We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Kilee

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bophut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Kilee
11/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 hotels in Bophut
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small luxury resort of 6 family rooms for groups up to 18. The facilities are exquisite - clean and well-appointed, rooms are spacious and luxuriously comfortable and the food is first class, all brought together by excellent staff, managed by the ever-present and highly-effcient manager, Rose. The staff are adaptable to daily arrangements of the group and our week at Baan Kilee is hard to beat. World-class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a large group of 15 adults and 7 or so!!! children. the villia is lovely peaceful, spacious, well appointed not cramped even with our numbers. The unfortunate part was, the head house keeper. i will leave her unnamed. She tainted my experience. i work in a 6 star luxury hospitality resort and have so for the last 17 years of my career. Service is everything regardless of the beauty of your property. I found this person to be unacommidating and actually dificult, to the point where i was unciomfortable to be around her and let me tell you her me aswell. BUT i should not and did not let this spoil my stay. The property is beauitful and perfect for a large group esp ones that involves families of differing ages of children. The food was AMAZING so was the dining room and the front lawn dining area.I take my hat of to the chef. i would go back with a blibnk of an eyelid BUT i would definately ask for another headhouse keep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were a group of 12 adults, 8 children and stayed at Baan Kilee (6 bedrooms) for 6 days for a birthday gathering. The configuration of the villa layout is excellent in that individual bedrooms are well spread out, therefore private, two of which are bunks (above bathroom) and big enough to sleep adults (if push comes to shove!). On each side of Baan Kilee, are two additional villa houses, Baan Ora Chorn (4 bedrooms) and Baan Puri (8 bedrooms) which share a common grass area on the beach front with Baan Kilee.This means that if you are a larger group as ours became for our last 3 days, the accommodation can be easily expanded, while meals can be centralized at Baan Kilee.

One of the advance considerations in booking Baan Kilee was wheelchair access as one of my friends is wheelchair bound. Rose the house manager had pre-arranged a ramp to be built which was installed from the dinning room steps down to the main villa area which gave pretty much full villa access, apart from the front lawn due to some steep steps. Suite 2 facing the sea front was the most accessible; my friend was able to get in and out of the swimming pool by himself such was the stepped configuration of the pool. The pool also has a wonderful configuration for both kids and adults, since a kid’s pool is located near the kitchen which means parents can keep a close eye as for our visit the kitchen area tended to be our hub.

A continental breakfast is included within the daily villa charge, which is buffet style. Bacon, eggs are charged extra and therefore are not supplied unless ordered which seemed somewhat trivial.

The in-house Thai chef, K Nat was excellent and cooked food that we selected from a main menu each evening for next day’s lunch and dinner. Nat arranged kids western food each day on a separate table; it’s not often to hear kids not complaining about food, or not eating when they travel but such was the selection which Nat made (for kids) that this was indeed the case.

Apart from the excellent food and service, wine was served in a very timely fashion, whether we seated 12 people or 25 on our last night, glasses were rapidly filled without prompting.

The great thing about the set up of this villa is the flexible policy of management, there are are no rules or restrictions on bring your own drinks or snack foods. There is a large fridge within the kitchen area for guests and an esky outside which is well stocked with ice as required.

If you are thinking to leave Baan Villa in search of better food or ambiance outside, don’t do it as you will be disappointed !^!

The house manager Rose and her team are excellent, they run the operation in a seamless manner; nothing is too much trouble with various suggestions made as to how to make things better along the way.

Wifi access is fast but not great towards the back half of the villa and bedrooms. The only minor fault was that there was only 3 bicycles available while one was in a poor condition.

My group left Baan Kilee seriously impressed. Baan Kilee is one of those places that when you leave, you immediately think about coming back.

Room Tip: The master suite is seriously impressive, suite 2 is closest to the pool and has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My Husband and I recently got married at Baan Kilee and stayed here for a few nights around the wedding. Baan Kilee is really such a wonderful place. The layout is similar to a small resort with small villas making up the layout. Everything has been thought of here, and the team at Luxury Villas and Homes have done a great job, right down to the little things like aloe-vera lotions and candals by the bath.
The rooms are all of an extremely high standard, and the beds in each of the rooms our family and friends stayed in were extremely comfortable. The furnishings are modern and comfortable and really make it feel like you are in a 5 star hotel.
The pool and beach area are spectacular and maintained to a very high level - we spent many hours lazing in the pool with a cocktail in hand! There is everything you need if you are a family with kids, there a childrens pool and excellent playground!
Rose and the staff at the villa are really amazing - they leave you wanting for nothing, everything is always clean and tidy, and thier service is not intrusive in the least so the villa is still absolutley private. The Chefs at the villa are also amazing - I can really say it was the best food we had in koh samui during our 2 week stay, and price wise very very good value for money. Rose is a true asset - she organised the BBQ the day after our wedding which was fantatsic!
Our family who stayed with us cannot stop raving about how wonderful this home was, and we really look forward to being able to come back and re-live all the happy memories we have of our time here!
The wedding which was organised by the Signature Weddings Team was also spectacular - all that we had dreamed of - they did an amazing job (i will put a seperate review up for that).
Thank you to the whole team at Luxury Villas and Homes and Baan Killee - we have amazing memories we will treasure for a lifetime!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Second trip to Baan Kilee and it was as idyllic as we remembered. Rose and her staff ensured that we wanted for nothing. Outstanding service, food, facilities and location made for a perfect 2weeks for all 8 adults and 9 children. The children were treated like family and loved every minute. Heaven can be found at Baan Kilee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our daughter got married here recently, and we stayed here for several days. It is truly a magical place!! Rose and her staff go out of their way to make sure everything you need is provided for.
As many others have commented this is truly a very special place, not a hotel really. It is a private residence of the highest calibre. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful private place to stay.
It is not near the built up Areas, so for some people a rented car may be a consideration.

Room Tip: All rooms here are of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from a ridiculously good 8 nights at Baan Kilee in Koh Samui. I will admit to being somewhat selfish in that I only write this review because I have already booked again for next year. In fact, I booked it again after 2 days there. That's how good the setup is.

We were 4 families, 4 babies, 3 toddlers, split across 5 rooms with the sixth as a playroom (adjacent to the playground..... yup. This place has it's own playground.)

Where to begin? It's difficult but in no particular order:

The Villa itself: it's off the charts. MASSIVE. incredibly well laid out. Has everything. Big TV room with projector... huge pool, big garden, loads of beach front... I could go on forever. You get a SPECTACULAR sunset view every evening, G&T's in the comfy cabana type thing at the front... just magic.

Family friendly: it would be hard to find anywhere better for kids. the pool is really kids friendly, has a ledge about a foot deep all around the pool which is great plus a kids pool within the main pool, plus a separate kids pool at the back of the villa near the playground just in case that doesn't cover you. The playground we didn't use much as the kids just loved the pool so much. Big comfy TV room to put on cartoons if you get an afternoon thunderstorm (it's the tropics!).

The Staff: when people talk about the legendary hospitality of Thai people, Rose and her team at Baan Kilee are the people they are talking about. SO helpful, great with the kids. They really made our stay.

The Food: in a word, superb. Dinner laid out on a table on the lawn every night... the kind of thing you would pay through the ROOF for at a hotel, at Baan Kilee it's just business as usual. One night we went 5 minutes down the road to Nikki Beach for dinner.... just to try something else.... was a pointless excursion... we had way better setup and much better food back at the villa, priced at market food cost + 15% only! The villa also has a very reasonable selection of wine to choose from.... Thai wine tax is extortionate but you can get wine at the villa for US$20... the cheapest at Nikki beach was $125!!!!

The extras: in-villa massages (the girls did these every day... like US$20 for a 60 minute massage), can arrange for a personal trainer (morning yoga on the lawn is a great way to start the day), free sea kayaks...

Cons? Hard to think of any really.... the ocean in front of the villa is pretty shallow so it's not great for sea swimming, but the pool is so well done that even if it was a good swimming beach I wouldn't have bothered anyway. The wifi is a little weak at the back of the villa.... but this is just serious nitpicking. Like I said, we are already booked to come back next year. For families it really is THE best thing out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Kilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kilee

Also Known As:
Baan Kilee Ko Samui/Bophut
Address: 11/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bophut
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Kilee is situated on Samui’s unspoilt west coast, and boasts 30 metres of prime beach frontage looking out towards the famous Five Islands with beautiful sunsets viewed straight from the property’s many terraces. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Kilee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Baan Kilee to your Saves list