We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Trocha

La Trocha
La Trocha Del Boyero | 500 m este Estacion de Servicio 50 sur, Atenas, Costa Rica
24460533
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Atenas
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Especially the Rice'n Beans plate is our favorite. And the Casado, which is huge. The owners are friendly people and it's great to sit there, surrounded of plants. Unfortunately the beverages are a bit pricey.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals we ever had in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A friend of ours recommend this restaurant to us. We went there for an early dinner and loved the atmosphere. We sat there in the middle of a heavy rain storm and enjoyed one the the best meals we ever ate in Costa Rica. My wife had a great Filet Mignon, which she said was incredible. I had a fish fillet, covered with shrimp and garlic in a very tasty light white sauce. Just great! Fred is a very creative and surpurb cook. If you a looking for a memorable meal... check out this place !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

La Trocha is a delightful small restaurant tucked away in the woods a short distance off Route 3 just east of Atenas. The quality of the food served is excellent, and the prices low by US standards. Service is very satisfactory. There seems to be no problem with flies, mosquitoes or other insects, even in the woods.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Atenas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great place to share a meal with friends. The food is excellent and plentiful, with moderate prices. Don't miss the opportunity to taste their incredible La Trocha sauce. Excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent platters on the patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had dinner on the patio in the midst of a cooling rain. Wonderful evening. We arrived a bit late on a Sunday, and the restaurant was clearing out by 8:30. They were out of a couple of things - the burnt pork and ceviche -- so my son and I tried to go with steaks and my wife had the garlic shrimp. The platters were huge; three barely fit on our table. The platters included rice, sautéed vegetables, beans, French fries, plantains, and the main course. None of us were able finish our dinners, and my wife brought half of hers back to our bungalow for our son's inevitable morning snack. My son had the filet, which had to be at least an 8 ounce cut and possibly 10 ounces. Beautiful cut and complemented with grilled onions. I had a 12 ounce sirloin with jalapeño sauce, that was slightly sweet and not actually hot. Just an interesting pepper taste. We will definitely be back the next time we are In Atenas. This is now a favorite place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trocha also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to La Trocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.