We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hansar Samui Resort to your Saves list
Hansar Samui Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Airport Transfer
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I am about to come to the conclusion of our 4-night stay here at Hansar Samui. Overall, our experiences here have been very positive. Being a newer property, I believe the management and staff have worked really hard to elevate the hotel to one of Tripadvisor's best hotel on the island over a relatively short time.

The staff here is absolutely great and always approach you with smiles. They are eager to help and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. For example, mangoes were not served at breakfast at the moment because they are out-of-season (they can still get them but more expensive). When we asked the staff, he said he will notify the kitchen to have mangoes specially brought to us every morning for the rest of our stay. Furthermore, my friend loves mangosteens and they even left us a dozen of them in our room (all complimentary). The staff at H Bistro are all fantastic, always friendly and helpful.

There are some minor glitches I think will be sorted out over time. For example, housekeeping is very slow. We had to call the front desk to make arrangements for our room to be cleaned. As for the room itself, we had the beach-front studio. While the bed, balcony and view are wonderful, the 'transparentness' of the shower and toilet is not all that practical. There also seems to have way too many light switches and turning the bathroom light on and off can prove complicated.

Overall, Hansar Samui is still a very good property for the price. The beach is good but not great. The water quality is somewhat questionable since I spotted many small dead fish washed ashore. I am not sure what the cause of death was. As mentioned by some reviewers before, there is a small road between the pool and the beach. It is not a busy road but still have to watch out for the traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    262
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
243
926
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed for 9 nights and had a wonderful time. The room is amazing - with the most comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and a huge bath that was very easy to lose an hour in! The resort itself is very well layed out and the pool is huge, large enough to never feel like you are surrounded by other guests.
The staff were a delight! Nothing was too much effort and they quickly remembered where we liked to sit for breakfast/by the pool etc. Nothing was too much trouble. On our first day after a long flight we needed to go to the shops, instead of giving us directions one of the ladies at the front desk went for us!
This hotel would have to be the best for couples on the Island, close to all the restaurants, beachfront and no noisy nightclubs nearby.
Highly recommend Hansar Samui

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the X-Large Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We enjoyed great hospitality during our recent stay at Hansar Samui Resort. People go out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. I got in from the heat at the beach and a staff at Chill Lounge handed me a chilled towel. My 2 nieces brought food back from their cooking class and the staffs at the restaurant gladly warmed them up for us and served the food in style. I shared a sandwich with my husband and the kitchen staffs took such care to give me my half portion with chips and salad. They don't just serve the two halves on one plate. Such care and attention to their guests' comfort was unexpected. They totally overwhelmed us with their in-the-face service.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are great but no crashing waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We (my girlfriend and I) stayed at Hansar Samui after 3 nights in Bangkok. We loved this hotel. The room is great with an amazing day bed on the balcony which is the best way to relax after hours at the pool or beach.

Also I have to say the breakfast provided by the hotel is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, the variety is outstanding and the freshness and quality is brilliant.
Please do yourself a favor and have dinner on the beach in front on the hotel it’s a wonderful setting and the H bistro 4 course dinner is excellent.

The staff were some of the best I have ever dealt with. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and were always very helpful.

So all-in-all a great hotel and the best location on Bo Phut beach. I would like to thank the staff for making out trip so amazing.

If you eat out in the fisherman’s village, just walk around to find the best deal and the type of food you want to eat. If you are willing to walk a little, you can find Thai dishes for as little as 70 Baht a dish. We have everything from Italian and Mexican to Thai.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed in the Hansar for 6 days at the start of our 3 week holiday in Thailand. We loved it that much we returned for a further 2 days at the end of our trip. Rooms are large and well designed, air conditioning kept the room cool and the bed was to die for - most comfortable bed I have slept in. Loved chilling on the balcony admiring the views before heading out for dinner in Fisherman's Village which is a few mins walk from the Hansar. Days spent relaxing by the amazing pool looking out over the bay to Koh Phanghan. Picture postcard perfect. Enjoyed eating at the H Bistro for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and would go out of their way to help you organise any trips or provide advice. Will definitely return and will recommend to all - a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view guaranteed as all rooms face sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

There were many things I loved abt the hotel. Great pool, the location near the Fisherman's village, the rooms were very stylised and the balconies were great for relaxing. The staff were excellent and helpful. But this is a five star hotel and I am afraid our room had a strong odour of damp, I suspect this results from the design of the rooms. The open plan bathrooms cause humidity. the staff use incense and this helps but its not adequate. They offered us a new room but it had the same problem. The H bistro is great for Thai food but my meal was spoilt by dessert that was obviously rushed did not resemble its description and was inedible. Breakfast was good. The place is full of honeymooners. The village is close but the restaurant food is pretty poor in quality and overpriced. I would suggest eating outside of the village.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Hansar Samui embodies the perfect beach getaway. Everything hit the right note with the wonderful location which is a foxtrot to Fisherman's Village and down the road from W Hotel yet away from the maddening crowd; luxe room with a lovely balcony and spa-like shower, gorgeous infinity pool juxtaposed with the seaview, and amazing service who never said no to requests. Five days at The Hansar felt like one day indeed. I will be back. Missie. x

Room Tip: Book through the hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bophut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.