We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place and wonderful owners!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Tree
Save Saved
You added Orchid Tree to your Saves list
Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous place and wonderful owners!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I, my sister-in-law, and father-in-law were driving down to a beach in Dominical, Costa Rica, to join the rest of our family when our car broke down. Fortunately, Pat and Brad, the very warm and friendly owners of The Orchid Tree bed-and-breakfast, happened to be passing by, and gave us their phone number in case a replacement car wasn't delivered before nightfall. Sure enough, it was dark when the car was finally delivered, and since it was too late to get to the beach that night, we decided to stay at the Orchid Tree. We were so glad we did! We were all a little frazzled at that point, but the charm of this unique bed-and-breakfast and its delightful owners soon worked its magic, and it ended up being one of our most enjoyable experiences in Costa Rica. The grounds are lush and gorgeous, with a sparkling swimming pool, the rooms are charming, comfortable, and spotlessly clean, and the beautiful dining room and lounge area is built in an open, Bali style to take advantage of the lovely climate there. Pat and Brad took great care of us, and we really enjoyed getting to know them. After a great night's sleep and a delicious breakfast, we resumed our trip to the beach, in a much better frame of mind! Thanks so much, Pat and Brad, for turning what could have been a really difficult experience into a wonderful, very memorable one!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
42
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Orchid Tree was the first place we stayed in Costa Rica and we could not have found a better one: Peacefulness, beauty, charm. The owners Pat & Brad are wonderful peolple; they really care about you and are very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and hearty, the pool nice and clean, the 2 rooms we had were extremely clean with comfortable beds & air conditioning if desired. The restaurants that Brad recommended in Atenas, just a few minutes away, were really good and had reasonable prices, especially La Trilla. We travel with our 2 children and the four of us look forward returning to the Orchid Tree!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was greeted by the owners Pat & Brad, who are a variety of friend and Professional Inn owners. They provided me a fabulous and unique experience at the Inn which is on a beautiful one acre site with charm and a peacefulness that was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was made to order and delicious, the swimming pool warm and clean. Orchid Tree is a sensational value and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, cozy, stay in Atenas, consider The Orchid Tree. It is indeed a world apart. Atenas is the kind of place where you can begin to understand something about real village life in this wonderful little country. Only at the local level will you begin to experience how Ticos enjoy key aspects of their lives, how they enjoy their day to day interactions. And this is key to beginning to love life here. Ticos not only know that they live small time lives in a small time country, they Prize it! If you join them, you will see how it feels. Ok, tour a volcano, surf the beach, but also find time to eat a slice of pudin from the bakery while doing a plaza sit and watching folks in the Atenas plaza. View the church, cruise the market, slow down and smell the flowers, sip the coffee. Go out to an open-air cafe and have the best beef of your life. You can do it all, while staying at The Orchid Tree, where you will enjoy the personal services of likable innkeepers, Pat and Brad.

Room Tip: Of course, you need a car, and get good directions from Brad before starting out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Brad and Patricia, the new owners, were wonderful. Brad picked us up from the airport when our flight was delayed more than 3 hours. They served fantastic breakfasts. We were visiting our son and daughter-in-law who were working in Atenas. Brad helped us get to their place and picked us up before we had a rental car to go to Monte Verde for 2 nights. They welcomed us to all play board games and swim in the pool. I had a bad cough, Patricia kept making me hot tea. Very hospitable and easy to talk to. I second the idea of ear plugs as it seems typical for birds, roosters, dogs, etc. To be greeting the new day early in the morning. Bedroom and bathroom fine. Interesting open air design. Thanks for helping make our trip very special Patricia and Brad. We highly recommend The Orchid Tree.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Single guy traveling with family.

A nice spot and reflective of most of the reviews here. The breakfast was steller and was incredibly filling.

The location was a little outside of Atenas. Although I was traveling with family, I cannot recommend this place for single travelers. It is very quiet and only has a small number rooms. It's for the quiet traveler. Bring a book not a party.

WiFi worked great in the main sitting room. The pool was great and well maintained but the best part of the stay were the owners. Fantastic couple. It should be noted that as of May 1st 2012, the place will have new owners.

Greats: Pool, breakfast, owners.
Average: Only one sitting room where everyone must sit together including the owners when they eat, hang out. Location great for the quiet traveler. Although Atenas only a $3 cab. One room has A/C if you want it request it.
Poor: VERY loud. Bring earplugs. Roosters, horses, dogs, etc. I found it above above average for CR.
Final thoughts: Good stay, great owners. I wish them luck in the future and hope the next ones carry the same charm.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms for rent, and only 1 with A/C although they all have fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidtreecostarica, Owner at Orchid Tree, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We would like to make clear to future travelers and guests who choose the Orchid Tree as their B&B Atenas lodging a few facts about this particular booking.

We were very happy to welcome the reviewer's parents, who stayed at the Orchid Tree for a week before the reviewer came for a two day stay.
The parents came to stay here for rest and relaxation and decided not to rent a vehicle or go on any tours. As a result we became fast friends and spent a lot of time together at the inn and also in town, we shared meals, played games and had a lovely time together in the great room every day.
However we do have owner's quarters where, if our guests want to be alone or with other guests, we can retire to. Also there is a lovely large rancho with tables and comfortable chairs and loungers, so there are plenty of places to have privacy.
Now we are in a rural area and sometimes we do hear roosters, dogs, and various birds, especially at day break, but it is not constant and never has been reported to be a problem with any guest.
Also would like to mention that we have four guest suites two with a/c's and three with large ceiling fans. Most people do not use the a/c's as it cools down into the mid sixties during the night.
I think the client would have been happier staying at a larger hotel with more action, as we are a peacful, quiet and serene B&B and that is the way we prefer it, as do our guests, many of whom have returned for repeat visits.

Thank you for allowing us to do an owner's responce

Rita and Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Everything about the Orchid Tree was great, I can confirm all the positive comments made by other reviewers--TripAdvisor doesn't lie! Loved the pool and the open-concept living space. Found the location to be ideal--just far enough from San Jose to feel the 'real' Costa Rica, yet close enough to the airport to be a convienent alternative to the city. Honestly, San Jose is a drag and not very pretty compared to the country side. Stay at the Orchid Tree and you'll have no regrets!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree

Address: Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and intimate bed and breakfast inn, just 20 minutes from the main airport in Costa Rica (SJO) and only 45 minutes from the Pacific coast. We are ideally located in the valley of Rio Grande, Atenas – the perfect base for exploring lush rainforest, enchanting cloud forest, raging rivers, cascading waterfalls, bubbling volcanoes, artisan villages and coffee plantations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Atenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.