We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour! Hapy holiday!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Airport Transfer
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy hour! Hapy holiday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent six nights at the Hansar, and wish we could of stayed 6 more!
XL Sea View room - was amazing - great size, great view, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The day bed and balcony were oversized and out of control good!!
Pool & Bar - the staff at the pool bar amde our holiday - happy hour 3 times a day was great. Cocktails were all awesome - I especially loved the Coco Mango and both the Apple and Lychee Martinis! Big thanks to San, Dom and the team at the pool bar for your excellent hospitality, and always ensureing we had enough cashews!!
Breakfast - Good breakfast, but could learn a few things from their colleagues at Hansar Bangkok. Cold drinks need to be cold, not just sat on ice! Service here wasn't as efficient as elsewhere in the hotel, however it was still always very friendly.
H Bistro - had an azing 5 course degustation on the beach. Out of this world food!!
The only downside to this resort were some of the other guests! Dirty Germans who would chain- smoke by the pool all day and didn't care that another non smoking guest was laying 30cms from them. Wuld be great to have the pool - or some areas of it atleast to be non smoking!!
Also the beach looked a bit average - but the pool itself made up for it!

Room Tip: Definately woth the extra money for the XL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    261
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
242
923
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Arrival: Arrived having travelled for twelve hours and a flight delay ensured that we didn't arrive at the Hansar until 1am. We were greeted by the porter with two glasses of pineapple juice and a lovely friendly welcome. Our room was on the 3rd floor, 1310, and there was no lifts (not a problem) as the porter showed us to our room and brought up our suitcases for us. When we went into the room, the staff had rose petals on our bed and a lovely cake for our anniversary.

Room: We stayed in the Seaview room which I think is the smallest room but we thought the room was gorgeous and roomy. The shower was not an issue for us - we loved it. Every night the room was turned down and they left a rose and chocolates. The only issue I would have is that during the turndown they did not take the wet towels etc (Only minor, I know). This is the only hotel we have ever stayed in where we made such use out of the balcony - the bed and rocking chair was so comfy. The room included a beach bag with towels, safe, hairdryer.

Food: We had breakfast included in our stay but due to overindulgence the nights before we only went for breakfast twice but we found it varied with plenty of choice. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as it was quite pricey compared to prices in Fishermans Village. We did eat lunch at the hotel bar one day - bruschetta and toasted sandwich which was yum and well presented.

Location: The location of the hotel was ideal, only a two minute walk from Fishermans Village. The hotel was located right in front of the beach, there is a small laneway/road in front of the hotel but it is not busy and does not impede on relaxation. We did not use the pool, we spent our days on the beach which we loved. A little note to say the sand is not the soft, white sand that you think of when you think of Thailand. It is coarse and not great for walking on.

Staff: The staff are the highlight of this hotel. They are friendly and enthusiastic and go out of their way to help you. The hotel provided us with complimentary transfers back to the airport and while we were waiting for their transport, one of the staff on reception provided us with bottles of water and stood and waved us off. We thought it was the sweetest thing ever.

Overall we thought this hotel was fantastic, in a wonderful location with staff who are a credit to the hotel. If you are on two minds about booking this hotel, don't be, book it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved our room 1310, it was the most basic room but it was lovely overlooked the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Hansar was absolutely amazing and we are already talking about planning another trip to Thailand and it will be at the top of our list for places to stay. Unfortunately we only discovered Hansar at the end of our stay in Koh Samui so we only spent one night there but it was so good and we didn't want to leave! We were staying with our two small children- 9months and almost 3yrs and it was perfect for them too. We loved the daybeds around the cute kids pool and the staff were beautiful playing with our kids. They had a great tub of sand toys that entertained my daughter for hours and the big pool is amazing! Awesome location- we loved BoPhut, beach is beautiful and close to everything. Also loved the day bed and rocking chair on balcony and awesome shower in the room. Make sure u try the passionfruit caprioska I think it was- best cocktail I had in Thailand! Breakie great too- they even had hash browns!! Special mention to the beautiful staff who went above and beyond to call the car taking us to the airport when they thought we had forgotten one of our daughters stuffed toys. What amazing service! Thanx Hansar! We can't wait to come back again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uranus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This lived up to expectations/reviews from this site! despite the hotel giving an upgrade when we actually didn't want one - we wanted what we ordered but decided not to fuss about it with front desk. The location was perfect, as was the food, cocktails and service. Super location if you still want choice but not the sleeze of Chewang. On the map it looks close to the airport but we didn't hear a single plane overhead. We'd love to come back! We didn't use the spa hence can't rate it properly

Room Tip: If you're specific about a room you book and don't wish for the staff to change that at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the resort on Sep. 2012 – basic room.

Pros:
1. Modern décor hotel with nice room + balcony with beautiful pool and sea view
2. Large and comfy bed (great quality sheets)
3. Great infinity pool
4. Location – Bo phut was my favorite place in Samui compared to Chaweng and Choengmon. Great atmosphere in the fisherman village – check out the Friday night market
5. Happy hour – the resort beach bar had happy hour at 13:30, 18:30 and 21:30, which was very good. Great martinis!
6. Huge 50" Plasma TV + HBO

Cons:
1. Good breakfast, but we've expected a bit more from this hotel, since we've had better breakfast at a lower class resort in Samui. Juices were not freshly squeezed; the choice of cheese was quite limited as well as the fruits.
2. The beach is not swimmable, so if that's what you're looking for go to another beach area (south Chaweng), the pool was a good substitute though

Conclusion:
This is a good resort in a very nice area in Samui. A bit overpriced for the value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hansar Samui for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. We had beachfront accommodation right next to the beach bar and pool and had the most spectacular view of the beach. The room was spacious and clean. As other reviewers have said, the shower and toilet areas are not very private but as I was only sharing with my boyfriend, I did not find this a problem.
Evening turndown service with roses and Hershey's chocolates were a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was beautiful with plenty of options which varied daily. I was happy with the location as there were plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Happy hour at the beach bar is 3 times a day with buy one get one free beverages. The cocktails were absolutely delicious and even though they were still a bit more expensive than other places in the area, they were far better than any of the others I tried. The staff were all friendly and helpful and I honestly do not have a bad thing to say about our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in September and we would highly recommend it. The location is fantastic, right on the beach so you can choose the sea or the pool, although both luke- warm because of the heat and humidity. Short walk to Fisherman's Village for great, cheap Thai food and other shops.
Wait staff for breakfast were great and soon anticipated your order and always had a friendly smile and comment (especially Mei).
Our first room did smell but they changed our room immediately with no problems. The shower does have a glass wall beside the bed, so you would need to be comfortable with that especially if sharing with just a friend.
I fractured my elbow (not at the Hansar) and the staff, without exception, were fantastic. From Marika who organised transport to and from the hospital and sent flowers to the kitchen staff who looked after the ice packs for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.