We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Kastro

Taverna Kastro
Panormo Milopotamou | Rethimno Crete, Panormos, Crete 74057, Greece
+30 693 709 7757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Panormos
4.5 of 5 stars 213 Reviews
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Greek, Vegan, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Kastro ! Dine in comfort under the lush canopy of our Figus tree,or indoors near our extensive bar,enjoy friendly excellent service. Let our chefs prepare you a traditional Cretan meal,enjoy the healthy benefits of grilled meat or fish,freshly prepared local produce and our own organic olive oil. Treat yourselves to some delicious Greek or Cretan wine,and finish with Raki shots to complete the Cretan experience ! Welcome ! " Let food be your medicine and medicine be your food " (Hippocrates)
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

In a two week stay we visited Kastro four times. The food is excellent especially the courgette balls. The owner and his family a very attentive. Fantastic service and food, the atmosphere is perfect. Thanks so much, the perfect Greek Taverna

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    48
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“try the apaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

very nice place to sit under a flower roof. Dishes are very tasty, especially the apaki and the olive pate they serve for free to be spread on home made bread as a appetizer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had several meals here and everytime its faultless, very welcoming and George the son is lovely, no faults with the food, if you want something traditional this is the place. We live here and always bring our family and friends here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved the food and the service is excellent. Not sure it deserves the number one spot in Panormos as the house wine is not to many people's taste and whilst there is a good alternative wine list, it is expensive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Taverna Kastro, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear JuliaParsons
I really appreciate for taking time to write this wonderful review.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again and offer you the best service we can!

Best wishes from Panormo !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osthofen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can´t wait to go back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just want to thank the Family Vogiatzoglou and crew for 2 great evenings in their restaurant. The Creten home-cooking was delicious. The service and hospitality was like being with family and friends. A complimentary Creten Raki and dessert at the end of each evening was the cherry on top. Price, cán´t be beat for this type of quality and service. All we can say is, "If you´re in the area enjoy a visit at Taverna Kastro!" Inge & Chris form Germany

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Taverna Kastro, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Christopher W
I really appreciate for taking time to write this wonderful review.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again and offer you the best service we can!

Best wishes from Panormo !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kastro also viewed

Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Kastro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.