We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kookas Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Hutchinson Street | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Relax in style
Ranked #1 of 4 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Büren
1 review
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stay there with my friends whenever i`m in Cairns.
Lovely Place, wonderful views and in ten minutes, by car, you will be in the middle of Cairns.
The Rooms are Quiet and very Clean. My Favorite Rooms are in the separate Building on the first Floor. The Kookas is my Startbase when i heading north for some Trips to the Cape York an the Kookas is also my relaxingpoint when i`m back from the Tip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Roland V.
Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Kookas B&B. We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Cairns and Cape York .
Kind regards
Marlies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
90
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Kookas B&B when we visited Cairns, Australia and the Great Barrier Reef and it was a great place to stay. The owner, Marlies, and her "Crew" could not do enough for us. The accommodations were private with a porch, access to their in-ground swimming pool and a great view of the ocean. Marlies picked us up at the airport and made all of the arrangements to visit the Great Barrier Reef as well as renting a car to visit Port Douglas, the Rain Forrest and Cape Tribulation. In both cases we were picked up at our B&B and brought back when we were finished. We ate dinner one evening at Marlies, and although not on the standard menu, I asked if she could make me a special Swiss dinner. The dinner was outstanding and a special treat for me. My wife and I would recommend Kookas B&B very highly to anyone visiting Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef. .

Room Tip: All rooms had a view and were private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Customers from North Carolina,
Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had a lovely stay at our B&B and loved my Swiss cooking. We truly enjoyed your company and are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards
Marlies & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Kookas is a quiet oasis on a lovely green hillside above Cairns, with a great view, trees, birds, flowers all around us. Marlies, our marvelous host, was always kind & attentive to our needs and helped us a lot with trips, a car, and good ideas. Her amazing breakfasts were the best way to start our days: a variety of tropical fruits, homemade bread, cheeses, even Muesli and yogurt! The lovingly decorated and generously fitted rooms were very clean - inclusive: a fridge, a water cooker, adapter, etc.! Our family of 3 was really spoiled here for 14 days at one of the best B&Bs we ever stayed at! Peter, Barbara & Anya

Room Tip: Couple: king size room with private bathroom in separate building; older child in corner room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Barbara, Peter and Anya
Thank you for your excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you spent a wonderful time at Kookas B&B. I thoroughly enjoyed the time with you and I'am look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards
Marlies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely spot away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We enjoyed every morning a delicious breakfast with magnificent views over the surroundings. Our room was comfy, super clean and very spacious, the Lindt chocolate bonbons in the fridge a sweet welcoming attention. Marlies and Bruno did everything to offer us a pleasant and relaxing stay. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Nela,
Thank you for your excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at Kookas B&B. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards
Marlies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Kookas B&B for a total of 3 nights . The accomodations were very good. The owner Marlies was very cordial and did everything possible to make our stay perfect. The breakfasts were superb, the travel arrangements on time, the pool was a wonderful reprieve from a day of outdoor activities. If you don't have a car rental, taxis are easily gotten to take you where ever you need to go in Cairns. The B&B is at best 15 minutes from the airport but you would never know it. ( no aircraft noise). Beautiful views from the veranda, pool or breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Drik,
Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Kookas B&B.. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards
Marlies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We arrived at this lovely house, which is in a great location, to a less than warm welcome by the owner Marlies. Although the house could not be faulted, we felt that we were intruding. We never worked out what it was, but we thought it may have been because we were English rather German. On the day we were leaving, we chose to walk round the Botanical Gardens rather that encroach on Marlies' hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Marchrisilyn,
thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am really sorry to read that you felt you were intruding on my privacy.
If I could turn back the time and would be able to accommodate you for another night,
I would do my best to make it a happier experience.
Marlies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

As a solo traveller I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from a single to a double room at no extra cost, simply because it was available. The B&B is in a beautiful spot away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I had the lovely breakfast overlooking a view of lots of trees and mountains each morning. Marlies happily offered breakfast at the extremely early time of 6.15am so I could eat and then make my tour pick-up time- even better, she dropped me where I needed to be picked up from which was a huge bonus (long walk otherwise). I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Gill,
Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed our tropical breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards
Marlies & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Hutchinson Street | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kookas Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.