We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views and good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta do Furao Restaurant

Quinta do Furao Restaurant
Achada do Gramacho, Santana, Madeira 9230-082, Portugal
351-291-570100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Santana
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Views and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good food and good service the views here are also amazing. Nice location, great place to stay as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nesoya, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service and great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was so good we didn't bother to look around for other options! They mix tradition and gourmet cooking in a superb way. And the friendlyness and genuinity is overwelming.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant views food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Dont know how anyone can say dreadful food - we were on a day trip with Windsor Travel covering the east of the island and the driver suggested we stop here for lunch - we ordered the Maderian Meat Kebabs on a skewer (laurel) and it did not disappoint - the food was reasonably priced - we had a seat out on the balcony and the view was amazing. Staff were very attentive and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

First class Madeiran and international cuisine with spectacular views. Very friendly service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great view & gardens, shame about the dreadful food. May 13th lunch.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We lunched here with Nature Meetings. Lunch included, so was probably designed on a tight budget, but that is no excuse for the provision of the most dreadful food.

The green vegetable (couldn't be sure) soup was utterly tasteless. No one could possibly have tasted this soup before sending it out to the diners. It had, literally, no flavour. Tasted like thick hot water. I made it palatable enough to eat by adding copious amounts of pepper.

Both of us chose the fish dish. This was a piece of white fish in soggy uneatable batter. I can eat most things but the batter was simply disgusting, Wendy couldn't even eat the fish. The fish itself was bland and, even worse, was cold. My Portuguese was not up to complaining. There is no excuse whatsoever for food coming out of a professional kitchen cold.

The vegetables were sliced carrots and peas of the type you might expect in a cheap cafe in a British seaside resort. No inspiration at all. Finally there was the rice, also only lukewarm and tasteless. Awful.

The dessert was the only high point and it is difficult to spoil a cold mousse.

This hotel appears to have found a niche based around its beautiful views. It had signed a contract with the tour bus devil and turns out crap in volume.

What a stunning location, absolutely ruined by the food. Only the view prevents a one star review.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinta do Furao Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Quinta do Furao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta do Furao Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.