We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for locals and non-locals alike!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelly's Jardin

Gelly's Jardin
Parque central de Atenas, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
24550044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Atenas
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Mexican, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for locals and non-locals alike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When we first moved to Atenas over three months ago, Gelly's quickly became our haven. Perched a half a level above the street and overlooking Parque Central, it is one of the best spots to watch life happen in our little town. The ice cream and sorbets are deliscious, as are the cafe con leches and chocolates calientes. The food is nothing to write home about, but that's not what you go there for. The service is consistently friendly. There is also free Wi-Fi. Overall, very Pura Vida!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex s, Propietario at Gelly's Jardin, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su visita y por su comentario , esto es lo que nos moitva a hacer siempre nuestro mejor esfuerzo para que nuestros clientes como usted regresen y se sientan parte de nuestra familia,
Esperamos volverlo a ver pronto.
saludos
Alex y Roxana
Gellys Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The BEST gelato ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Gelly's is a godsend to our little country town of Atenas. They make their gelato fresh with fun and delicious flavors, like Bailey's (as in Bailey's Irish Cream), Oreo cookie, fudge brownie, mango, passionfruit, coconut, lemon pie, strawberry cheesecake ... and on and on. They usually have at least 2 dozen flavors to choose from, which is difficult because they are all so good. Prices are great! I don't go for regular ice cream anymore ... I'm too spoiled by Gelly's!

Right on the park in central Atenas, Gelly's sits up high, with a roofed open-air dining area, so you can look out over the park and street. They feature Wi-fi which is popular with visiting students. We reserved a whole row of seats at the "counter" for last year's Christmas parade and it was great to watch the parade while enjoying Gelly's good food.

They serve fantastic espresso, cappuccinos and lattes, along with simple lunch items. The staff is exceptionally friendly, as are the owners who are on-site daily. I mostly go for the gelato ... you know my weakness.

Gelly's is an excellent dining spot in Atenas!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex s, Propietario at Gelly's Jardin, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su visita y por su comentario , esto es lo que nos moitva a hacer siempre nuestro mejor esfuerzo para que nuestros clientes como usted regresen y se sientan parte de nuestra familia,
Esperamos volverlo a ver pronto.
saludos
Alex y Roxana
Gellys Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A shot of espresso and ice cream...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the spot to go for a break from town heat and busy-ness. Free wifi, wonderful coffee and ice cream. It's where we go for lite fare. You can sit back and people watch as it is right by the park. Family owned and operated, and a wonderful family to visit. True Costa Rica charm.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extra friendly staff, great food, and a great view of the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Gelly's is located across the street from the park on the east side. It's on the upper level so you have a great view of the street and park. Perfect for people watching! My husband had the chicken lasagna and I had the molettes. Both were very tasty. The menu is diverse so you're sure to find something to fit every taste, especially if you need a break from the casados. The staff is the best! Not only did they take the time to explain the menu, but they brought us a stack of magazines to read while we waited out the rain storm. Oh and do yourself a favor and get the zanahoria (carrot) cake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The people who own Gelly's are truly unique and wonderful. The husband is a world class magician, his name is Alex. The way that his artist wife, Roxana decorated this place and the personal touch that they give are the BEST. They have some unusual things that are hard to find...a great variety of EXCELLENT Italian Gelato (at a surprisingly reasonable price) and truly excellent coffee. The best I have had in Costa RIca. They are now offerning an Affogato, you do not see it much outside of Italy, but it is a shot of espresso over Gelato. They are Mexican and they have at least two snacks there that are AMAZING: Sopes...a soft bean or chicken and bean tostada like thing, and MOLLETES...something that you only find in Mexico! (Don't forget to ask for the housemade Chipotle sauce.) I cannot believe how good they are with coffee. It is also a great community gathering place, lunch or light dinner place and just a hang out with free WIFI. Do not miss it. I for one, am very grateful that they are in Atenas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelly's Jardin also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Gelly's Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelly's Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.