We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Excellent Mojitos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Airport Transfer
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Excellent Mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hansar was a great hotel, very good service and better yet the Mojitos ... The pool at the hotel is spectacular, which in my opinion was better than the beach it self (very nice beach but not as better than some of the nicest ones in other parts of the world ... which is no fault of the Hansar). The restaurants at the hotel are also quite good, not outstanding but worth it and usually well executed food. Also the service deserves special mention, everyone seemed extremely friendly. The only negatives to the hotel were we never seemed to get clean towels (90% seemed stained, which is a bit worrying) and the bathrooms are all exposed ... so there is zero privacy ... which is fine for a shower but other things should still be kept private ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    261
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
242
923
65
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of so-called "top end" hotels across many continents, but this place just has that special something that keeps me coming back. (Even over the W).
Its stunning infinity pool, relaxed atmosphere, amazing rooms, fantastic views, private beach, delicious food from the restaurant and staff who will go beyond expectations to make your stay perfect just make this hotel one of the best in the world in my view.
We met the previous hotel manager - Supit - last year, and it's great to see that his legacy of great service lives on in the hotel where everything remains just perfect. This time, we had an issue where we wanted to extend our stay and the hotel moved mountains to accommodate us last minute - I just can't fault them.
The location is great : far enough away from the village to keep it quiet, but near enough to have access to many restaurants and shops. Private dining on the beach is fantastic, and to us, this place is very much part of the reason we visit Samui.

Room Tip: The XL Sea View rooms are a better option than the beach-front ones, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A stay at the Hansar resort was the climax of our 3 week honeymoon and it didn't disappoint! I would highly recomment this hotel becuase:
1. The rooms were very nice, kept clean and most have a great view out to the pool and the sea
2. Staff are very friendly and helpful
3. The eternity pool is amazing! Great view out over to Koh Phangan as you swim and relax.
4. Location is excellent, a stroll into the Fisherman's village for lots of restaurants and good bars.
5. Reasonably close to Chawng Beach if you want somewhere more lively - about 40 Bhat.
6. Happy hour - 2 for 1 on cocktails twice a day.
7. The restarant is very good - we did a cooking course here which was great.
8. My wife had a spa treatement that she raved about - though it was pricey.
This was probably our favourite hotel ever for the overall experience we had here. A few people mention the road but we barely saw a car use it as they have now directed cars around the back of the hotel! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't miss happy hour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights on the last leg of our honeymoon. It was a fabulous hotel. excellent staff, friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were amazing. They ask you what type of eggs you want and bacon if you wish and then you help yourself to full english, continental or thai breakfast!! With so many choices it was easy to give something a go!

The location of the hotel is great too. Its in a village, Fishermans village in Bo Phut and the village is full of bars and resturants and independent shops. Its not huge but its big enough that we ate somewhere different every night from all different cuisines.

The people selling on street stalls or in shops are not pushy one bit. They are friendly and like it when you acknowledge them. In other countries its easy to ignore people selling you things becuase they dont leave you alone but here they are so friendly, its nice to chat and see the same people every night.

The Thai people will often invite you in for a drink with them if they have met you before and are out having fun and they see you. If you have time, have a drink with them - but watch out for the Sangsom!!

Overall the Hansar is a beautiful hotel with, i think the most amazing pool i have been to. I can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have a great view of the sea from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent six nights at the Hansar, and wish we could of stayed 6 more!
XL Sea View room - was amazing - great size, great view, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The day bed and balcony were oversized and out of control good!!
Pool & Bar - the staff at the pool bar amde our holiday - happy hour 3 times a day was great. Cocktails were all awesome - I especially loved the Coco Mango and both the Apple and Lychee Martinis! Big thanks to San, Dom and the team at the pool bar for your excellent hospitality, and always ensureing we had enough cashews!!
Breakfast - Good breakfast, but could learn a few things from their colleagues at Hansar Bangkok. Cold drinks need to be cold, not just sat on ice! Service here wasn't as efficient as elsewhere in the hotel, however it was still always very friendly.
H Bistro - had an azing 5 course degustation on the beach. Out of this world food!!
The only downside to this resort were some of the other guests! Dirty Germans who would chain- smoke by the pool all day and didn't care that another non smoking guest was laying 30cms from them. Wuld be great to have the pool - or some areas of it atleast to be non smoking!!
Also the beach looked a bit average - but the pool itself made up for it!

Room Tip: Definately woth the extra money for the XL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Arrival: Arrived having travelled for twelve hours and a flight delay ensured that we didn't arrive at the Hansar until 1am. We were greeted by the porter with two glasses of pineapple juice and a lovely friendly welcome. Our room was on the 3rd floor, 1310, and there was no lifts (not a problem) as the porter showed us to our room and brought up our suitcases for us. When we went into the room, the staff had rose petals on our bed and a lovely cake for our anniversary.

Room: We stayed in the Seaview room which I think is the smallest room but we thought the room was gorgeous and roomy. The shower was not an issue for us - we loved it. Every night the room was turned down and they left a rose and chocolates. The only issue I would have is that during the turndown they did not take the wet towels etc (Only minor, I know). This is the only hotel we have ever stayed in where we made such use out of the balcony - the bed and rocking chair was so comfy. The room included a beach bag with towels, safe, hairdryer.

Food: We had breakfast included in our stay but due to overindulgence the nights before we only went for breakfast twice but we found it varied with plenty of choice. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as it was quite pricey compared to prices in Fishermans Village. We did eat lunch at the hotel bar one day - bruschetta and toasted sandwich which was yum and well presented.

Location: The location of the hotel was ideal, only a two minute walk from Fishermans Village. The hotel was located right in front of the beach, there is a small laneway/road in front of the hotel but it is not busy and does not impede on relaxation. We did not use the pool, we spent our days on the beach which we loved. A little note to say the sand is not the soft, white sand that you think of when you think of Thailand. It is coarse and not great for walking on.

Staff: The staff are the highlight of this hotel. They are friendly and enthusiastic and go out of their way to help you. The hotel provided us with complimentary transfers back to the airport and while we were waiting for their transport, one of the staff on reception provided us with bottles of water and stood and waved us off. We thought it was the sweetest thing ever.

Overall we thought this hotel was fantastic, in a wonderful location with staff who are a credit to the hotel. If you are on two minds about booking this hotel, don't be, book it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved our room 1310, it was the most basic room but it was lovely overlooked the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Hansar was absolutely amazing and we are already talking about planning another trip to Thailand and it will be at the top of our list for places to stay. Unfortunately we only discovered Hansar at the end of our stay in Koh Samui so we only spent one night there but it was so good and we didn't want to leave! We were staying with our two small children- 9months and almost 3yrs and it was perfect for them too. We loved the daybeds around the cute kids pool and the staff were beautiful playing with our kids. They had a great tub of sand toys that entertained my daughter for hours and the big pool is amazing! Awesome location- we loved BoPhut, beach is beautiful and close to everything. Also loved the day bed and rocking chair on balcony and awesome shower in the room. Make sure u try the passionfruit caprioska I think it was- best cocktail I had in Thailand! Breakie great too- they even had hash browns!! Special mention to the beautiful staff who went above and beyond to call the car taking us to the airport when they thought we had forgotten one of our daughters stuffed toys. What amazing service! Thanx Hansar! We can't wait to come back again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.