We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La trilla

La trilla
RT 3 | 50 Mts Este de la Estacion de Servicio, Atenas, Costa Rica
506 24468593
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 29 restaurants in Atenas
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Nice place for great time, dinner and enjoy!!! New manager
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything to like. The food, the hospitality, the environment...just very very nice. Easy to find. English is spoken. Met the owner, who went around talking with the guests ensuring that they were happy with everything..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    35
    34
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Dining and Social Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We were with a 16 month-old who was a bit fussy, but they were fine with that. The manager/owner introduced us to some of his other guests as they and my partner have Norwegian blood in common. He took time to converse with us and it surely came from the heart.
The decor of the restaurant was superb and we felt it was very clean. The food was delicious and we have been constantly surprised at the quality of dining experiences here.
I would say that La Trilla is an experience that should be tried at least once.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New Management and Better Than Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I own a home in Atenas and have been going to La trilla for years. We have however, been away for more than a year and were initially disappointed to hear that one of our favorite restaurants had changed hands. We couldn't have been more misguided as the new management has transformed a good restaurant to a truly great restaurant in every way. Service is outstanding and the quality and variety of the food is as good as any we have ever experienced in any setting in Costa Rica. This is a 5 star restaurant with 2 star prices. Very reasonable prices and the best Shrimp Bisque I've ever tasted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“On our short list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I have been here several times. Consistently good food and service. We're working on our Spanish, but our waitress is bilingual. Margaritas are refreshing on a hot night. Costa Rican meals are pretty well balanced - small starch, meat and generous portion of vegetables. This Atenas restaurant is in our top 5.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, Best in traditional Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

During our stay in Atenas, La trilla was the first establishment where we sample Tico cuisine. It was simply amazing! The open atmosphere is warm and cozy. The service was great, and the food was delicious. I had the rice with chicken dish......wonderful flavor and plenty of it!

An absolute must- The "House" Tea. It is a wonderful blend of ice and their special tea. It arrives at the table with a frothy head resembling beer, but it is an intense flavored tea.

I asked how they make it, but the answer was "It's my secret"

We visited La Trilla several times. We always received excellent food and outstanding service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La trilla also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to La trilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La trilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.