We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Save Saved
You added ibis Samui Bophut to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 hotels in Bophut
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Ibis Bophut is a great hotel in a good beach front location, and 10-15 min walk to Fishermans village, I believe its classified 3 star, it has all the facilities you would want, 3 pools, bar near pool/beach, breakfast buffet, restaurant, the hotel is spotless, air conditioned rooms comfortable bed with balcony (although not to much storage space) serviced every day, wifi, very friendly helpful staff all at a excellent tariff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill M, Front Office Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear rcwhsf,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you've enjoyed our service. At ibis, we pride ourselves on providing clean, modern accommodation with friendly service at a competitive price. Please also don't hesitate to visit other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels at Bangkok, Hua Hin, Pattaya and Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Kirill Mokronosov
Front Office Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    307
    117
    25
    17
See reviews for
131
238
53
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 nights here in march. I liked to location as it was away from the hussle and bussle of chewang but still not far away from everything. Smallest rooms I've stayed anywhere in Thailand but I only sleep in the room so it didn't bother me. Hotel is situated right on the best beach in koh samui in my opinion. After buffet breakfast which was decent enough (just no bacon) a few steps past the 3 smaller but nice pools and you are on the beach. There are sun loungers and a few unmbrellas plus these cool bean bags for guests to use but you have to be Up very early to get a spot as it gets full by 9am and u wont get a spot. I was getting up at 530am and going down with my towels and 'claiming' my sun lounger and umbrella while watching the sun rise over the magnificent beach. The restaurant at the hotel was pretty good, recommend the taste option from dinner menu. No room service but. The pools water temp was always warm so don't expect to jump in an cool off lol! Hotel staff friendly and helpful. They have a bus/mini van that runs into chewang each night and Picks you up later in the night for only 50baht a person. A great service and we used it to do our shopping ....baby stroller included. Cheaper than taxi and easier than riding a scooter. Few nice places to eat across the road from hotel. The one to the right has very good food and cheap. Plenty of 24 hour convienience stores close by. The fishermans village is a walk away and good to check out, especially the market night which was on Friday I think. Also is a local temple market on each night too which had great local food stalls and clothing. Overall was a good hotel to stay if you don't plan on sitting in your room much. And why would you want to sit in a room with the fabulous beach and pool area only meters from your room !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear jimmyM681,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay on Samui and for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

It is so nice to hear that you liked our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful beach and local sites like the temples and the vibrant Walking Street in Fisherman’s village.

It was a pleasure serving you at ibis Samui Bophut. We would love to welcome you on your next holiday in Thailand or make sure to visit our other great Thailand properties in Bangkok, Pattaya, Phuket and Hua Hin.

Warm regards,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 10 days here and I think we'll be back:)
Room was small but modern, convenient and clean.
We like their breakfast) There are all food and beverages what you prefer. Also you can have a wonderful lunches and dinners there. Every Wednesday they have barbecue party and invite everybody.
The beach was very clean. We even didn't go to other beaches.
Also I like the hall-lobby-reception area very much. You can take a rest there, have a conversation with friends and family by wi-fi or just have a sit and lie and listen to a good calm music.
The hotel representatives speak Thai, English, Russian. They always answer all your questions and solve every little problems.
The pool and the pool bar are very good.
All necessary places are nearby: taxi service, motorbike rent, Family marts (small supermarkets), massage and spas, cafe, travel agencies with cheapest tours, The Fisherman's Village, souvenir shops, karting, BigC.
By the way, we had massage every day - it's the main element of being in Thailand.
As the advertisement- 'Happy Thai Massage' was the best. They have many small salons but their masters are the best! We liked mister Oi!)
Thai food is so delicious but you must be very careful of spicy dishes.
Fruits are so fresh and sweet, especially pineapples, mangos and watermelons. Exotic durian is rich of vitamins, the taste is like very sweet melon and warm creamy ice cream.
Samui people are very kind, open-hearted and always smiling. They mostly understand English, so you can easy explain what you need.
Thank you Ibis Samui Bo Phut, thank you Thailand and kind people for the best holidays in our lives!:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Alexandra L,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking some time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are all thrilled to receive your fantastic comment; it is hugely appreciated.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Thailand and the stay in our hotel so much.
I would like to take the opportunity to congratulate the staff for making your holiday a memorable one. Your comment will surely motivate us all as we strive to provide excellent service.

Thank you again for your amazing comment.
It was a pleasure having you at ibis Samui Bophut and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Thailand.

With best regards,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room was simple, nice and clean but the bathroom was small. What I like the most was the pool and beach area of the hotel. Courteous staff at the front desk and concierge. I received a warmth welcome with the garland upon my arrival at the hotel during Songkran holidays. This small thing touched my heart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Sawasdeekrab,

First of all we wish you a very happy new year!
Thank you for taking some time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate the positive comments especially from our loyal Accorhotels guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nongprue
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A good value all around and great time spent at hotel and surrounding areas. Hotel staff were very attentive, check-in & out was a breeze. Hotel manager attended personally to many requests and all the staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear siamjimi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at ibis Samui Bophut and for leaving a great 5 star review! We are all very happy to receive your kind words and glad that you enjoyed ibis Thailand’s great value with a warm welcome and comfortable rooms.

Thank you so much again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As this was our first time in Thailand, after spending 2 nights in Bangkok, we arrived in Koh Samui and it felt like paradise. We stayed at the Ibis Bophut and the staff were very helpful and friendly from the time we arrived until the time, we unfortunately had to leave. The room was spotless and cleaned to a very high standard every day, the bed was very comfortable, yes the balcony was a little small and there wasn't a lot of room to hang clothes, but as we were basically only there to shower and sleep, it certainly didn't bother us. I have to say the view from the balcony of the gardens was beautiful together with the amazing birdsong. The pools were fantastic and again spotless and we were always able to get a sunbed and umbrella, no matter what time of day it was. This hotel is in a fantastic location having direct access onto the beach, which again we found this to be a massive bonus. I have to mention the bar and restaurant staff who were so helpful and friendly from day one, in particular, Kim, Jom, Pop, Sammy and Nan, they made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and they always had a smile, and they certainly put a smile on our faces every day. I wouldn't hesitate in returning to Koh Samui and in particular the Ibis Bophut for a future holiday, which I hope will be sooner rather than later :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second floor, halfway down facing the gardens which we were very happy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear TRACY C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at ibis Samui Bophut. Your comments are hugely appreciated.

It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and in particular to Kim, Jom, Pop, Sammy and Nan who made your stay a memorable one. May I thank you personally on behalf of the whole hotel team.

It has been a pleasure serving you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

With warm regards,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Based on location pictures i booked this hotel but the front desk staff personnel lags behind in service and hospitality. First of all they are all very poor in understanding and speaking English where as majority of the travelers were from Europe U.K and U.S.A. It is of course Budget hotel but that shouldn't prevent the staff from being courteous and alert.
The cleanliness was worth mentioning. Four months prior to my stay during booking i had put up special request to allot me sea facing bedroom but they did not even take a note of my request. Just before a week before reaching to the hotel i had mailed to which no body bothered to reply. I tired calling up from India but the calls were never attended by Ibis SAMUI, but instead after long wait some Thai speaking staff use to attend calls who just did not speak English. Accor hotels please take note. This kind of communication lag gives wrong picture about your group and professionalism.
Upon check out i found i was wrongly charged for food bill which i had never used plus the tariff was also charged much more than contracted upon. When this was brought to the notice of the reception staff with out any regret or apology they corrected on the same invoice will ball point pen though i demanded a corrected computer generated copy i was told system not working so cannot give.Where as next moment to another inmates an invoice was generated.
In short the front desk personnel lags professionalism.
A business class hotel cannot be so irresponsible towards their customers.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody who believes in perfection and easy peaceful stay.
There are mush superior resorts and hotels in whole of Koh Samui. But Ibis is just an average hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you get a sea facing rooms on the2nd or 3rd floors there is no point going to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSamuiBophut, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear MAHESH_JOSHI99,

Thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor following your stay at ibis Samui.

Please receive my sincere apologies on the service received prior to your arrival as well as during your stay. I understand your fustration when it comes to language barrier especially when coming from India where English is very well spoken; this is unfortunatly not the case in Thailand, We do indeed welcome guests from around the world, speaking various languages and this is the reason why at ibis Samui we also have foreigner staffs speaking Russian, German, French, Spanish as well as English. USA beeing very far from Thailand we unfortunatly rarely welcome Americans patrons. Never the less please know that your constructive comments were passed on to our reservation office in Bangkok which were in contact with you.

In regards to your comment on billing, I am glad that the invoice was rectified accordingly.

The ibis hotel brand is indeed an economy brand which is developping very fast worldwide, mainly due to its popularity but also thanks to its guaranteed value for money experience. ibis is now entering the Indian market at verious key locations and it is my hope that you will give the brand another chance in order to regain your trust.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Berthelot
General Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#18 Family Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Samui Bophut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.