We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Blanca to your Saves list
Cala Blanca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Abaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138 Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€39 (EUR)
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Mogan
Wigton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First I have to admit we are Diamond members, so for us this was an obvious choice, however if you arn't a member and get the chance to stay here then I would definatley take it, just be aware that Diamond are basically a time share/holliday ownership company and will be keen to sell there products to you. Our experiences with Diamond havn't always been great (more over administration and some of their tactics in the early days), however as we have started to use them more over the past few years my confidence in them has grown, and I can't fault any of the accomadations we've visited thus far. Ownership isn't for everyone though so think long and hard. As for this particular hotel it is fantastic, the staff are so very friendly and always happy to help, be it advice on where to visit, where to eat or simply ordering a taxi. The bar staff are just as friendly and hold many themed evenings (we didn't attend many but everyone seemed quite happy with them). The bar also has two happy hours a day at 17:00 and 22:00, with by one, get one free drinks which is very good value. The hotel food is good value and quite nice and the resteraunt is open till 23:00, which was handy on the first evening when we landed quite late. Most other evenings we ventured into Pueto Mogan to the harbour side where there is a great range of places offering quality food (we reccomend Basils Bistro as the best of the lot). The pool area is clean and has a life gaurd at all times to give you that sense of safety. The one complaint here would be the lack of sunbeds and fact that there appears to be no managment of this, for us this isn't that important as generally we go exploring with the kids but it would have been nice the odd time we were at the poolside to have somewhere to sit etc. Our room was of such a high standard, with a modern finish, all the mod cons and a balcony and view to die for. All in all this is the perfect place for a chilled out family holliday.

Room Tip: The 1Bed apartments are more than spacious enough if you just have 1/2 young children, this way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We’re really pleased that you chose to use your membership to visit Cala Blanca, and that you had a great time here! We feel sure that the advice and recommendations you’ve given in your review will be really appreciated by other travellers, too.

We hope you’ll come back here for another holiday, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    26
    9
    18
See reviews for
57
118
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Appartments
Absolutely superb, spacious, clean and extremely well-equipped. Very comfortable beds and good amount of storage. Apartments have air-conditioning in the bedrooms and livingroom and our apartment had 2 ipod/phone docking stations. Balconies are huge with enough space for a table, chairs, sunbeds and more besides. Views were very good- over the local bay. We booked a 2 bed and a 1 bed and both were excellent. The 2 bed had 2 balconies- one very large off the living room and one small from the upstairs bedroom.
Pool Area
Reasonably large, usually sunbeds and shades available (but not always). Small shop and restaurant (see below).
Restaurant and Bar
Very good, excellent service. Food was good and the price was comparable with other restaurants in the area. Around 8 Euros for a pizza, 8 for a chicken salad, bottle of wine 12.50. Drinks were also comparable, but two for one at happy hour- so well worth a visit at 5-6 and 10-11! Menu was varied enough and suitable for all. Room service is available free of charge.
Entertainment
Average- English and Spanish solo artists. The English one was quite good, but it was a little electronic/Bontempi backing music at times with the others.
Other Amenities
There is a tennis court and a Wii and table tennis table. The gym is small but has a range of equipment, including 2 bikes, a treadmill, some staic machines and a few free weights and some mats. However, there is no air con (only a couple of fans) and working out in there was rather hot. There is a jacuzzi just outside the gym.
Steps
As stated on the website, there were quite a few steps, lifts take you most of the way but there were about 80 steps necessary up to the pool- they are entriely safe and well maintained, just require a little effort. We were happy to climb them- good way to keep fit! There were further steps up to the reception. We found it fine, but elderly or infirm people, or those moving prams around would find it a hassle.
Location
The location is lovely, looking out over Taurito Bay. It's about a 15 minute walk down to the bay area where there are various attractions for all the family, with a beautiful small bay and a lovely cafe with reasonably-priced drinks and food. We recommend the hairdresser's there. There is a free bus from the hotel from 10am going to Puerto de Mogan about 3 or 4 times a day and also to Puerto Rico a similar number of times. It returns around 6pm. Taxis are around 10-15 euros each way.
Reception
Staff are very friendly and mostly speak good English. They are happy to book trips etc. for you. However, don't book your airport transfer from there- shop around on the internet and book both ways (getting a bus is a hassle). We paid 67 euros there booked on the internet and 90 on the way back booked with the hotel. There are free DVD to borrow, reasonably good range of films for all ages and tastes.

All in all, we had an excellent time and I would definitely recommend the resort. We took 3 teenagers and a child with 2 adults and all enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: Book your airport transfers on line (Las Palmas 24 was 67 euros) Go to the happy hour at the bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review of your stay at Club Cala Blanca! We’re delighted that you had a wonderful stay here, and we feel sure that other visitors will really benefit from the information you’ve provided. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having tepidly purchased a groupon deal a few months ago we were quite wary of our where we would end up....How wrong could we have been!!! We had two very spacious one bedroom appartments between four adults and one child ( more than enough) fully equipped with everything we could have ever needed for our 10 night stay. The beds were great, living area slightly dated but still extremely comfortable and the best part of the appartment was the expanse balcony with beautiful view. We were on level two (close to the road) but were not disturbed at all by traffic...as there was none! My little girl loved the swimming pool and the daily activities she got involved in, the staff were brilliant in trying to get everyone up. We used the shuttle bus/taxis regularly to visit puerto de mogan which is a stunning little village with great restaurants and beach and also really enjoyed the hill walk down to taurito's own beach promenade.

Aside from all of the above the true Gems of club Cala Blanca are the staff who are there on a daily basis who made us feel extremely welcome, comfortable and well thought of...Antonio deserves a day off as he is fantastic!!!!!

Thankyou for our wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, especially about the team. We are glad to know you had a lovely time here with us and hope that you may decide to visit us again in the future!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I are Diamond Resorts International owners so used our points for this trip. Extremely comfortable one bedroom apartment with a large and secluded terrace. The bed was extremely good. The resort pool is saline and very warm - a real treat. The on site restaurant produced tasty food at reasonable prices, with happy hour. A rental car is essential, although there is minibus service to Puerto Mogan, offered as complementary to guests. All the staff are friendly and the resort is clean and well-maintained. Probably not an ideal destination for those who struggle with stairs.

Room Tip: As is well-documented here, higher is better. We were on level 5 (of 6), which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed there for a month and it is a great place. Beautiful ocean and sunset vievs from very big terrace. Kitchen has everything you may need. Staff is really looking after nice lads and ladies in the reception and bar.
Taurito is a nice quiet resort town so if thats the way you want is perfect (no nightclubs and discos) but only few minutes drive to Puerto Rico with new tunnel.
Overall great stay cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: The higher the better as usual
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and you had such a lovely and relaxing time with us. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I had a week in a studio apartment at Club Cala Blanca. The apartment was lovely (well equipped kitchen including dishwasher), ceiling fans, air-conditioning in each room, attractive bathroom. Our apartment was on the ground floor of this "stepped" hotel, well away from the bar/restaurant area. We were close to the coastal road to Playa del Cura, so there was some traffic, but not too much since the new road to Taurito has been completed.

The hotel itself offers an excellent free shuttle bus service to Puerto de Mogan, Ammadores and Puerto Rico several times a day. Inside the hotel, we lovely the "Willy Wonka" glass elevators, complete with gorgeous views over the nearby bay/sea.

There is a lovely pool plus sauna, jacuzzi, tennis, table tennis, pool etc. This hotel is a Diamond Resort, so quality is pretty much guaranteed.

The location could be an issue for some. There are no nearby shops and restuarants, so if you stay make sure you make good use of the free shuttle bus, or the excellent local bus service which runs from the bottom of the hill. Or take taxis of course.

The one big disappointment was the hotel restuarant. It really is not good enough for a "good" hotel. The menu is very limited. The food is at best average. And the menu is one of the least attractively presented I have ever seen. However the bar does offer a happy hour for drinks twice a day (5pm til 6 and 10pm til 11). The staff are very friendly and helpful.

We had a lovely week, and would love to stay again :-)

Room Tip: the studio apartments are the cheapest option since they offer the least scenic views, but the flip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a week here with my partner. We had a lovely refurbished apartment on the first floor, which was level with the road. This road sees very little traffic and therefore no problem. It is in fact quieter than the higher level apartments which get the noise from pool area. None of these apartments are suitable for people with mobility problems as there are steps everywhere as they are built into a hillside. Bonus of the high location is the lovely views of the bay. I have never stayed in such a well equipped apartment. There was everything and more that you need on a self catering holiday. Plently of cooking pots and utensils, oven, hob and dishwasher. Also you are provided with washing-up liquid, dishwasher tablets, cloths, bin liners etc. They even provide you with a small carton of milk in the fridge which is great when arriving late when all the shops are closed. We had a one bed apartment which they describe as a studio. There was a big flat screen tv and an i pod/phone docking system in both the lounge and bedroom. Theres a few english speaking channels too. We had twin beds that had been pushed together and found them comfortable enough. Bathroom had bath with shower over it. Toiletries were provided but you dont get these replaced. The apartment was very clean on arrival but we didnt see maid/cleaning services until our last day. We did ring up to reception for clean towels a few times and were provided with them immediately.
The pool area is lovely with plenty of sun loungers and parasols. The water is so warm too. We spent most of our time at the pool.
My only fault with these apartments would be location. We arrived by transfer bus which stated would take 45 mins but in fact took over 2 hours. I thought we would never get there. After arriving at 11pm the last thing you need is a two hour bus ride round pitch dark coastal roads stopping off at 20 something hotels. Ours was the last stop! Other people we spoke to there had hired a car, which I think is a must. The nearest town for shopping, restaurants etc is probably about 10 mins by car, but the resort offers free minibus service to and from there but the service is limited. If you care to walk down the hill there is a public bus stop but dont forget you have to walk back up the hill when returning with your shopping. We got a taxi from bottom of hill for a couple of euros after getting off the bus.
Not much to do of an evening. The bar and restaurant was pretty quiet when we were there but the barstaff are really lovely. We had entertainment in the form of a guy singing with his guitar one night and a film on a large screen which no one watched!
Most of the guests we spoke to here were members of the Diamond Resort Group which is like timeshare. We have been to a few Diamond Resorts and they are usually of a very high standard. I think they may have recently taken this one on as you can see they are making improvements everywhere. We got a really good deal on our week stay but when refurbishment is finished I am sure this place willbe quite expensive.
Overal if your looking for a quiet relaxing holiday in the sun then this place is ideal. We loved it and would definately return. Many thanks to all the lovely staff here for a lovely week.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here at Club Cala Blanca and that the appointment and size of your apartment was to your satisfaction. As you have accurately noted, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and we hope that soon all apartments will be of a unified high standard. We do hope that you intend to visit us in the future as we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Blanca

Address: C/ Abaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138 Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mogan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rugged mountains and sparkling ocean, many of Cala Blanca's comfortable accommodations—which benefit from satellite TVs and feature full kitchens—enjoy wonderful views from tiered balconies of the exotic fauna and flora and volcanic craters of Gran Canaria, truly one of the last European paradise isles. Indeed, Cala Blanca is a stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location boasting tranquil days and nights along the black sand beach of Playa Taurito; sheltered by the headlands, it's the perfect place to wile away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Blanca Hotel Mogan
Hotel Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca Gran Canaria/Mogan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.