We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cultura - CLOSED

Cafe Cultura
Costado Este Parque Atenas, Atenas, Costa Rica
24550081
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our trip to Atenas was our first and we visited several restaurants. Cafe Cultura was recommened by the manager of our B&B. The service was good and the food was excellent. We met the owner and found that the restaurant had only been opened for about one month.
His menu was fairly extensive and had some different and very good dishes. It is well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Refreshingly excellent cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Those of us who are permanent residents in Atenas really, really hope that the new folks in charge of Cafe Cultura -- Jed and Esther -- stay! The restaurant re-opened under their management is at least 1 million percent better than the last owners/managers.

The menu is new, fresh, innovative and crafted with a flair by "chef" Jed ... who is not bashful at all to tell you what's good that day! I keep coming back to work my way through the menu because it all is so good!

Fantastic dishes I've tried:
Fish curry, Veggie salad (cooked butternut squash, potatoes, cashews and more!), Waldorf salad, Cultura hamburger (finally, a REAL hamburger in Costa Rica!), falafel pita.
For drinks, go for the Sandia Lambada with watermelon juice or the Detox with ginger, pineapple, celery and carrot. Yum!

I tried Jed's chocolate pie last night ... heaven!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Getting better every day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went in for my second time and had a very nice lunch. The owner has found someone to purchase fresh local meat and the chef is showing his talents. Look forward to the next visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“1st night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a combination between tea/cafe shop and restaurant. Owners Jed and Esther are very sweet and attentive. Until they get their wine license, you can bring in own wine. That is a very smart decision. They take credit cards - for a new business, that is great. Food starts with fresh ingredients. Great selection of loose leaf teas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“For the price we could have coffee in central park NYC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The most expensive place I have ever eaten... 40 dollars for 3 coffees and 3 piece of cakes. Never again! Sorry.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cultura also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cultura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.