We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the first moment, it's like staying with old friends.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Tree
Save
You added Orchid Tree to your Saves list
Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atenas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“From the first moment, it's like staying with old friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A small and quiet place, very relaxing and comfortable. Brad is busy all the time tending to the million details as every hotelier must, but he's 100% yours when you need him. He was our guide for an impromptu one-day trip to Nicaragua that included several hours on a slow boat on the even slower San Juan river, a small adventure but one I won't soon forget. Thanks Brad! -Mike vP

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
51
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My family of three (w/my 4 yo daughter) stayed three nights at The Orchid Tree just outside Atenas this past week and were stunned by the tranquility, privacy, flexibility and hospitality offered by this facility and it's owner. Brad, the owner, was AMAZING! He was SO servant-hearted but never over bearing...always offering privacy and flexibility with our needs. He has single handedly remodeled this beautiful property into TripAdvisor's #1 B&B in the area and their grade of his service offered could NOT be more accurate. This guy sets a new standard for B&B's! Great breakfasts EVERY morning with complete patience on when same would fit into our daily schedule. ALL homemade with fresh fruit from the fruit trees on the property by the outside bar and cozy living room area close to the pool. Oh, and, did I mentioned how much of a kid friendly zone this was for our daughter? ;o) Regardless, kids or not, enjoy the resident dog and cat. WOW, I just can't say enough about this hidden jewel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, its the biggest. ;o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay near Grecia and we had seen this B&B before on the internet so we decided to stay here. We were happy with our choice as it was really super comfortable and near Atenas and Grecia but in a small quiet neighborhood. The living area and the kitchen are open to the air and are very comfortable with a tropical feel. The pool is very nice with a patio for sunning and also another lounging area with hammocks etc. Mango trees are all around and we were in luck because they were in season and the owner was very generous and shared some with us! This is a peacefull place to stay and we really enjoyed it and wished we could have stayed one more night to take andvantage of the beautiful weather and soak up some sun around the pool!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Great hospitality and helpful staff. Very relaxing and peaceful property. Brad went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed and got where we needed to go. There aren't very many rooms so it is usually a very quite place and not a bunch if people. The pool is gorgeous and a fun little spot to hang out. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It was a perfect experience, we were more than satisfied. We stayed here our first and last night in Costa Rica, wanting to visit much raved about Atenas and have an easy drive to the airport. First, The Orchid Tree is gorgeous with Balinese architecture. Comfortable room, zen-like grounds and luxurious pool. Brad was a lovely, generous, friendly, helpful host, he prepared a delicious and ample breakfast, even introduced us to Japanese friends of his we were interested in meeting, he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. And his dog Buddy is a charmer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Comfortable beds, clean rooms and grounds, decent water pressure and water that is actually hot, gracious hosts, good breakfast, and a location that is convenient. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here. We found it easy to take the bus or cabs to visit friends in Atenas or to go get food. Hosts were very accommodating of our baby, which was much appreciated! Airport pick up service was reasonably priced and very helpful. Highly recommend the orchid tree!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful setting amongst the trees, the Orchid Tree was perfect after battling the traffic of San Jose.
The rooms are clean and tidy, the bed was better than we were expecting. The living and dining area is open air, very relaxing to chill and read a book with a bottle of wine. Pool looks very inviting and breakfast was excellent.
We only stayed 1 night but could have stayed a week!
Brad is a very accommodating, providing excellent directions and a map of the local town with all restaurants and sights marked out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree

Address: Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and intimate bed and breakfast inn, just 20 minutes from the main airport in Costa Rica (SJO) and only 45 minutes from the Pacific coast. We are ideally located in the valley of Rio Grande, Atenas – the perfect base for exploring lush rainforest, enchanting cloud forest, raging rivers, cascading waterfalls, bubbling volcanoes, artisan villages and coffee plantations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Atenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.