We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miguel de Unamuno, 11, 38770 Tazacorte, La Palma, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tazacorte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ås
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have had time to digest our four nights at this marvellous place and we are still convinced that you can hardly find a better place to stay.as long as you are not looking for cheap accommodation. On the front gate it says: "HE", which we learnt means Hotel emblematico, which again tells you it is a place not only for sleeping and eating but also a place which contains cultural items. Entering the hotel was like walking into a museum with a host of fascinating artefacts and 17th century paintings. Furthermore, we experienced wonderful service by a smiling staff, among the maids, in the restaurant and at the reception. The inner yard with the pool, sauna and jacuzzi was a peaceful retreat which gave us the feeling of real luxury. Being situated in the middle of banana plantations this is a place of tranquility but in addition we appreciated the hotel's greeting. "We welcome all children over 18". The restaurant provided exquisite meals, and our room was good also offering a view to the Atlantic. The location is also very good, a 20 minute walk, and you are down at the beach. We hope to come back to this jewel of Tazacorte.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we found it necessary to write this review.....In October 2012 we visited La Palma and heard about the new hotel that had just opened. We had also heard that it was possible to eat at the restaurant "El Sitio" even if you weren't a hotelguest. So, we decided to try it, and boy, did we not regret it!! The atmosphere is absolutely fabulous. When you arrive you will find a very warm and pleasant welcome by Carlos and David two lovely waiters who know their trade and make guests feel very comfortable. The food prepared by Georg (from south Germany and who talks very passioned about his job) is fantastic and has unique and innovative flavours. (Try the steak tartare as a starter, which is (very well!) prepared at your table by Carlos.) The main courses, a great choice of meat and fish dishes are a real feast for the taste buds. Also the barraquito-mousse is an absolute must. We liked it so much that we immediately booked for a second time later on in the week. Next time when we visit La Palma we will certainly go back there. Thank you Carlos, David and Georg!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved the Hacienda de Abajo. We stayed 7 nights in early January in a standard room, which was superb. This a unique hotel situated in Tazacorte town’s centre, close to local amenities and within walking distance (about 20 minutes) from the black sand Tazacorte beach and the port. Everything is beautiful in this hotel – the ambiance, delicious food, first class service. The hotel is based in the former residence of local trading family and boasts an unbelievable art collection consisting of paintings, porcelain, antiques, tapestries, etc. The facilities are excellent, especially their wonderful bathhouse which offers a Jacuzzi bath, sauna and massages. The hotel’s restaurant serves food of a very high standard; it may be Michelin star quality but that accolade is not a current priority for the management. The staff are all very professional and friendly, most of them speak at least 3 languages (e.g. Spanish, German, English) and go out of their way to ensure that every guests’ wishes are fulfilled. We did not hire a car and relied on local buses and organised tours. It worked for us just fine, as we love walking. We particularly enjoyed the solid climb from Tazacorte beach up to El Time, and the 16k trek through magnificent Caldera National Park. Also, not to be missed is Santa Cruz the beautiful capital of La Palma (very accessible by bus) and the dolphin spotting trip on the ‘Fantasy’. Overall, we had a fabulous time and definitely would like to return to La Palma and the Hacienda de Abajo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

La Palma is the most beautiful Canary Island and this hotel is the most luxurious and calm of the island. Its rooms and communal areas are plenty of incredible antiques and they have a little but ver nice spa and a no children policy which make the hotel a perfect place to rest. The service is perfect and everything is prepared to have the most luxurious holiday you can imagine for the rate paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

La Palma is the most westerly of the Canary islands and is the greenest. Since weather is an important part of most visits to the Canaries, before reporting on the hotel it is useful to consider it's location within the islands weather regions. The north is the coolest and wettest, the south is fairly barren and usually windy. The east, where the capital, airport and most hotels, are located gets a lot of cloud as moist air is forced up toe 2000M high central spine. The west enjoys the best weather and on the west coast is the agricultural town of Tazacorte which seems to have it's own sunny micro-climate. The Hotel Hacienda de Abajo has been cleverly located in a clearing in a banana plantation a hundred meters or so below the lovely historic old centre of Tazacorte.
We have spent 4 holidays in Tazacorte, in self catering accommodation, during the past 11 years and now there is finally a hotel option which we used in November this year.
The hotel is small with 32 bedrooms and is adults only, finally opened in October. It is remarkable in that it's existence results from the long standing wish of an old and wealthy Spanish family to have a hotel in which they can showcase the incredible quantity of antiques, which they have aquired over the centuries. We have little knowledge of antiques but did note a high Chinese and Spanish content, some items from the 1st and 7th centuries and that certain items were claimed to be beyond value. The antiques are literally everywhere, including the bedrooms. As you would expect, security is 24 hours and tight without being intrusive.
On arrival, you are greeted as a honoured family member and conducted to your room by the receptionist. Staff stand up when you approach them and you are addressed by your style and surname.
Most of the public rooms are located in a 17 th century sugar plantation estate house, the bedrooms are in new build 2 storey (ground +1) blocks. The standard of workmanship is extremely high, everything worked well including the climate control. The TV chanel selection / picture quality were excellent. We had a first floor superior double which was enormous. The beds very comfortable but unusual as they are more than 3 ft high. We were informed that steps are available if required. The balcony had a good view and allowed for both sun and shade, but privacy was less than perfect due to the low wall between balconies.
The gardens were planted several years ago, before building started, and are surprisingly mature and beautiful. The pool was clean and warm with high quality pool furniture.
The hotel does have a secure car park which is just as well as the road down is short but narrow.
We ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions. Prices and quality were reasonable but we preferred eating the port and town.
One set of steps down from the first floor bedrooms are currently badly lit. We suggest taking a torch until this is confirmed as corrected.
In summary - This is a small quiet competently run hotel in a very convenient and pleasant location. It is however quite expensive and in order to get value you will need to appreciate antiques and get satisfaction from attention and personal service.

Room Tip: We had room 31 which was excellent. We would expect any of the first rooms in this block to be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels

Address: Miguel de Unamuno, 11, 38770 Tazacorte, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Tazacorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tazacorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda de Abajo is the result of a careful renovation of an ancient XVII century sugar estate. Decorated with unique art objects of the 1st - 20th century, the first "emblematic hotel" on the Canary islands combines traditional elegance and style with modern amenities. Each of our 32 rooms has been individually decorated. Therefore each stay in our hotel will be an unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo By Vikhotels Tazacorte, La Palma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda De Abajo by vikhotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.