We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is recommended to Families and Couples after peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Airport Transfer
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel is recommended to Families and Couples after peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Had a very relaxing time with wife and 2 teenage children. Breakfast met our high expectations. It seemed all other guests were also after peace and quiet in a hotel without the noise and mayhem of hearing other guests returning from bars in the early morning. Friendly staff. Free wifi throughout the resort. Lovely balcony. Both sea and pool view from every balcony. Our units were on the 3rd floor which did not bother us as we are able bodied, however if you find climbing stairs a pain you may wish to request a lower floor as there are no lifts. If you are taking your children, be aware that there does not appear to be any interconnecting rooms and the shower in the twin bedded room for the children is open to the room at one end (ie it does not have a door). The resort had a nice fresh and new feel about it. Will return to Ko Samui in a couple of years and will stay at the Hansar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    261
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
243
923
65
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is our third visit to Hansar in a space of under a year. Being seasoned travellers to luxury sea-side resorts, we have high expectations and demand a certain standard from the places we frequent. Hansar more than surpassed these expectations. The resort is within walking distance to the Fishermen's Village, yet is tranquil and peaceful. The rooms are spacious, value-for-money, with AMAZING full views of the sea. What is very clever about the stylish design is that you can see the great views, even from the shower, as well as while lounging on the balcony's day-bed. What separates the Hansar from the others though are its exceptional staff. Their service is friendly and personal, yet unobtrusive.

Ultimately, in our case, it was Chef Stephen's exquisite talent that made us decide to hold our wedding celebration at H Bistro in July 2011. Again, being foodies and having frequented top restaurants in Asia and Europe, Chef Stephen's creations are deserving of international accolades. He has a keen epicurean sense and every meal has been a real treat and pleasant surprise. Both the Thai and international menus are of gourmet standards, although we were first won over to his food by the excellent set menus.

Our wedding celebration involved 20 of our closest friends. The Hansar staff, led by the affable General Manager, Khun Indra, went out of their way to accommodate our various requests, and took care of all the small details. And all in a very fuss-free manner! The end result was a fantastic 'wow' set up and event by the beach, followed by an absolutely fabulous dinner at the Chill Lounge of H Bistro - Chef Stephen and his crew created a most exquisite wine pairing menu.

We could not have asked for more from our end, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We very much apreciated our stay at this boutique hotel in Samui. The hotel has a modern design and perfectly located on the beach. The staff is friendly and efficient. All the rooms have a sea view, either front or side. The room are nicely decorated with modern and clean furnitures. The pool is great and big. The overall atmosphere is calm and relaxing.

Pro's
- hotel design
- location
- view
- pool and beach
- design rooms
- friendly staff
- relaxing atmosphere

Con's
- no elevator, but only 2 floors
- the hotel design might be kind of cold
- no magnifying mirror in the rooms (essential for women daily make up !

This is definitely a great hotel and we are planning to come back soon !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed at Hansar Samui for 4 nights. Arrived late at night and were welcomed by Sam and his team. We were checked into our ground floor room promptly. We requested to be in a room on a higher floor but was told that there were no rooms available but would be changed once it became available. True enough the next day we had our room changed to one on a higher floor and everything was perfect. The room was big and clean, pillows were soft and lulled us into sleep. Everything worked well and the wifi connection was excellent.

We had absolutely nothing to fault with the hotel and staff. Service was prompt and they paid attention to small details like having a fan and mosquito repellent available while we had dinner at H Bistro. The food at H Bistro also requires special mention. Breakfast was always good. We had dinner one night at H Bistro and the food was sublime. Service at the pool was always prompt and happy hours at the beach bar were great!

We also liked that the hotel was located practically next to the Fisherman Village which made dining out and shopping a breeze.

Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great location right on the beach, room and amenity are perfect. Very friendly staff, cannot complain with the service, the food at the restaurant is fantastic. The horel is only a short walking distance to Fisherman Village which is a plus if you want to eat out or have a few drinks at local bars.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our trip to Koh Samui started off in another '5 star' hotel in Chaeweng were we lasted 3 nights! That hotel was a whole other story but we also did not like Chaweng itself - think Benidorm with Brits charging up and down on mopeds with their shirts off (just our opinion).

We had actually nearly booked Hansar Samui in Bohput the first time round and wish we had. When we arrived our room was not ready (perhaps as it was 7pm at night and we had only booked it 30 mins before, when fleeing from other hotel). Immediately Sam and the reception staff made us at ease, apologized profusely and brought us refreshing drinks. Ten minutes later our room was ready. The hotel was full that night so we had only had the option to book the more expensive Seaview villa which was absolutely lovely but is just really a slightly bigger version of the Seaview XL room. Some people may prefer that you are looking right out onto the beach but our Seaview XL room (3rd floor) which we stayed in for the rest of the holiday looked out over the pool and beach and was more set back so we actually preferred it

Before going on to talk about our room I really must praise Sam for making our trip so enjoyable. He is such a lovely man, nothing is too much trouble and he showed himself to be very honest and fair - we had looked up how much it would be to stay the rest of our holiday on hotels.com after the first night when we decided we really liked it. We thought we would ask Sam the rate the hotel was charging as we like to support businesses directly. Sam gave us the same price to the penny (without even knowing it) and even gave us two complimentary 60 minute massages at the spa.

Our room was fantastic with a huge rain shower, big marble tub in middle of room, double sinks, giant four poster, large flatscreen TV and the best hotel balcony I have ever experienced - you could fit about 8 people on it lounging with ease (which we did one night when we had friends around). The only slight negative I would say is that the very open nature of the shower, bathroom etc makes it very romantic for couples but you may wish to book another room if you were sharing with someone like your Mum as you don't really have any privacy.

The pool at the hotel was lovely, really big so could have a proper swim with beautiful views out to the beach and the loungers were super comfy, with each set having a big umbrella. Yes they did get busy in the mornings but think there was only one morning we couldn't get one at the pool (there was lots on the beach) and we came back in an hour and got one no problem. The pool bar is great too and does happy hour where you buy one get one free twice a day from around 1-2pm and 6.30-7.30pm. The Mojitos and the Singapore slings are yummy and some drinks come in big coconuts.

Breakfast was good with selection of Western food - cereal, fruit, cold meats, toast, pastries etc and also local food. Sausages, bacon, eggs including eggs benedict, pancakes and waffles could be ordered to be prepared by the chef how you liked them. If I had to be critical I would say although the staff in the breakfast room were lovely it sometimes seemed a little hit or miss on timings of getting your tea/ coffee etc but that is just being picky - you are on holiday after all there is no rush! Plus there was a management trainee there on some days who really seemed to help this process.

We really enjoyed our couples massage - the spa was everything a spa should be relaxing and calm - I would defiantly recommend as a much more pleasant, professional experience than having one on the beach - our only regret is that we didn't go back for another treatment.

The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk e.g stroll past the pool and turn right into Fishermans Village which is made up of little shops and restaurants and is much more pleasant than Chaeweng - no Starbucks etc. in sight. We ate here most lunches and whilst the offerings got a bit repetitive near the end we still had some nice meals - Smile house is nice, Krua Bophut is lovely, and we loved the Shack (half way along on right) for a fillet steak up to the standard of many I have had in 5 star restaurants - cooked on a pit in front of you (the manger here is also very attentive).

If you want to explore the island further the hotel has its own cars with lovely drivers that charge your roughly what the taxis do and you do not need to do any of the arguing about the fare (taxi drivers on the island do not like/ will not put the meter on so always good to have an idea of what it should cost before setting off). This eliminated this process for us as fair prices were always charged and you could pay in cash or charge to the room. Another example of Sam's kindness being that my husband was departing much earlier than me to go on to a business trip so Sam said I could go to airport with him to say bye and they would bring me back to the hotel free of charge.

Overall I would defiantly stay here again - we had been staying in Four Seasons, Manderin Orientals etc before coming to Koh Samui but the price for these on island was out of reach ($800 USD a night!) and Hansar offered us a very lovely, truly 4.5 star experience - not like some of the other hotels on the island who say 5 star and are really more like 3's!

Room Tip: Third floor is good as nice views out over the pool and beach but think all rooms would have nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We just came back from five days in Koh Samui and stayed at the Hansar. We had just come form the Hansar in Bangkok. The hotel was beautiful! In a lovely part of the island, just steps from the Fisherman's Village, a nice street full of shops, restaurants and vendors. I found this area of the island much nicer thank the Chaweng section of the island. It is certainly quieter, not sure there is a wild night life on this end, but far cleaner and nicer all around.
The hotel had great pillows and sheets, as I am a linen snob. The bed was great, as was the ammenities in the bathroom. Food great, and the staff, (General Manager Sam) went above and beyond to make your visit a wonderful experience. You won't be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean, good size, all with water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.