We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryoo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maryoo Hotel to your Saves list
Maryoo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 / 99 Moo 2, North Chaweng Rd., Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here for a week, approximately ten minute Tuk Tuk ride to and from Chaweng, we paid 100-200 baht.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was cold most mornings but overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our experience at the maryoo was without a doubt the worst hotel experience of our traveling lives. We unfortunately had prepaid our week long stay in advance so were forced to endure a week long stay at the hotel. We left the hotel with feelings of disappointment and anger towards the staff and hotel in general. The staff speak little to no English (or at least pretend not to when asked for help), and when we enquired to them about a $300 pair of jeans that were stolen from our room by the cleaning staff, there knowledge of English became nonexistent, (we eventually got the jeans back from them after half a day of insisting we were not leaving until they returned them, at that point no apology was offered for the theft and the staff member who stole them continued to work there)
I would highly recommend that anyone foolish enough to be considering a stay at the maryoo to heed my advise and find another hotel.
Before our stay at the hotel I thought the Thais were wonderful honest people but now my opinion of them has changed, and find them sneaky and deceptive, and I have the staff at maryoo to thank for that. Thankyou maryoo for ruining our Thailand trip!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I usually don't write reviews and try to brush off small inconviences when travelling but I would never go back to this hotel.

After travelling from Bangkok to Koh Samui, we were both tired and hungry. We arrived at the Maryoo and the check in service was quite slow. The staff did not speak English very well and moved very slowly. However, the hotel itself is quite nice and clean. After check-in we went to the restaurant to eat some lunch. It took about an hour to get our food even though we were the only people in the restaurant. I also ordered a mango shake that did not come until after I received my food. I am not sure if the hotel is just grossly understaffed or if the employees just did not care about service, but it was very difficult to stay in a hotel where everything took so long.

Additionally, after leaving the hotel at 10am we returned at about 6pm to go shower before dinner and found that our room had still not been cleaned. On another day, they forgot to leave us clean towels and when I asked for some I was told they were still being washed. I was not given clean towels until about 4 hours later.

Even though we tipped the staff we did not receive any better service.

The only redeeming quality about the hotel was that the buffet was decently good.

The location of the hotel is right in between two cities, Chaweng and Cheong Mon. I would recommend renting a scooter from a shop about a 2 minute walk down the street. There is nothing beside the hotel (food or anything) within walking distance. Without a scooter you would be stuck in this hotel with awful service.

Overall it is a relatively decent priced hotel but not worth the stress. The hotel is not good if you need anything at all. We left the hotel and moved to another one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ended up here after our visit in Vietnam.
All the charm is gone (if it ever was here) and th place relay on basics.
Bed is good, not standard Thai rock hard.
Breakfast is poor but will keep you on your feats.
It is a little far to any food alternatives.
The place could do better than this with.a.minimum of effort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a suite room for New Year's Eve at the Maryoo Hotel. We arrived after an exhausting 9 hours spent in bus, boat, van and motorcycle. It was 6pm on the 31st of December. We finally checked in with a rude receptionist that didn't speak English at all.
Putting away this little fact, we arrived in the room which was clean and nice. Heading to the shower in order to refresh us up before NYE countdown, we realized there were no water at all in the room and after reporting that to the reception, they just said we were not able have water before the next day... We were so exhausted that we just agreed and went to celebrate NYE hoping there will be some water when we will return back to the hotel. In return we just asked to have a late checkout (because of this inconvenience, check out time is normally 12pm), which was severally rejected, mentioning that they were fully booked for the next day.
On the next day, at 12.15pm we had a call from the reception to remind us the time of check out, on what we answered that we are just packing our stuff before coming down. At 12.25, someone knocked on the door and once I opened, 3 person from housekeeping entered the room without asking permission and just "kicked"us out from the room.
After this incident no one was here to hear about our complains and just said there is no manager. After having paid so much for a room that didn't had water in it and to be welcomed by rude people I would definitely not come back there and I don't recommend at all this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I come to this nice hotel the last three years with my family to spend quiet holidays. Take a mountain view room on high floor (quiet) .Room is big, clean and very comfortable. The food is great and swimming pool very nice.Rent a motorcycle (200THB/day) and you are near to the best places of island - Chaweng and Choen Mon beaches, Bophut village and Big Buddha.

Room Tip: Take mountain view room second floor because sea view noisy with road not far
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Maryoo is an all-suite hotel; has lovely rooms and good breakfast choices. However, the staff needs to brush up on their English is they want more foreigners to stay here. Communication was challenging!
Their towels were also stained and not white!!!
For the price, it is a good deal....

Best rooms are the Ocean facing ones although the rooms are next to an empty plot of land; the rooms may face another building if that plot is occupied in the future!!!

Next best rooms are the pool facing ones although it might be noisy if there are screaming kids in the pool.....

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maryoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryoo Hotel

Address: 99 / 99 Moo 2, North Chaweng Rd., Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maryoo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation with the prices that you can better afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Maryoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryoo Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryoo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.