We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Come to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Vista Atenas made me change my vacation plans. I wanted to travel around Costa Rica staying in different places every night. At first I followed my plan, but when I came to Vista Atenas, I decided to make day trips instead, coming back to Vista Atenas every night. This place gives you a feeling of warmth and welcome, you feel like you are coming home. Vera and Jonathan are more then helpful, they make sure that all your needs and questions are looked after. The atmosphere in Vista Atenas is very friendly and relaxed. The views of the valley are absolutely stunning, the rooms are clean and comfortable with huge showers, the garden is very well maintained. I am definitely coming back next year.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best, if you need a kitchenette, but they are usually booked well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
81
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

words can not describe our visit - the view from Vista Atenas bed and breakfast is breathtaking to say the least, you can sit there for hour upon hour and relax be it day or night, both are spectacular. Our room had everything we needed, clean and roomy, the whole property is well maintained with flowers/plants etc. parking is convenient and everything is all on one level once you arrive, if you want to go for a hike up the mountain you can, but not needed to get to and from anything on property. The breakfast was wonderful, Jonathan and his assistants cooked something a bit different for us during our week's stay. We will definitely be making another reservation in the near future for our return. Jonathan helped us with any questions we had along the way.

Room Tip: Our room was Orion, and it was great but all rooms and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was wonderful. Our hosts Jonathan & Vera were just a book of information. We felt so comfortable here we didn't want to leave. The views were just amazing! At night over looking the city it was beautiful. The rooms were nice loved the bathroom and shower so big. Breakfast in the morning was very good and just enough. The pool was chilly but refreshing. It was so peaceful and relaxing here. I cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Vista Atenas is a beautifully situated B&B if you want something beautiful and serene, close to the Alajuela airport. There are a small variety of rooms. The best are the cabins which are separate from the main building. The breakfast is very nice. The pool is very small and while we really enjoyed Vista Atenas, we would advise you to strongly think of this B&B as more appropriate for couples or very, very quiet families. It is not the kind of place for families with kids that are looking for a big pool to dive and jump in. It's an excellent place for yoga, meditation and a serene, quiet visit. There is a family dog (Achilles)...a big friendly beast with a big bark. He was very gentle with our kids.

Poas volcano is at least a 90-minute drive away. Make an effort to get tere before 10am if you want to see the caldera or the lagoon. Both are usually covered in clouds and fog after that time.

If you need great food close by...I strongly recommend Pizzeria Alena at the bottom of the hill and a few hundred meters down the road to the right. Superb, homemade pizza. Watch her make the dough...it's an experience.

Room Tip: Our kids were ok here for a night or two...but this beautiful B&B is more suited to people looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped by Vista Atenas on our last trip to Costa Rica July 6-13, 2013. Came across this property through tripadvisor but wanted to see for myself before planning next trip. Needless to say, We have already made reservations for October. The owner showed us around the property, the rooms are decorated very nicely, clean and spacious. Gorgeous views of valley from the pool area. Very nice landscaping throughout property. Jonathan has been so helpful with making our reservations answering all my questions. You will not be disappointed in choosing this bed and breakfast as your next destination!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, depends on your budget, valley view rooms have large windows with views of vall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Vista Atenas based on a strong recommendation from a friend. This was our first night in CR, and Vista Atenas is a fantastic place to stay if you've flown into San Jose. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport, and is up in the mountains with a spectacular view of the valley with the town of Atenas just below. Jonathon, the manager, was very accommodating and service oriented. He carried our bags from the car to the room, and ensured we were comfortable.

The owner, Vera, was very welcoming and within an hour of our arrival took us around the back of the property to show us some local wildlife that inhabits her property. It was raining, but once my wife mentioned that she is an animal lover Vera offered to immediately show us a sloth hanging from a tree about 15 yards from the back of the building. She ended up spending about an hour and a half with us the next day giving us a tour of the garden as well as a lot of tips on traveling in CR as we were CR newbies.

Views are spectacular, breakfast was very good. This will be our first stopping point and night's stay for all of our future trips to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B is by far one of the nicest i have visited! If you are looking for peace and serenity, this is the place to be! Vera, the owner, takes her time to make you feel special, and invites you to join her to visit the beautiful gardens of the B&B. Jonathan is always there to help and will warm up your day with his smile. Finally,The view on the central valley is breathtaking. A must!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.