We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but be prepared for challenging weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pico da Urze

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pico da Urze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pico da Urze
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Sitio do Ovil - Paul da Serra, Calheta, Madeira 9370 028, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Calheta B&B and Inns
Idrija, Slovenija
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but be prepared for challenging weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is charming and with a certain flair, and staff most friendly and professional.
Though, the image of Madeira as a subtropical island becomes another dimension on the altitude of 1500 meters. We were prepared for low temperatures in beginning of May. But rain and fog at 3 - 9 degrees Celsius on four consecutive days forced us to go down - closer to the coast.
Respect the weather forecast if you plan to go there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A fantastic place to relax and unwind with great places to walk all around. hotel is owned by an adventure company so you can nip out with them by jeep for a more fun experience. on site is the jungle rain restaurante so you can enjoy a cheeky steak on the stone or some sizzling garlic prawns. i have never slept better in my life! / Um sitio fantastico para relaxar e andar a pé. Tem tudo la para comer e dormir bem e a vista é magnifico. Para quem vive no Funchal ..o sitio ideal para um fim de semana sem stress!

Room Tip: we had a first floor room with balcony looking out over a superb view. it was great./ escolhemos um...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Set at about 5000 feet above sea level, you will notice the temperature is dramatically lower than at the coast. The Paul da Serra is a National Park and is a beautiful area of the island with plenty of walks and fantastic drives.
Due to the altitude the weather can change very quickly, so do be aware in the winter months that it is not only cold, but often shadowed in cloud, therefore visibility can be poor.
The hotel complex is quite large and well kept, comprising two restaurants with a bar area, although only one is open in the winter. The menu is extensive and the jungle theme will make you smile! Staff are very friendly and the food was excellent.
Our room at the front of the hotel had a moorland view, and although it was cold (there is cental heating but is not that efficient), luckily we managed to find an oil powered radiator which did the trick!
Room had a balcony and in the warmer weather this would be a pleasant place to relax.
At £27 per night this was great value. Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection.
We will return in warmer weather to do more walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Summary:

This is an an unusual spot, with a strange, desolate beauty. For walking, the nearby Paul da Serra nature reserve and the Rabacal Valley with the waterfall is worth the trip.

Pros: Unusual spot; nice quiet hotel, away from it all; great spot for walking; On-site restaurant and bar/grill.
Cons: Small rooms.

We were more or less accidental visitors. We'd booked this hotel thinking it was in the village of Arco da Calheta. We arrived in the village and were naively seeking out our hotel, only to learn that it was another 10km, straight up yet another windy mountain road, right in the middle of the island!

We had to hire a taxi to take us there. The people in the cafe asked why on earth we'd go stay in such a desolate location as the only thing we were likely to see there were ghosts.

Arriving there the place was completely enshrouded in mist. The atmosphere was nothing like the rest of Madeira.

When we arrived we started to wonder what on earth we would do up there for two days as there seemed to be absolutely nothing else around.

As some others have pointed out, it can get quite cool here in the winter. Our room was rather chilly and we had to ask for an extra blankets, but thankfully the staff was able to accommodate our request. If you bring your own hot water bottle you might not regret it.

The room included breakfast which was a basic buffet style. Nothing extravagant, but not bad either. They will do eggs in whatever style you like.

The dining room is done is a jungle theme, which makes the whole place seem even more surreal. Apparently it is popular with families who visit from other parts of the island.

In the evening we discovered the Pastor da Paul bar & grill, a part of the hotel that was a nice place to relax.

I wanted to try 'açorda' soup which is a local specialty made from day-old bread, garlic and some sticks of thyme. Suffice it to say that is was not one of the better things I tasted in Madeira.

The next day we learned that the Rabacal park was only about a twenty minute walk away. We had a fantastic all day walk, down into a sort of gorge with a very nice waterfall. Be sure to pack a lunch for this walk. [note: buy food before you get to the hotel as the only food on-site is in the restaurant.]

If you don't have a car, you'll have to get a taxi to Arco da Calheta or Calheta as there are no buses I know of that come up here.

The hotel does not have a pool, unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When I arrived there, visibility was about 20 meters, very surrealistic experience. Could not see anything in two days but the fireplace and great restaurant compensated for everything. They know everything about nearby places, very helpful staff. Brilliant place to stay if you're a nature lover. 25 fuentes walk is just a couple of minutes away from the hotel - loved it a lot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

In such a picturesque place, we had high expectations. The room was clean and confortable, the reception staff was friendly and the sights where marvelous! On the other hand, the restaurant staff where a bit arrogant during breakfast, which was nonetheless accompanied by plenty of flies. Also the tv's remote control wasn't working.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Most people will realise that this hotel is quite isolated so if you're not planning to eat on site suggest trying elsewhere. As a result would suggest that 3-4 days is maximum and would allow most levada walks in the vicinity to be tackled. Staff friendly, room as expected of a 4 star place and restaurant pretty good (but jungle themed animated animals might not appeal to all !).
Lack of internet in rooms was about the only general negative although during our stay the "internet cafe" had no internet at all ! (Has worked in the past but was down for our 3 day stay).

Room Tip: Room 7 has "public" computer room opposite so can get a bit noisy if guests are "Skyp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pico da Urze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pico da Urze

Address: Sitio do Ovil - Paul da Serra, Calheta, Madeira 9370 028, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pico da Urze 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the scenic surroundings of the Madeira mountains, this 4-star hotel offers rooms with private balconies. It has a jungle-themed restaurant with simulated fog and special sound effects. Hotel Pico Da Urze provides an easy access to many picturesque locations including Porto Moniz, less than 25 km away. Guests can also enjoy hiking in one of the largest laurel forests in the world. Decorated in warm and uplifting colours, all rooms at Hotel Pico Da Urze - Paul Da Serra come with work desks and satellite TV. Traditional Madeiran and Portuguese cuisine is served at the Jungle Rain restaurant, which specialises in meat dishes. Guests can enjoy a variety of drinks at the hotel's pub. Pico Da Urze Hotel is conveniently located just 45 minutes' drive from Funchal and 1 hour's drive from Madeira Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pico da Urze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pico Da Urze Calheta, Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pico da Urze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.