We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place we visit frequently...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapenos

Jalapenos
Highway 3, Atenas, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place we visit frequently...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Close to home and nice local feel. Menu is great. Have tried their ceviche, margaritas, bloody mary (spicy) and lobster. Everything was quite nice. My only recommendation is to improve on their music selection. It was electronica (is that the name of it?). Consistent , repeating beat, and was a little bit loud. Service was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and and very reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I eat at Jalapenos often and we have never had reason to complain. The food is good and the waitress is a sweetheart.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan Casado!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stopped here for our first meal in Costa Rica. After a horrible rental car experience (DO NOT RENT FROM EUROPCAR!!) we wanted to get out of San Jose as quickly as possible and get to Manuel Antonio before dark. We stopped here out of the blue, and I ordered Casado Vegetariano. Even though it was not on the menu, they had no problem preparing it for me, and it was delicious. I agree with the other reviewer about the music. It was some kind of mix tape that sounded like someone was scanning 70s and 80s radio stations, but all remixed to some kind of techno beat. Good food, though, and good service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to eat outside of Atenas with a wonderful setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved the food here. Simple but absolutely delicious. The service was good unfortunately our Spanish is terrible and the waitress did not know much English. We did fine except for the wine, which we always like good wine. We asked about bottles and she could only tells she had red and white. Found out when we went up to pay they had a good selection of bottles of wine. Now we know for next time. The biggest complaint was the music. Way too loud and all Electronica stuff. with the wonderful tropical setting they should have Latin music. We will go back for sure.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapenos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.