We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again in a heart beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Save Saved
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #4 of 53 hotels in Bophut
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would stay there again in a heart beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I loved this hotel! I met my sister and a friend there (flying in from 3 sep locations around the world) and we had a fantastic time and definitely plan to return!

Clientele - Mainly 30's to 60's.
Very few children (not really a family spot, there's not much for kids to do there) This ensured the pool was quiet and peaceful as there were no loud screams from noisy children.

Perfect location for a honeymoon or romantic travel.

There were also plenty of older singles/small groups of friends travelling together.

Rooms
After reading the reviews we asked for levels 2 or 3 with direct sea facing views, and my sister and I decided to get separate rooms as the bathrooms were NOT private (glass wall separated the shower room from the bed and you need to close your balcony curtains at night if using the shower. There is a sep toilet though.

Staff
The staff were amazing, very helpful and friendly. After ordering the same breakfast for 3 days running my sister and I would walk into breakfast and they instantly knew what we wanted, would quickly check with us without even having to open our mouths. It would be ordered before we found a seat.

We also got really helpful advice from Marketa (Guest Relations) about how much to pay for taxi's from various parts of the island etc.

All in all the staff make this place.

Food
Plenty of local restaurants within a 2-3
min wander.

Great local bars with much better prices than the Hansar (and more generous), and a 'Family Mart' just down the Fisherman's Village road about 4 mins.

The breakfast buffet at Hansar is good, but not excellent. Most days my eggs were runnier than they should be, and if you order a pancake you get a single one on a plate; however the food was plentiful with lots of choice and we usually ended up skipping lunch as we were still full from breakfast.

Pool side food was 'American' and excellent if you get a little sick of Thai

Don't miss the local Friday night market - Full range of food from entre to dessert. Eg: corn on a stick, Thai BBQ pork ribs, these amazing mashed potato balls filled with things like corn, fresh sushi, etc. My advice: Go hungry!

Local Tailors
Had an excellent experience with Roman from 'Majestic' (or 'Majesty') tailors in Fisherman's Village. My sister has had numerous things made in Thailand over the years and she instantly warmed to him because when we pulled clothes out to be copied, he told her what he couldn't do, rather than promising the world and not delivering. I got 2 shirts and 3 pairs of pants made and they are all perfect. Particularly the cashmere/wool blend (am kicking myself for not getting more). He didn't require a huge number of fittings, and worked with me to get everything just perfect. So we highly recommend Roman!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1205 to 12014 or 1305 to 1314 to get the very best view. Definitely NOT worth the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,106
    254
    62
    18
    10
See reviews for
221
868
63
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just returned from two nights staying at the Hansar Samui. We had a beautiful room with lovely large deck. The outstanding staff, the location, the pool, the views were just the best. We are already talking about heading back there for a longer stay. Fisherman's is a very brief walk away but just far enough for no noise disturbance. The breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

Room Tip: We were on the middle floor in the centre and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My partner and I spent nearly a week at the Hansar in September 2012. We had booked a Seaview XL room but on arrival found we had been upgraded to a Beachfront room which was a great start to our holiday! The accommodation was excellent with a comfy king bed and huge day bed on the verandah where there's also a ceiling fan to keep things cool.
The staff were courteous and helpful. Location is terrific - right next to the Fishermans Village at Bophut. Make sure you're there for Friday night when the whole village is transformed into a fantastic food and drink street market - it's a great night. There's also a good choice of restaurants along the beachfront.
The Thai food from the hotel bistro was excellent. Also some good international dishes but check the prices first as some dishes are pretty expensive.
The hotel pool is to die for, or you can lay on a sunbed on the beach. The in-house spa is also very good.
The hotel is in a great location for tours to Ko Phang An or the Angthang Marine Park - about an hour away by speed boat and you can hire jet skis or wave skis on the beach if you're feeling energetic. The view from the pool or from the rooms is beautiful.
One of the best hotels we've stayed at anywhere and a great place to unwind and recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged in an L-shaped building. Ask for a room that looks straight out on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hansar and I thought the food was particularly good for a hotel. It was very expensive though. The hotel itself is very well run and the swimming pool has great views across to Koh Pangnan. All in all this is a very nice property

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We moved here after 2 awful nights at Bhundari Resort & Spa in Chaweng, see review. This is exactly what we had in mind when we were looking for a 5 star resort in Samui. The room and grounds are gorgeous, the service is impeccable and the location could not be better. A few steps away is a walking street called “fisherman’s village” that is packed with restaurants, shops, bars and massage spas. The bar at the hotel has 3 happy hours daily and makes very tasty cocktails. The breakfast offered is delicious as well. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. (If you can avoid staying in Chaweng, then do so. It’s very crowded and seedy.)

Room Tip: Even the 1st floor rooms are great, but try for 2nd floor or higher for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a family vacation where we stayed at the Hansar Samui. We found the property awesome with an amazing room sea view room, excellent and friendly staff and wonderful service. Fisherman's village is just down the road from the hotel with a lot of great restaurants for those who do not want to eat in the hotel.We did try the food at the H Bistro and found it to be top quality. My wife and I also enjoyed the spa treatments at the Luxsa and felt completely pampered by them.
All in all we left with great memories and plan to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel choice. The rooms are gorgeous, especially the large balconies with dreamy sea views. This is a two year old hotel that delivers on all levels. I travel globally for my work and this is, without doubt, a beautiful hotel and worth staying. The Fishermans village is a next door with lots of restaurants, bars and shops to explore. The food is to an excellent standard particularly the H bistro and well worth a romantic dinner. Finally the pool is fabulous and seems to be more of a couples hotel which suited us fine.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#3 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.