We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average AI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare to your Saves list
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Box 32 | Rethymnon, Panormos, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Panormos
Cambridgeshire UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average AI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Overall we found this to be a average AI hotel maybe a good 3* but definately not a 4*plus. We have been to 2 other Iberostar hotels and we were slightly dissapointed with this hotel for the following reason:-

The sun bed situation is AWFUL especially around the main pool, be prepared to get up very early as all the beds were taken by 7 o'clock and this was everybody not just the Germans. We took our drinks and sat by the pool one night as we wanted to be on our own for a little while and 1 lady came out at midnight and put her towels out on the beds !!! Anyway when she had gone I chucked them in the pool.

The tiled floors around the pool, dining room and lobby area are all very wet during the day we only found 2 slip mats round the pool so they became very slippery and dangerous also the toilets are filthy dirty and the floor was always covered in water and loo paper.

The sports facilities are rather poor for a hotel this size, only 1 broken ping pong table which collapsed one day only just missing the legs of the players who were using it. 1 pool table which you have to book in advance at a cost of €6 per hour. Also we found that the amintion program overlapped event so maybe Archery and French boules would be on at the same time therfore you could not take part in both.

The evening entertainment by the animation team is very poor quality, they do a sketch show, quiz nights or a dance theme night. But the biggest con has to be the bar- b -que night , it cost €25 each which is a rip off when you have already paid for all your food and drink anyway.

Please remember that this hotel is situated in a VERY REMOTE LOCATION, the trolley bus runs to Panorama every hour this cost €2 per person each way but it is only a tiny place less than 10 tavernas and shops so not much to see or do. The buses run very regularly to Rethymnon from just outside the hotel. We had a great meal at the "Symposium Restaurant " in Rethymnon.

We booked with First Choice and did not upgrade our room as we were told that this room would be big large enough for 2 adults and 1 child therefore we were allocated a Double room in the main building (as you may be aware with FC you can get a free child place up to the age of 14 ) BUT please take note the room has one double bed and a sofa bed which is only really suitable for a child under 5ft 4inches, our son is very tall and his feet hung over the edge of the bed for 2 weeks!! Because the hotel was fully we could not chance rooms even if we offered to pay extra.


The food was what you would expect from AI it became very repetative the second week althoght it was always hot. The bar staff were very nice, although we did find that some of the Reception Staff were rude and unhelpful. This hotel would be suitable for people not wanting to do very much on holiday and would be perfect for families with young children.

This is the cost of trips,extra charges in €

Water Park =37 per person
Landrover Adventure = 69 per person
Axos by night Music dance and cretan food = 44 per person
Samaria Gorge = 42 per person
Taxis to Rethymnon = 18 each way
Safety deposit box = 48
Sunbeds on the beaches = 4 per bed per day

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    376
    115
    36
    14
See reviews for
472
381
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Date 22nd August 2007
We, there was 11 in total, have just returned from the Creta Panorama where we all had a fantastic holiday. We were in one of bungalows in the grounds which was great. Cleaned throughout every day with fresh towels. Cleaner was lovely. Great views of the sea. We all went snorkelling on the harbour . You could not fault the choice and quality of the food, something for everyone. Possibly one of the best hotels for food I have ever stayed in. Drinks great. Loved the Greek equivelent of Champagne. Pools are salt water but the indoor one at the side is fresh water. Fresh beach towels every day.
Take the small train to a small Crete village for a night, it was great. You can eat but we just had drinks, which was very cheap for such a big round and there are a few shops. We have already booked for the Bahia Principe in Tenerife next year but will be coming back to this hotel in the future. Book a late checkout though as freinds didnt and couldnt get a room.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifers in Crete
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This was a fantastic holiday. The hotel was beautifully kept with lovely gardens and a couple of coves and one small sandy beach. The cleaning of the rooms was first class and our room looked right over the main pool and the sea.


The food was excellent with a couple of themed evenings per week and a poolside BBQ (payable). The choice of food was excellent and we never tired of the food on offer at the hotel. Infact we only once went outside the hotel to eat.

The buffets were fairly busy but always replenished very regularly and you will be amazed at the desserts - to die for!

Our little girl is 9 years old and she ate chicken, fish cold meat, potatoes, ice creams, melon .... the list goes on. There was also a childrens section of the buffet.

Also on offer were chefs at their work stations making freshly prepared roast and pasta dishes etc. Lots of lovely greek salads and cheeses. The breads were fab!

The staff were so friendly and really made a difference to the holiday overall. Our little girl made friends within a couple of days and had a ball. We too made friends and had a great time in the evenings with all our new mates! The bars were well stocked and you could have as much as you lked to drink. With cocktails of the day, international branded spirits, and a cold buffet was available in the buffet restaurant for anyone with the midnight munchies!

Thats all the pros for this hotel . Overall it was a holiday that we rated as 95% good and we would probably go back some day.

Now for the 5% downside. The pools are in the main salt water ones. It can hurt your eyes and burn your skin more easily. But the main pool has a nice swim up bar for sheltering from those rays. There was a non salt pool further down the gardens but no poolside bar for drinks or snacks which was a shame as it was very very hot ( 45 +)

The swim up bar does not offer alcoholic beveridges. You have to climb out the pool and step up to the beer tap for any alcoholic drinks.

In the buffet restuarant though you can have as much wine, beer or water as you like from the fountains.

Also the hotel is a little remote. Nothing much there apart from another hotel. But we took a taxi down to panormo and rethymnon.

The people we met on this holiday and the excellent food really made this a special holiday and I have no hesitation in recommending it to you.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — salt water swimming pool and non alcoholic swim up bar
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Lets do the positives first:
Positives:
Clean, friendly, 6 swimming pools, very large, unlimited drinks all day, ice cream, very relaxing, day programme of events like volleyball, darts etc.,
Beer on tap which you just help yourself to (however, care if you are taking teenagers as it is very easy for them to access!)

AN ABSOLUTE MUST:
The water park, called 'Water City' ... this was excellent and well worth it. We booked our holiday through 'First Choice' and booked this trip through them. However, it wasn't a first choice only trip, lots of others on coach, we were the last pick up so didn't get to sit together for the 1 hour journey .... but even with all of this the day was the best ever!!!

Also an absolute must was the 'Crazy Sofa' available at the hotel on the beach. This was amazing ... imagine the banana boat but only for 4 people .... sitting on a sofa being dragged by speed boat ... you go everywhere!!! The guy who does the speed boat was great and you get about 15 mins for 20 euro's ... sounds a lot but well worth it!

Food:
Very good, but did become repetitive after a while ... but they are feeding lots of people! Loads of choice ... and kid's do have their own selection .. and chips were available every day!

Negatives
Most of the pools are salt water which means stinging eyes for kids, and dry skin!
Entertainment ... Typical european animation stuff (Mr & Mrs, sketches) by non actors but heh .. they try their best! However a MASSIVE NEGATIVE .... you have to pay for Thurday's entertainment ... Greek night - 25 euro's (age 12+), beach party 10 euro's .... not worth it, stay in the bar area and watch the best part for free .... fireworks!!
A la Carte
Not really, but the main pool lunch area turns into this on selected evenings. Nice to be served to, but no choice of menu, and they give you a wine list .... even though this is an all inclusive resort you have to pay for the wine!!! So, if you don't want to pay just choose the 'house wine'. But did make a nice change!

Lastly, you are in the middle of absolutely no where!!! Fine if you like to stay in the complex and not explore. The nearest town 'Panorama' will take you 40 mins to walk! We did get a taxi to into Rethymnon which was only 18 euros which was a nice change and you can pick up some good 'fake' designer labels!!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

This was the 2nd time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. The first time was in 2004 and was one of the best holidays we have had!

The 2006 trip was a stark contrast.

Food quality had declined and atmosphere at Evening buffet was at best like a pre-Christmas shop at Tesco (too full and people not being considerate of others)

The complex had a very unhealthy smell to it. The drains smelt awful and people were dropping like flies around us with Gastroentiritus - I succumbed to this on day 4 and ended up being rushed to hospital and put on a drip for the next 2 days.

My wife was worried sick but the hotel staff couldnt care less. My wife got Gastro day after my return. I then asked to speak to the manager

(we hadnt really been anywhere else in Crete and the sheer number of other people who had been violently ill or who looked like they were recovering from a violent illness strongly suggested that the sickness was Hotel related)

He denied totally any Hotel liability (Not surprising) and offered no satisfactory explanation or recompense or even apology for the 2 days I had to spend in a very bad Greek hospital and the 2 days my Wife had to spend in bed.

This experience led us to be extremely risk averse when it came to food, drink, swimming in the sea, etc, etc and blighted the rest of our holiday.

Real shame as we love Crete and had such a fabulous experience last time around.

The rooms are pretty basic as are the services but we do tend to stay at 5* resorts (we came to this one again because we had such a good time in 04)

Panormo on the wee bus was great and we abandoned the AI restaurant to eat Fresh food in some of the fantastic places dotted around Bali, Panormo, etc

Left a written complaint with the hotel management asking them to contact us to discuss our concerns and issues. The letter was never followed up by Iberostar management.

  • Liked — looks good
  • Disliked — Gastroentiritus
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catje 7
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Well I just want to say how wounderful this hotel was - the employees where so well mannered and helpful. The food was lovely and the entertainment was excellent. We had such a relaxing time and did not want to leave and intend to book to go again. We are a young couple and the was the choice of a quiet romantic meal or the lively night club if we wanted it. It was wonderful there. The bedding was clean and fresh and as we had a top floor balcony room we had fresh fruit and drinks everyday left for us. The bar staff made you feel so welcome.

  • Liked — EMPLOYEES AND SURROUNDINGS
  • Disliked — LOCALTION TO LOCAL TOWN AND WATER PARK
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

visited for 2 weeks beginning july my husband and 15mth old son

just have to say how lovely it was - food and hotel excellent very clean

the staff were wonderful with my son - he even got some presents from the staff which was lovely - (ALSO RECEIVED PRESENT FROM ONE OF THE GUESTS!!!!!! CHICKEN POX!!!) but never mind

food------ so much choice you wont ever go hungry

pasta
lots of different salads
meat barbecue - seafood beef lamb pork rabbit
etc etc etc

a big mixture of nationalities - but all very friendly
have to say unfortunately though that there is a slight problem with sunbeds - if you dont put towels down then you wont find it very easy to find beds after 9am - believe it or not one woman picked up our bed AND OUR TOWEL and actually tried walking away with it - then had a cheek to have a go at US when we asked her what she was doing - we were not the only ones this happened too either - luckily we spotted her when we were in the swiming pool otherwise the cheeky moo would have made it

staff at reception very nice - especially evagelia, roulla, sebastian
and also the two girls who work in the jewellers - sindy and maria, so if anyone who reads this doesnt mind then please say hello from kerry franco and baby sal

not much else i can say apart from well worth the visit and the money and that we will visit again

  • Liked — staff and food and hotel -everything
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Address: Box 32 | Rethymnon, Panormos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panormos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panormos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare Hotel offers all-inclusive accommodations in Panormo. Perched next to two private coves, this top family-oriented hotel on the island of Crete is ideal for travelers looking for vacations full of traditional Greek charm. With breathtaking views of the Aegean Sea, this tranquil enclave is the perfect locale if you want to relax in a comfortable yet fabulous environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Creta Panorama Hotel Panormo
Iberostar Hotel Creta Panorama
Iberostar Hotel Panormo
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare Panormos, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.