We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, outstanding site.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint-Jerome
1 review
“Warm welcome, outstanding site.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

What else to say, everythings was right to outstanding! The room, the water, the garden, the flowers, the pool, the breakfast, the view is breathtaking, the temperature is ideal, no a/c required during the night, a dry 30C-33C daytime with a breeze... Thanks again to Vera, Jonathan and Achile for our short but very enjoyable stay at Vista Athenas. Pura Vida!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
102
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our 4th trip to Costa Rica, but the 1st time staying at Vista Atenas, at which we spent the first and last nights of our two week trip. A very easy drive from the airport brings you here to a place that feels "just right". A fabulous view, quiet and secure location, and of course, Jonathon and Vera's warm welcome! A great spot to relax before setting out on our adventures and to return to before our flight home. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is something about Vista Atenas that brings people back. Is it the jaw dropping view - the huge open space of the Central Valley and the sky above it? Or is it the respect and appreciation of nature by Vera and Johnathan which extends to their guests? The layout affords space and privacy for quiet reflection if desired. Or, conversely there are places to gather and chat such as the dining room with a view where delicious breakfasts are served. We took advantage of the packaged tour to visit Monteverde/Arenal and were pleased with how our concerns were addressed in the pre-planning stage. We would certainly like to return to Vista Atenas.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

One of our favorite hotels in Costa Rica. Everything about it is wonderful!
Vera makes you feel special. Great location. 10 minutes to center of town. 45 minutes from San Jose. Very secure location. Great to just relax around the pool and enjoy the scenery. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Vista Atenas is a short drive from San Jose airport but a world away in the pace of life and views. After a long trip from New England it was the perfect way to rest and get ready for more travel. The room was adequate and the pool and views were breathtaking. They have a small refrigerator with juices and beer. This was very convenient as we were too tired to stop and get something before we got there. Our breakfast the next day included fresh fruit and eggs and was delicious. The perfect place to start (or end) a trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catawba
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Vera and Jonathan provided my friends and us a great start to a nine day road trip. What a fabulous view and wonderful hospitality! The room was comfortable and the breakfast delicious! Will be sure to stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our 17th year to visit Costa Rica and our 6th. year to be staying with Vera and Jonathan
at the Vista Atenas. We are welcomed with open arms and feel as if we have a home away from
home.
Our room is immaculate and comfortable. Everyone is helpful from management to the gardener and the girls who clean and make breakfast!
Our room has a small 3 burner stove so we can shop in the town of Atenas and cook simple meals when we wish.
We love the beautiful setting, the available Toledo coffee in the mornings and the spirit of Atenas.
It is an example of Pura Vida! The view of the valley is beautiful and vast!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.