We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dining on the Rocks

Dining on the Rocks
9/10 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 245 678
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
4.0 of 5 stars 313 Reviews
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I took my very recent fiancé here and it was going to be a potential place to propose. The food was absolutely incredible and the view I would have paid twice the amount for. If we dined like this in London it would have cost £500.00 at least.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear gladstn27

glad to hear that you guys can make it, to spend your time writing a review about us here
it is nice to know that your experience here was memorable, and
hope everything was right regarding your proposal
hope we can see each other again in the future
and when you back to koh samui again, please do not hesitate to keep in touch with me
so i can help out in any further special needs you want
maybe you want to celebrate your wedding day in here as well
take care and have a safe trip anywhere
thanks

Allan Gusten Octesa
Executive Sous Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    62
    43
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The most romantic dinner ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We did not stay at the property so getting there is a bit of a hike by taxi... but it is definitely worth it. We were the ONLY couple at the restaurant that night so it was a private dinning at this spectacular location under the moon and star, while listening to the waves. Food was excellent, wine selection was great, staff is very helpful and well trained. Agree that the menu maybe a bit too over-played, almost as if the chef is trying too hard.
Overall, atmosphere and location hands down the best in Koh Samui, probably all the outer islands.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear tropicalgardens

i'm glad to hear that you were having such a great experience while dining at the rocks
and hope we can see each other again sometime in the future
about the complimentary for all the staff, i will inform to all host member
that they did a great job
hopefully this will be the unforgettable moment for you

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A bit too much fuss on your plate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location is magnificient but you don't really see a lot of it when it's dark which it mostly is during dinner. However you sit outside between candle light with only 4 tables per terrace.

The chef is very creative but makes a lot of fuss on your plate - too many textures and tastes makes it go over the top. You don't know where to start therefore you eat everthing in pieces instead of having the pleasure of the mix of taste and texture. The chef visited the table after dinner but did not seem to understand when I mentioned there were too many things going on on the plate.
Therefore I did not rate the cuisine very high. The prices were pretty high though....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
dear Mariken v

Thank you so much for the review and suggestions that you give for us,
about the food itself actually it is the concept of the restaurant
instead of having some classical dishes which you can find anywhere
around the Koh Samui, we offered something mush more different from others
since we have a beautiful stunning view in our restaurant and we can say one of the best in Koh samui
we tried to give all of our guest "a different" another experience while dine in dining on the rocks
i know it's a bit challenging to have this kind of cuisine
some guest might appreciate and some don't,
but at the end it is just become the other variety of food gastronomy in Koh Samui
we are in progress of making Koh Samui as a Mecca of Food in South East Asian
with a lot of different choices and chefs
hopefully we can see each other again in the future
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Most Unique Meal Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Upon arriving at the Six Senses Resort, I was captivated by the charm of the property.

The resort felt very luxurious, but also retained its true island feel and natural habitat. With grass roof villas nestled back in the hills of the property, the whole nature of the resort felt uninterrupted. Even with 66 guest villas spread throughout the resort, you still felt a sense of utter seclusion.

Once we arrived at Dining on the Rocks, my jaw literally dropped. This place was out of this world. The restaurant had ten terraced decks of weathered teak, bamboo & Thai fishing racks, and looked like an enchanting tree house. Not only was the architecture of the restaurant stunning, but it boasts a 270 degree panoramic view of the Golf of Thailand.

While you are taking in the views, order the restaurant’s signature cocktail – A revitalizing martini of lemongrass, bitters, lychee juice, and herbs. This was RIDICULOUS. It quite possibly was one of the most delicious drinks I have ever guzzled down.

Allan, the chef, has a true passion in pushing boundaries with his creations and putting ingenious twists on culinary classics. He spends months testing various ratios of ingredients and flavor blends to find the perfect dish. For Allan, cooking is an art… and a science.

Here were some of the incredibly innovative and imaginative dishes that we tried over the course of the meal:

- 1 Second scallop blast, lemon oil, basil, and Meunière
- Bubblegum - So unique and so good!
- Chicken quesadilla liquid tortilla, orange marmalade, tapenade, bell pepper, and tomato
- Lamb chermoulah, corn porridge, goat cheese, sauerkraut, hummus and anise salsa
- Chocolata dessert

My mind was blown.

Towards the end of the night, Allan explained to us that he does not consider cooking as work. For him, the kitchen is his playground… And it truly showed in the presentation and taste of all his dishes.

Dining on the Rocks was the most unique dining experience we have ever been apart of. The molecular and deconstructed twists to the dishes took the average dish from ordinary to extraordinary

What Allan tries to create for his diners is an experience. And between the breathtaking beachfront / tree house ambiance of Dining on the Rocks and his remarkably unique dishes, that is exactly what our evening was. An experience on Koh Samui that we will always cherish in our travel memories.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear LandingStanding

i'm glad that you guys were having a great experience in dining on the rocks
all the comments are complimentary for all the host
i will inform to all of them about this good news
hopefully this will be a memorable experience for you
and thanks for the great and very details reviews about our restaurant,
hope we can see each other again in the future
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Location great, food too esoteric and prententious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location and ambiance of this restaurant are fantastic but we were really disappointed with the menu. This sounds odd, and at odds, compared to other reviewers but we found the food menu pretentious, too esoteric, and frankly a case of the chef indulging himself and his fantasies at the expense of the customer. When you read a menu and can't even work out what the underlying food group is of the dish in question - you are in trouble. When the waiter tells you that when the menu says Gnochi, it really means rolled zucchini - you are in trouble. My problem is not with the quality of the food - it was good - but with the difficulty to select anything remotely recognisable.

Before you think my wife and I are "Meat & two Veg" type of people, we have lived in six countries over the last 20 years and eaten in thousands of restaurants over dozens of countries and we like fine dining with the best of them. But we also expect menus to have a modicum of sense to them. This menu fails that test. Definitely not for teenagers and younger children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear CaraHill

Thanks for the review and comment about our restaurant
i'm really glad to hear some more suggestions from you for our improvement.
about the menu and the concept itself
we are trying to be "a different" experience in gastronomy of Koh Samui
with a lot of choices in here, it is a bit challenging
and specially with our concepts its not really easy to blend with all of our customer needs
again, what we offer in here is an experience
a different one than any other restaurant in Koh Samui
whether from the Gastronomy or the ambience itself
hopefully we can see each other again in the future

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining on the Rocks also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Dining on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dining on the Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.