We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION BUT POOR SERVICE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Samui Bophut to your Saves list
ibis Samui Bophut
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION BUT POOR SERVICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Based on location pictures i booked this hotel but the front desk staff personnel lags behind in service and hospitality. First of all they are all very poor in understanding and speaking English where as majority of the travelers were from Europe U.K and U.S.A. It is of course Budget hotel but that shouldn't prevent the staff from being courteous and alert.
The cleanliness was worth mentioning. Four months prior to my stay during booking i had put up special request to allot me sea facing bedroom but they did not even take a note of my request. Just before a week before reaching to the hotel i had mailed to which no body bothered to reply. I tired calling up from India but the calls were never attended by Ibis SAMUI, but instead after long wait some Thai speaking staff use to attend calls who just did not speak English. Accor hotels please take note. This kind of communication lag gives wrong picture about your group and professionalism.
Upon check out i found i was wrongly charged for food bill which i had never used plus the tariff was also charged much more than contracted upon. When this was brought to the notice of the reception staff with out any regret or apology they corrected on the same invoice will ball point pen though i demanded a corrected computer generated copy i was told system not working so cannot give.Where as next moment to another inmates an invoice was generated.
In short the front desk personnel lags professionalism.
A business class hotel cannot be so irresponsible towards their customers.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody who believes in perfection and easy peaceful stay.
There are mush superior resorts and hotels in whole of Koh Samui. But Ibis is just an average hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you get a sea facing rooms on the2nd or 3rd floors there is no point going to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSamuiBophut, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear MAHESH_JOSHI99,

Thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor following your stay at ibis Samui.

Please receive my sincere apologies on the service received prior to your arrival as well as during your stay. I understand your fustration when it comes to language barrier especially when coming from India where English is very well spoken; this is unfortunatly not the case in Thailand, We do indeed welcome guests from around the world, speaking various languages and this is the reason why at ibis Samui we also have foreigner staffs speaking Russian, German, French, Spanish as well as English. USA beeing very far from Thailand we unfortunatly rarely welcome Americans patrons. Never the less please know that your constructive comments were passed on to our reservation office in Bangkok which were in contact with you.

In regards to your comment on billing, I am glad that the invoice was rectified accordingly.

The ibis hotel brand is indeed an economy brand which is developping very fast worldwide, mainly due to its popularity but also thanks to its guaranteed value for money experience. ibis is now entering the Indian market at verious key locations and it is my hope that you will give the brand another chance in order to regain your trust.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Berthelot
General Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    401
    146
    36
    22
See reviews for
174
313
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked in here for 2 nights before moving onto our villa and I was presently surprised by what good value this hotel was.
The room was small but for 2 nights it was fine, the balcony is very small.
The bedding was very comfortable and the place was very clean.
The pool area was lovely and you have access to the beach and it is not crowded at all, the beach is delightful.
The food in the restaurant is very, very good.

Room Tip: Garden view room is nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear tattooed_diver,

may I offer offer a personal thank you for sending a kind review to TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you liked our compact but comfortable and stylish rooms because your good-nights sleep is our priority.
I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the restaurant and pool bar team for continuously doing a great job! Comments like yours motivate us as we strive for for the highest standards every day.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel as your interim home and we wish you all the best for your future in Samui.

Sincerely,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I have travelled to Thailand on many occasions over the past fifteen years staying at all styles of hotel. This hotel for its price range we found to be very good although the rooms are small. It is well maintained and the bed was very comfortable. The staff are very helpful and nothing takes long if you have a request.

I would recommend this hotel in this price range and found it superior to others in the same class.

Room Tip: If you can take a see facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill M, Front Office Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear jungle1952,

Thank you for taking your time to compliment on our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday with us! At ibis we pride ourselves on delivering clean, reliable accommodation coupled with welcoming staff at a competitive price. Please also don't hesitate to visit other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels in Bangkok, Hua Hin, Pattaya and Phuket.

Warm Regards,

Kirill Mokronosov
Front Office Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of our stay and have found the hotel very good the pool areas are a very high standard and always plenty of sun beds .The bar staff are very friendly and the Thai tapas menu very good also happy hour cocktails 5-7 buy 1 get 1 free excellent!!

All round good value for money. Try it!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

ROOM
-Comfy bed
-Big room
-Full facilities

CLEANLINESS
-Total is clean

FURNISHING
-Medium size lobby with simply relax design
-interior and exterior is simply, look clean and comfy

FACILITIES
-Nice pool besides the beach
-Not crewed beach, easy access to, clean and safe beach
-Massages Services
-etc

POPULARITY
- Not crewed, great quiet place

LOCATION
- Located in quiet location and not far from the city centre

PRICE
- I got a sale promoted rate

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ibis Hotel has it all covered. There is nothing they have not thought about. They receive their guests well and check-in is a smooth process. The rooms are compact, but sufficient for a short stay. It is clean and comfortable. The restaurants on site are good. The beach front has sufficient lounge chairs, but unfortunately the water is murky in the designated swimming area. The pools are small. It is close to the airport and on a rather busy strip in Koh Samui, so it is ideal for the young looking for some adventure. I would not recommend it for a vacation intended for calm, quiet relaxation. Once a week, there is a night market held at Fisherman's Village which is a cauldron of street food and trinkets, sprinkled with some lovely live exhibitions e.g. Thai dancing. It is within walking distance from the hotel. Do not, however, attempt to walk from the pier where Seatran/Lampraya drops you off - it's a way to the hotel. There is a closer pier, but ferry transfers do not stop here. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Natasha J,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay at ibis Samui Bophut. We are thrilled by your positive feedback as we are most concerned with our guests' satisfaction. It makes us very happy to read that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and contemporary atmosphere. Regarding our facilities, I hope that you found our 2 adult and 1 children's pools delightful.
It is great that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and the trendy, bustling nightlife of Bophut.
Again thank you very much for staying with us at the ibis Samui Bophut. We would love to see you again soon or welcome you in one of our other great Thailand properties in Bangkok, Phuket, Pattaya and Hua Hin.

With warm regards,

Robert Grundmann
Guest Relations Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was great value for money. We stayed here for a night after arriving in Koh Samui before heading to a villa elsewhere on the island. As a stopover hotel for arriving or departing Koh Samui, I would recommend this hotel. For less adventurous travellers looking for a no hassles place to stay then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill M, Front Office Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear nikwarner,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to recommend our hotel . At ibis we aim to provide simple, contemporary accommodation at the competitive price. I would like to invite you to also experience other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels in Bangkok, Hua Hun, Pattaya and Phuket.

Warm Regards,

Kirill Mokronosov
Front Office Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#37 Family Hotel in Bophut
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Samui Bophut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.