We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hansar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE TRANSFER & SPA
Ranked #8 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved the Hansar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hansar for a birthday. The rooms were great and the view spectacular. The pool, breakfast and bar were all highlights.
The staff and service was friendly and of a high standard.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and peaceful stay surrounded by good scenery. The fishermans village is nice and much less chaotic than Chaweng and Lamai. It has good options for food and drink. Chaweng is easily accesible by taxi or tuk tuk if you want shops and party bars.
The beach was nice and uncrowded and ceaner than Chawend and Lamai.
I could not find fault with this hotel and it was very difficult to leave.

Room Tip: Try and get the top (2nd and 3rd) floors for the view. Just be aware that you have to walk as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    279
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
268
992
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights at Hansar and had the most relaxing Holiday/Honeymoon I could ever have asked for! Only one downfall it rained almost every day(The staff told us "It is the rainy season"). The upside is that it was always warm enough to go swimming, even in the rain and occasionally the rain would stop long enough to stroll to the fisherman's village to check out the shops and restaurants.
We splurged for our honeymoon and stayed in a Beach Front room, the view was amazing and when it rained we were able to sit on the balcony without getting wet. Inside the room was very spacious and quite comfortable.
The staff were so incredibly friendly, and they made our honeymoon very special.
The buffet breakfast was much better than I anticipated. There was always fresh bread and fruit, and eggs any style that could be ordered.
We had dinner the the resort restaurant twice and it was delicious. However, most nights we enjoyed some great meals in the fisherman's village-lot's of options to choose from.
My favourite experience was the Friday night Market. It was incredible! it's a must experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were there 6 nights in November. Nice and friendly staff, our hotelroom was on 3rd floor, not straight seaview from inside the room but you could see sea from balcony. Room was 2301.
Rooms are not as luxurious as you would think for 5 star hotel. But not bad either.
Breakfast was great, friendly staff and they served bf untill 11 am. That was great. Nice views from breakfast restaurant. Pool was great, nice views to the sea. Staff in poolbar was very helpful. They had many happy hours and great drinks. Beach was close to hotel, only 20 meters. Sand in the beach was not as good as I would expect. It was little rough compared to biggest beach in Koh Samui, Chaweng, which was excellent. Also they had more beach sportsactivities than Hansar beach.
Most of hotelquest were couples, quite few kids so very silent and peaceful.
Location for Fishermen´s village with many restaurant´s and bar´s was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed during the monsoon season, where it rained almost everyday for the entire day. However, that didn't really hamper our holiday mood since there were many things to do in Hansar Samui and its surroundings.
1. Take a warm bath in the stone bath.
2. Take a 2 min walk to the fishermen's village to check out the restaurants and shops.
3. Walk along the beach and check out other resorts which are open to walk-in guests.
4. Swim in the infinity pool at Hansar.

The room itself is breathtaking, if you choose a sea-viewing room. Try to go around the full-moon time. You might be able to see what we saw - a full bright moon set in a full circle of rainbow/halo.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Hansar Samui very much, thanks to the warm an polite staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I just came back from a 4 night stay with Hansar Samui - i must say the experience more than surpassed my initial expectations! The staff service, facilities (both inside the room and the general facilities) was really fabulous. Some might feel uncomfortable about the open shower concept/bath tub inside the room, but it certainly does create a more romantic atmosphere for couples! (for friends it might be much more akward though!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

while we were here it was a bit rainy, yet the weather was warm and the staff was really friendly and helpful, we had some issues with communication , but nothing out of the ordinary our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea it was truly beautiful, the room also had a rain shower that was amazing.

every night at around 7 or 8 pm a staff member would come around to get your room ready for the night, what this meant was they would fluff your comforter and pillows and leave a rose and a little box with chocolate, i thought that was just amazing.

the hotel itself is located next to the fisherman's village which is a strip full of restaurants and shops very clean and quiet. at night you can walk for a drink and maybe get a crepe or a banana pancake from one of the street vendors which by the way have some of the cleanest carts i have spotted in thailand.
the breakfast in the hotel was not particularly great but you have all the basics, fruit , eggs, cheese, pancakes, also it was great to know that the food was organic and most of it was grown in the premises, you can actually see where they grow it if you walk around the hotel

the spa was pretty amazing, i am a spa junkie and I have to say i had a great experience here, it is obviously much more pricey than the massages on the shopping area but worth every single baht the staff is incredibly nice and are always making sure you are ok.

the day of my departure i was really wishing i had more time to spend there, my stay there was a memorable one.

Room Tip: get the rooms with view to the pool you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner & I stayed here for 3 nights after a recommendation from family and absolutely loved it! The views from our room overlooking the ocean and infinity pool / bar was amazing. Most of the day was spent lounging around being waited on by the very friendly staff.

The location was perfect as it was in Bophut Beach (a more quiet side to the island) with no noisy part goers. Only a short stroll and you're in a quaint little strip of restaurants and shops called the Fishermans Village.

My partner & I will have no hesitation in returning to this lovely resort!!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean facing but the best are the one's that face front on. Request for these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#5 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#5 Business Hotel in Bophut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.