We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly classy restaurant in quiet Bang Rak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean 11

Ocean 11
23 Moo 4, Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
+66 77 245 134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 245 Reviews
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A surprisingly classy restaurant in quiet Bang Rak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We chose to eat at Ocean 11 based on a review in the Samui Dining Guide. It was easy enough to find and was very quiet when we arrived, but the location and the atmosphere were both perfect. Right on the beach, about 5m from the waves, the romance of this spot was perfect for our honeymoon.

We started with cocktails, which were lovely, then ordered grilled goats cheese, and soft shell crab for entrees. Both of which were pretty good, and rather large.
For mains we had the rack of lamb and the scallops. According to the menu, the lamb is possibly the best in Koh Samui, and I won't dispute this, as I thought it was delicious and perfectly cooked.
The scallops were melt-in-your-mouth good, with a delicious sauce, and each was served on a thick potato pancake.

We would've been happy with just the great food, but the service topped off the night. The drinks and meals were all quick, but our waiter, Maw, was the highlight. He was very friendly, and added a real touch of class to the restaurant, with his mix of humour and professionalism.
We would highly recommend this place, particularly for a special occasion. Try to get a table by the window, next to the water.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    52
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
“Not the movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Set right on the beach, this was originally the family home of the inlaws, and converted to a restaurant by the French owner, who welcomed us personally on our arrival.

The food here is very good. I ordered the Rack of Lamb (BT 980), and my friend the Mango Prawns (BT410). The girls ordered Vegetable risotto (BT560) and Tagliatelle Bottarga (BT550).
With drinks the bill came to BT4780, so you can see that this is definitely not a budget diner.

We were celebrating our birthdays, and brought along some Thai paper lamp balloons to launch from the beach after dinner. It was a windy night and difficult to get the balloons alight, but the help from the staff was great, and beyond the call of duty. They also surprised us with a complimentary desert (see my photos) and candles. Off road parking is an added benefit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fresh delicious fusion style food on the beach. Dinner with the view on sunset. Decent wine choice. Very friendly personnel.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Romantic evening in Bophut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent choice if you are looking for good food somewhere different from the usual restaurants in the Fishermen Village. Romantic setting with only few tables and view on the sea. Good service, contrary to other comments we have seen the food was served fast and the Staff was very nice and attentive. The rack of lamb was the highlight of the dinner (definitely higher quality compared to the tiger prawns we also ordered as main course). If you are coming by scooter, look for the sign of the restaurant. Only point for improvement was the temperature of the red wine which was served iced cold. Overall we had a great evening and we have recommended the restaurant to other friends.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best lamb crown on Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Was our N°3 on the island in its original tiny form. Has been extended to cater for more educated palates since, and more recently got a bit of a (misplaced?) 'nose-up attitude'... Think you're in St Tropez and enjoy the, great, food. The place is a (well) hidden gem in busy Bangrak. Just pretend you're allergic to balsamic vinegar, as the chef, richly, uses it, to the point of ruining the fine taste of his best dishes. Top, but then, just not.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 11 also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 
Chaweng, Bophut
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Ocean 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean 11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.