We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice room but poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaweng Tara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaweng Tara Resort to your Saves list
Chaweng Tara Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6//36 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi | Tambon Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice room but poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The owner is friendly and pretty helpful. He upgraded room for me to superior room on the second floor. The room is big and the bed is comfortable. However, the bathroom is not so clean (Bath tub, spray hose) There're fridge and cable TV in room. There's no restaurant in the hotel. If you want to eat at some places nearby, you need to walk uphill about 5 minutes to the reasonable price restaurants and to the convenient store ,which is pretty dangerous because there's no footpath. You have to share a way with vehicles. At night it's quite dark also. I recommend you to walk to the right from in front of Chaweng Tara hotel. There's good restaurant in Impiana hotel nearby where you can also enter the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed 13 nights at this hotel. Perfect cost effectiveness - 1000,- Baht (about 25,-€)- for me. I don't need a pool, only a quiet, well airconditioned and clean room with a little safe and a reliable chambermaid. There was always (24 hours) somebody on duty at the reception opposite the entrance. Therefore I felt very safe here too. . Extra services like laundry and some breakfasts and beers were charged reasonably. My room number was 405. As other reviews stated before: Very friendly and helpful staff. A family run hotel. I felt always welcome and at home here. It is of course a professional friendliness, but nevertheless a very pleasant experience. I wish we had more of this attitude towards customers in Germany.
The hotel's internet access downstairs was unfortunately out of order for the time being there, but WLAN/WiFI for my iPhone worked perfectly.

I would book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We are here on our honeymoon and didn't have the budget for a fancy resort but we didn't want to chance it in a guest house. Chewing Tara was a great compromise...it's a great location, great room and great service without all the bells and whistles we didn't really need for this leg of our trip. The hotel is located directly across the street from a quiet beach lined by a few resorts and several quaint beach restaurants and bars. The hustle and bustle of Chaweng proper is only a short 5-10 minute cab/scooter ride away and both of these are easy to come by. We are grateful for the fre wifi and the helpful staff who arranged for laundry service for us and recommended/booked two day trips for us to enjoy while we're here. Perfect for travelers on a budget...but not on a shoestring.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here for just one night on our way to Koh Tao. The hotel was situated just across the road from the beach at Chaweng Noi. The rooms were modern, simple, large and clean. It's easy to hop on the back of one of the buses that come by on a regular basis into Chaweng town on the night time. Staff are friendly and provide towels for the beach. They have a little shop in reception where you can buy snacks, cans of pop and beer. If you want to be near a nice quiet beach but still within a short distance to the nightlife of Chaweng then this hotel is ideal. You can’t beat the room rates, it was very cheap for the location and ideal for our short 1 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

What this family run hotel might not have when it comes to location and amenities, it has so richly in service, friendliness and authenticity. This family - mama Tara and papa Tara as I call them, will do everything for you. They are the nicest people I have met in Thailand. And I've met many nice people in Thailand. Believe me, you will not regret staying at this hotel. Just make sure to ask for the right room. They have rooms to the busy road and rooms to the quiet tropical garden.They have plain rooms with all the basic things you need: big fridge, tub, shower, TV etc. And they have luxury rooms. Your choice. No, the hotel is not on the beach, but it only takes a few minutes to get there. And no, it has no pool, but all the hotels on Chaweng Noi beach have pools and they will let you swim in them as long as you buy a few drinks. Chaweng Noi is not a busy beach. It's small, quiet and beautiful, the water is clear, there's a sala and a few bars and restaurants. All you need for a peaceful, relaxing time. Oh, and by the way - go up to the Jungle Club to enjoy a meal, a swim and the stunning view. It's right behind Tara. Order the jeep to come and pick you up - no ordinary car will take you there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here as a break between small island hopping so the location was not a problem for us. However if you want to be in the heart of the action bear in mind you will need a scooter. The hotel rents them for 250baht a day.

The hotel itself was very clean and nicely furnished. The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and answered all our questions!

We would recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay on the island in comfort and dip in and out if the city centre

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stayed here from the 3rd of March till the 11th of March (so technically I'm still here before moving on) and it really is a great place to stay. It's a little bit out of chaweng, so if you do want to be in the centre, maybe it isn't for you. But to be honest it's not an entirely bad thing to be away from the hustle and bustle of Chawengs main strip.
The staff are always welcoming and upon my arrival they went out of their way to get me a drink, which was nice considering i'd been travelling for 24 hours!
The rooms are cleaned daily and I always have new sheets on my bed. They also leave 2 bottles of water in my fridge everyday!
If you're a smoker, don't worry, they do provide smoking areas on the balconies!
The only thing I can't comment on is the food, because I haven't had any here. There are loads of places to eat though in either direction and there is a convenience store just a 10 minute walk away.

The only downside, and to be honest, it's a small price to pay, is that it is on the main ring road so the traffic outside is pretty constant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaweng Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Tara Resort

Address: 6//36 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi | Tambon Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chaweng Tara Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Chaweng Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Tara Hotel Bophut
Chaweng Tara Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaweng Tara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.