We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newberg, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The name says it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful location and views! We had a room in the back by the pool which was quiet and had a great view! Vera, the owner was so helpful. She even gave us a botanical tour of the property. She also arranged an airport shuttle for me for 4 AM for just $35! And he was on time! Would definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Room Tip: Close to airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
102
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

First the good: The view is amazing!! The cool breeze was welcome after being at the beach all week. We stayed our last night in Costa Rica to be closer to airport. Hard to believe the airport was so close to this quiet place. Good Wi-fi.

The bad: The rooms are VERY simple (no TV, no surface space, low water pressure). Because of this we wanted to play some cards in a sitting area by the pool, overlooking the valley but it was locked. We were told by the woman owner (I am bad with names) that we could have come and asked for the key. I would never knock on their residence door at 9-10 pm. We didn't understand why it didn't remain open. So, instead we sat on our bed (which one of the bed slats broke by sitting on it) and watched Netflix.

Our room was located right by the gravel parking area. Whenever someone arrived by car it was as if we were on a bed in the middle of the parking lot. Granted, we are light sleepers but everytime someone spoke or walked by we woke up. Also, the shower water changed temps whenever someone in the kitchen (located on the other side of the wall) washed something.

Other reviews spoke of Johnathon who was wonderful. We only met him briefly but saw his wife (?) most of the time. She was less than hospitable (see above regarding locked sitting area). At breakfast, place setting were set at the tables. We asked if we could sit at an unset table and she essentially told us no. "Are those set? These are the ones that are set." My boyfriend moved the places anyway and she was obviously upset by it. It may sound petty but there was really no reason for her attitude.

Overall, I would probably recommend this B&B as long as you don't get the blue room in the front and Jonathan is present.

Room Tip: Do not get the blue room in the front...other rooms looked far nicer and quieter...the villas looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Million dollar view! Stayed 2 nights on arrival and 2 nights before departure, couldn't have found a better place. Good location to explore the area. Atenas is a quaint, friendly town with all the essentials. Any questions, ask Jonathan, the manager, he's a wealth of information. Breakfast was always delicious and the staff was super nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this lovely little place on 3 occasions, most recently 10 months ago. The price we got online was amazing, and the first time, we didn't know what to expect for such little money. The rooms are simple and clean, which works perfectly for us. The real treat is the location. Its secluded, the view is incredible, and the garden around the hotel is lovely and lush. It's a romantic little place and nice if you're looking for something off the beaten path.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our friends from the Oregon coast recently stayed here while visiting us in Atenas. They couldn't believe this perfect peaceful location with an amazing view of the whole Central Valley! The owner Vera and the manager Jonathan see that you have a delicious breakfast to start your day in this lovely paradise. It's a great base to stay put and enjoy or travel from as it is conviently located outside of Atenas and near the beautiful old road to the Pacific. You will be delighted with your adventure in Costa Rica with tips from Jonathan on "things to experience."

Room Tip: All rooms with a view as city lights are twinkling for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

...than at Vista Atenas. JUST STUNNING...Spectacular view of the valley, beautiful landscaping, and of course, Johnathan!!! He was very welcoming, charming, sweet and very funny. He made us feel right at home. Extremely attentive, helpful and always ready to make our stay the best possible. Lillian, sweet and smiling, made us a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, coffee and whatever else we wanted.And then there is Billy, the groundskeeper and landscape artist..knowledgeable, friendly, extremely helpful. He took the time to answer our questions and make us feel right at home..
If there is a better place to stay than Vista Atenas, that would be wonderful, but I would venture to say that it would be as a result of the friendliness of the people and their hospitality. When we return, Vista Atenas will be where we shall return to. It is everything and more...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The manager was great. Jonathan really did his best to make sure that we had an excellent stay. The rooms are somewhat spartan, but that's part of the deal if you don't want to stay in a chain hotel. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. The staff are very interactive and thoughtful and genuinely kind. The surroundings and the views are beyond compare, looking out into the valley and beyond at the mountains and volcanoes.
We really felt comfortable here, and all of the guests we met were happy to converse and we got to know each other a bit. That contributed to the experience here that we thoroughly enjoyed.
Sleep quality was not great as we have a fussy 16 month-old who had teeth coming though.

Room Tip: If you need more space or you are larger people, choose a triple room. My partner and I are 5'10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.