure did look after us. We ended up being able to stay in the same room, and I know that Sam had to end up juggling around the whole hotel to service this request. So we were extrenely appreciative of him for this.

After check in- Sam ran after me (after having noticed on my husbands passport that it was his birthday on one of the days we were there) and asked me to have a think about what I wanted them to organsie for this. I actually forgot about it completely until the morning of his birthday, Sam called me to let me know that acake was being prepared and would be ready for 12pm. Just before 12pm he called again and worked out time and place to surprise my husband with a cake and have some staff singing happy birthday. The cake was absolutely stunning! I was so appreciative for this, I did not have to lift a finger to organise anything!

Everyday the rooms were cleaned, and we were both surprised at the extent of the cleaning that was carried out. Attention to detail was great!
No ask was too much for the staff- and you never saw anyone without smile. After one week the staff get to know us, and regularly came up for a quick chat and ask how the stay was going.

I would highly recommend dining at Hansar- We had the degustation for dinner. I would have to say hands down the best meal we had in Thailand. Not to mention the service that came with it was impeccible. We sat outside where you could look onto the beach and watch all
the action going on admist a romantic light.
We also took a trip t Six Senses one night for dinnerat 'Dining on the rocks'. We thought it would also be a good opportunity to check out the hotel for next time. Let me tell you do not bother!! fter having experinced the level of service at Hansar we were quite shocked and disappointed with our experience at Six Senses. We were greeted by a woman who looked like it was an inconvenince for her to have to get up out of her chair to greet us. We were then just pointed in the direction as to where we had to go for dinner- It was pitch black and had no idea where we were going- the resutarnt was a bit of a hike from the main reception area. As for the dinner, do not get me wrong the food was nice, but there was 000 atmospehere. I feel like for what we paid AU$600 for 2 of us- that it wasnt the best experience.

The Breakfast was great- great buffet selection of pastries, hot food, condiments, fruit etc. Any eggs/ pancakes you wanted were cooked fresh and brought to your table. You could also have fresh noodles cooked I think.

The pool area is great! Mnay deck chairs by the pool and by the beach and a great bar to compliment. They had happy hour 3 times a day so was great to lay by the pool all day and get in some drinks, then have a few more before heading to dinner. It is one of the first hotels that I have been happy to stay at all day everyday! Becuase the food was so great, you never felt bad about not leaving the hotel.

All in all- I would never stay at another hotel inKoh Samui. Im usually someone who likes to looka round, but there is no need to once you've stayed here :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this lovely resort for 2 nights over christmas. As previous reviews have stated....perfect location, awesome views, friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds. Breakfast choice and quality average. Coffee was good. Overall was a great experience and would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My partner and I recently had the Privilege of staying at this outstanding resort. On late notice we met with Sam the front office Manager who organised a stunning room at a great rate.
The overall cleanliness of the room and resort was outstanding. The hospitality and continually going that 'Extra Mile' was fantastic even for the most basic of things. Everyone could speak English, bent over backwards to help us and were always smiling.
Special mention to our friend Keng whose humor and kindness was a highlight for us.
We will most definitely be returning sooner rather than later with a whole host of friends..

Thankyou Hansa...no wonder you won the best Boutique resort of 2012!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the standard room which was a decent size and had a large rain shower. There was also a large seating area on the balcony. Breakfast was quite varied with fresh fruit and juices, cold meats and hot Thai food. You could also order eggs however you fancied as well as pancakes and waffles. The pool was a decent size with enough loungers around it and some more on the beach. The beach bar has 2 happy hours, 13.30-14.30 & 18.00-19.00. There is a third happy hour 21.30-22.30 in the bar above the restaurant (however wine is not included in any of them). You can order snacks and lunch there as well. The sandwiches were great but quite expensive at about £8. We had dinner there once which was amazing but quite expensive. Particularly as Fisherman’s village is a 5 minute walk along the beach or the concrete road/path with many restaurants and bars there. There is a night market every Friday from 17.30. There is street food and drinks as well as clothing, electricals & souvenirs. Free WIFI is provided throughout the hotel, it’s even available by the pool. There are also 2 iMacs in the library area. My wife abd I used the spa and it was excellent. The price was similar to that in the UK. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. We absolutely loved our 12 night stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

if yr idea of holiday is relaxing in an excellent hotel, short walk to breakfast, short walk to pool and short walk to beach, then short stroll to little village, with no mall or macdonalds or starbucks in sight.. this is for you.....

ive never been to a perfect holiday hotel, this is pretty close....should be aduts only... as little for kids to do......

the shower in the middle of the room is unusual, but functional , and if u cant stand the sight of ur partner naked showering , maybe time to change..cos there is no blind, but thankfully the toilet does have bamboo door...

views from the top floor sea front rooms are stunning, one word of warning, there is no lift ....

clients were mix of europeans,thais and singaporeans with their noisy kids on weekend break,but not to many kids to spoil the peace and ambience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hansar in December 2012 - family of 4. The resort is really excellent with superb rooms and very good service. We arrived early and were given an early check-in complimentary. Take the rooms on the higher floors (2nd or 3rd) since each room has a really nice terrace with amazing views and the top floor view is nicer. The breakfast is very good with a very wide selection and the food at the restaurant is generally good although a little pricey. The resort is right next to the Fishermans Village so there is shopping and many restaurant choices at very reasonable prices within 10 minutes walking distance. The only negative I can remember is that the air-conditioning in the room was not very effective. The swimming pool is nice but not outstanding.

The beach is clean but grainy and very calm. The water is not very clear and murky but fine for swimming. Water scooters, kayaking etc. is available close to the resort.

We would recommend the resort as a good choice for Samui although if you are looking for more night life and shopping then Chaweng Beach is the place to be

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#5 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#5 Business Hotel in Bophut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.