We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice decoration, quiet but dusty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Heritage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Heritage Resort to your Saves list
Samui Heritage Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   157/43 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice decoration, quiet but dusty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A small resort that have exotic nice decoration and good location for anyone that want to go to Bho Phut walking street. The room(1 bed room with small kitchen, living room and outdoor shower) are big but have only 1 air-con so it took some times to cool down the room temperature. The worst point is the room was dusty. When you first look you will feel it's clean but when you bare foot walk and see the curtain you will notice that. About the outdoor shower, I felt not safe because I can hear everything from the road behind and the wall is not so high. Swimming pool have average size and beautiful, but not for children. BTW, I got this room in a cheap price so I didn't expect everything will be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent place for short-term stay. Spacious numbers, in some are even a mini-kitchen. Good breakfasts. The only thing - at hotel restaurant except breakfasts it is better to eat nothing - as cook from the frozen products and not so well. The fine choice of food - around a beach is 10 minutes of walking on foot from hotel - it is necessary to pass through the brisk road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardinxveld-Giessendam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayd there for 8 nights. Great location. Friendly staff. Some 300 meters from tthe beach Bo Phut. On walking distance to Fisherman village. Would go there again. Rooms are very big. The shower and toiler were outside. Nice swimmingpool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having travelled non-stop for two days we arrived to realise that the Resort only offers double, not twin beds which was a deal breaker. It was 18:00, so we decided to stay at least one night till I we find another hotel. I informed Agoda who were happy to shorten my booking but while still on the phone with them the rude Thai hotel Manageresses ran into our room trying to kick us out "before we dirty anything". Maybe she thought we want to check out immediately? What a hostile and rude woman!

Next day it was pouring with rain in Samui so I only found accommodation around 13:00. I informed Agoda but the hotel manageresses wanted me to pay for a 2nd night as I was late for checkout. took me another 3 hours of international phone calls to get Agoda and the resort to agree on charging me for one night stay.

The rooms were nice enough for the price but the resort is far from just about anything in Bo Phut. For a little bit extra pay I found better accommodation, closer to the beach and restaurants.

There are all sorts of creatures singing at night - frogs, crickets etc. I found the white noise relaxing but my girlfriend couldn't sleep because of it.

Perhaps an emotionally charged rating, but I wasted a day of my 9-day stay riding a scooter in the rain around Samui and making international calls to change hotels and the resort treated me like a nuisance, not a customer.

If you stay here, make sure it is only for a short stop-over or till you find a better place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of Feb 2013.

It was a good choice for visiting fishermans village and quite close to the Maenam pier for catching a ferry.

First of all let me say that our experience with the receptionist was excellent. Reading the reviews below complaining about one receptionist named "Beer" it seems that this is not the same receptionist whom we had contact with during our two day stay. The receptionist had very good English and was extremely helpfull, even helping us to contact our ferry company to make sure there was a car to pick us up on our departure. This receptionist was there early in the morning, in the afternoon and late in the evening too and her service was excellent at all times. Is it possible that this "Beer" person isn't working here anymore?

Breakfast was served in the small cafe just outside the main entrance of the hotel. One highlight for me was that they served Thai breakfast options (the only hotel we stayed in which did so). I had the grilled pork and sticky rice and although it was a little heavy for breakfast it was certainly worth a try and actually very tasty.

We had rooms 103 and 109. Room 109 had a bit of a damp smell while 103 seemed that bit cleaner. Each of the rooms has a kitchen/lounge/dining area at the front, a double bedroom and a partially covered but completely private shower/toilet area. The grounds of the hotel are small and there is a feel of being in amongst the wildlife. There are plenty of flowers and also frogs/lizards in the small ponds in front of every room (and possibly also in the bathroom which is roofless). So if you are scared of such things then this hotel might not be a good choice for you (actually Thailand might not be a good choice for you!). There is free wifi in the rooms but the signal was too weak towards the rear of our room 109, but in the kitchen it was ok.

As you walk out of the hotel to the main road, turning right you have a Seven Eleven and also the road to Fishermans Village (recommended for dinner) and the beach, while turning left there is a pharmacy (recommend you get insect repellent!) and some massage shops etc. BTW the main road is very busy and not easy to cross, so be careful.

We didn't use the pool so can't comment on that.

In all it was a convenient place to stay for 2 night, although if you are staying longer you may want a little more luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Avoid at all costs!! A horrible experience with quite possibly the worst hotel receptionist imaginable.
Arrived to check in at 9pm to find out that in spite of our reservation, all rooms had been booked.
I asked to speak to the manager as her English is poor at best and she said, 'sleeping....' (Her first lie)
She then said the hotel would pay for our taxi transfer to and our stay in a 'brother' hotel.
After the first hotel was full, the second had an availability, but she then told us we would have to move back to the Samui Heritage for the second night. When we disapproved she called the hotel back and confirmed we would stay for the 2 nights and that Samui Heritage would pay for our room.
She booked us a taxi, and when the driver arrived had no idea the hotel was paying for us....she tried to make us pay. (More dishonesty)
After our first night she then called to tell us that the hotel wasn't going to pay for the second night, and that we had to. Our new hotel receptionist knew she was lying as she had confirmed on the phone with her the night before that Samui Heritage would cover the costs of the stay. She then said the manager was actually 'overseas' so couldn't be contacted (another lie).
Still an on-going saga which was all brought upon by this 'receptionist.'
All dealings with this woman were nothing short of disgraceful. She was rude and short and acted as though it was our fault. No hotel is worth dealing with this sort of person. I highly recommend staying somewhere else, like the smile hotel or peace resort.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saigon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The photos on the review are like the photos of MacDonalds Burgers - FAKE - especially the one showing a bed with 4 pillows and 2 cushions. Our - dreary - room, had only 2 pillows, when I went to the reception to ask for another one or 2 (for medical reasons), the receptionist,claiming to be called beer, said "$10 - for one more"!
Debating the point that we had already prepaid for a room that should include pillows, and that she clearly had enough spare if she was willing to demand money for another one, descended into an short arguement where she told us to leave the hotel. I asked for a refund and she said "ha ha, yeah".
I complaned to Agoda who did exactly squat (no surprise there), and then in the afternoon the hotel internet "mysteriously" went out for 2 hours.....
This place is no more than a Fawlty Towers MOTEL, and in NO way should be advertising as a resort. Now not all the staff are such shockers, the grounds boys and room staff are cheery and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Heritage Resort

Address: 157/43 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Heritage Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Heritage resort is a peaceful place in downtown of Bophut area. You can experience calm atmosphere while you can get convenient eating & shopping place. Our hotel is clean, nice kitchenette, lovely swimming pool You can have complementary one cold drink/day while you are sunbathing. Free Wifi is available all hotel area.Our room is spacious and separated living room area. Open-air bathroom can make you feel back to the natural or even you can see the star at night.A small balcony can see the small pond with tadpole and fish. I bet it makes you relax.Our friendly staff can help you. Some helps are free but some are charge. Depended on you demand.Extra charge for transfer service taxi. The cost is depended on the route. 500 Baht if the guests request transfer from airport to hotel.Extra discount please contact hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Samui Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Heritage Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Heritage Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Heritage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.