We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mazambala Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katima Mulilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mazambala Island Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Ngweze, Katima Mulilo, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We felt the time spent here was wasted and possibly the worst lodge visited in 20 years of travelling in Africa. EXCEPT that the river safaris were excellent.
Accommodation was poor - even for Africa it was "tired"
- nowhere to put personal toiletries etc in bathroom.
- no coffee-making facilities in room or early morning delivery
Meals not good - cold soggy toast - had it been served before?
- birds in the cereals helping themselves at breakfast buffet and in the butter
- accepting that temperatures were high, the butter was like oil
Hospitality - we felt we were being watched all the time especially at mealtimes.
Principal staff sat facing into the dining area too close for comfort.
- Principal staff members made no attempt to interreact with guests,
contrasting vividly with experiences in other similar lodges.
- Booked on B&B, we were not offered lunch on the second day.
- A "dark" spooky environment and with a week left of our holiday
I would have gladly gone home.
Thank goodness all the other lodges we visited were "spot on".
On a positive note, the local staff and the guides were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: At present standard, stay only one night or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The boot trip on the Kwando river beats the famous trip on the Chobe river (Kasane) easily. On our visit, there was only one boot with 6 guests and a very good guide. The river is small and with a lot of curves, with animals everywhere. We saw from very close hippos, more than 80 elephants, letchwes, crocs and many different birds. Amazing were the carmine bee eaters which have a very bright red colour in the sunset. They have nests in the riverbank. The boot has a filled cooler and I enjoyed my cold beer on this triple A rated trip.

The lodge is nice with a viewing deck and bar/diner room. The food was okay but not super.

Every room is a separate rondavel but with a lot of green bugs every where.

There is a small pool but with limited chairs. The island is very small so for us a one night stay was sufficient. The staff is very friendly.

The boot trip will make us return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere, at least no cities but great wildlife, nature and staff. The campsite is lovely based just near the river (strange noices of all kind of animals in the night) and by boat you can go to the lodge. We enjoyed the boat tour and the game drive and had dinner twice. The activities are great value for money (don't forget to bring cash) and you are very close to all the animals,even much more in their natural habitat than it feels in Etosha. Go here and do the activities! Staff is friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

While our friends stayed at the lodge, and thoroughly enjoyed it, we camped. Lovely campsite overlooking the river. Good ablutions with hot water. Wood brought over for us by the camp manager, who even started the fire for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The lodge is very nice, on an island and is accessible only by boat. Very well done, there is a viewing platform and big open fire place in the middle of the village. Boat trip was wonderful. There is this thing that the owner, Andre, very polite and caring, is always around and you feel watched at all times, which is a bit spooky. Rooms are a bit dark and sheets old. As a whole it feels a bit ghostly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beautiful lodge with comfortable room, which had a flexible set of blinds to capitalise on airflow and light. The food was well presented and tasty and service was attentive. The one drawback was that we had to pay our bill in cash - on an island, no banks or shops for miles and no access to ready money - very, very inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved this place! Accommodation is basic - but clean and perfectly sufficient. You won't spend any time in your room anyway. There's a fabulous lookout platform about 50ms above the ground where you can relax with drinks and it gives you a panoramic view of the bush with no civilisation in sight. Very relaxed, friendly staff, that made you feel part of the team. There were only two other people staying there when we went and we all did a game drive which began on a boat! The boat took us down the river (we were chased by a pod of hippos that added to the excitement). Then we pulled up on a bank and our guide went to dig the land rover out from behind a bush! There were no proper roads or track and we just bumped along in pretty remote bush. We saw a huge monitor lizard, loads of monkeys and birds, but the highlight was the elephants. We went to a sandy river bank, got out of the truck and drank beer while we watched herds of elephants take it in turns to file down to the water and play in the river at sunset. We got really close to them too. It was truly magical and felt so much more remote and wild than the more populated game reserves. Food was great and the whole experience was really memorable - and very reasonably priced too

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mazambala Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazambala Island Lodge

Address: Ngweze, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty lodging in Katima Mulilo
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mazambala Island Lodge 2.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazambala Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mazambala Island Lodge to your Saves list