We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb - don't hesitate to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilios and Irene

Ilios and Irene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ilios and Irene to your Saves list
Ilios and Irene
Main Street, Mastichari 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mastichari B&B and Inns
West Yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply superb - don't hesitate to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ilios and Irene gets our vote as the best hotel of it's kind we have visited in 20 trips to Greece. What makes it special?
Room - Ours was very spacious with 2 balconies and 4 beds even though there were only 2 of us, airy, spotlessly clean and with air-con included in the price.... and yes you can put your toilet paper down the loo!
Location - An easy 400m walk into the village but situated just far enough away to ensure peace and quiet - not that Mastihari has any noise problems.
Staff - the manager/owner Socrates was fantastic. Unfailingly helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for him or indeed his staff, they were all brilliant.
Food - At 4 euro the breakfast was excellent value and highly recommended. We also attended the barbecue, not something we would normally do to be frank, but we were glad we did as the whole evening was great fun and the range and quality of home cooked food (not just usual BBQ stuff but every Greek dish you could want) was first class.
Resort - perfect for everyone except the 18-30 crowd. Ideal for families or couples who want a relaxing but fun holiday. There are plenty of good quality restaurants in Mastihari, our own recommendation would be "Traditional House" which faces on to the beach. The owner produces his own ingredients and that is reflected in the quality of the dishes on offer. Make sure you go into the kitchen and try the days specials. We paid around £30 for starters and main courses for 2 with a litre of wine and large water.
Car Hire - We felt Mastihari had the best beach on the island but it's well worth hiring a car to see more of Kos. Fenaretti travel gave us a Fiat Panda (ideal for 2 people) for 3 days for 85 euro as we got a discount for staying at Ilios and Irene.
Negatives? - Can't think of any, so we will certainly be returning.
Final point - If you visit Greece and are thinking of going "All Inclusive", please consider that the All Inclusive complexes are killing the local economy. The companies which own these places don't employ local people, they bring in East Europeans and pay them 300 Euro a month. The end result is that the local people don't benefit and their already tough economic situation gets even worse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a lovely place, situated on the edge of Mastihari village and not too far from the tavernas, shops and beach.
On arrival (late evening) I was given a welcoming plate of mezes, a bottle of water and an ouzo. A really nice touch and much appreciated.
My apartment was huge and most unexpected as I was travelling solo. How often are solo travellers given the smallest room? - well not here! It was equipped for four people, so four of everything including beds. And it had lots of little extras too, like an iron and ironing board, washing up liquid and tea towel etc. A lot of thought had been put into what the visitor might need. I found the bed a little hard for my liking but that is just a personal opinion.There were two balconies, one off of the kitchen and one off of the bedroom so you could always catch the sun whatever the time of day.
I took breakfast every day(4 euros) and was never disappointed. The manager was a delight and made everyone feel welcome. He really seemed to enjoy his work.
This is Greece as we all think of it, simple and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessano, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ilos and Irene is the best place to spend your Holidays in Mastichari. I've been there last June with all my family, I spent my time in a paradise, the service is perfect and the owner of the hotel is very kind. I hope to see you again and that you remember me.
Emanuele.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I wanted to write this review quite a while ago but couldn't find the hotel on TA.
I'm glad I finally did, especially after reading with amazement the "touristsupertramp" review.
I can only firmly oppose these critics : the rooms if simple, are huge, clean with big balconies and very helpful details ( iron, etc...). Lovely flowery garden, quiet place but most of all the unique hospitality of the owner Sokratis. Welcome at 10.00pm on arrival with open arms and a plate of Mézés + Fresh water as well as a traditional glass of Ouzo...I Only stayed one night before going to the island of Kalymnos but will not forget the beautiful feeling...and will come back...as for breakfast on the terrace, I was spoilt : warm brioches, jams and honey lovely Expressos, even a Croque Monsieur spayed with local herbs...this guy is dedicated to his guests, don't miss it...I Had a huge appartment with a huge terrace and flowers were not forgotten...Mastichari is a quiet authentic little haven with a lovely beach and cristal clear waters...I Recommend it warmly...
And for the complainers of all sorts : if you find such a nice place around for such a small price, please let me know!

Room Tip: Mine was having a huge balcony facing south....lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here in the summer with our three children and would be happy to recommend it to other families. The apartment we stayed in was large and sufficiently well equipped, with thoughtful extras such as a hairdryer, an iron and air conditioning. Having two terraces made it feel airy. The owner, Socratis was welcoming and helpful and the fact that there was a bar and reception area made it feel like an easygoing hotel. The children were always made to feel welcome and the younger two loved being able to order ice-creams from the bar. the nearby Half Time Pool Bar is an equally family friendly place. There are plenty of tavernas in the village selling good Greek food and the beach is sandy with a wonderful view over to Kalymnos. The rest of Kos can be easily accessed by car or public transport. If you want to find out more information about the area the website mastihari-uncovered.com is a good starting point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Yes Sokratis the owner is friendly and makes a good breakfast for a little price (4 euros). I didn´t hear traffic noise from the road by day or night, but at night dogs barking, cocks crowing. Of course we are in the country and one could object that these things should have been expected ; but I was not aware that cocks could crow at 2h07 a.m. and not only at dawn. As a result and as I am a light sleeper, I didn´t sleep well all week. The mattress was too hard for me, but I suppose that for someone else it might be OK. Internet is free in the reception room and there is WiFi. Cleanliness was good, be it the room, the bed sheets or the towels.

A garden was mentioned in a previous review, but I didn´t see it. There is a little alley, 1,5-2 meters broad from the building to the fence of the next property. At the back of the house there is a kind of garden but not very well kept. Well kept with two loungers it could be a nice place for relaxing. There is a nice terrace near the breakfast room where one can have a drink.

On the whole, for the price paid one can see it as OK.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

good accomodation set in peaceful spot only 3 to 4 minutes walk out of village centre and beach.
Large clean rooms with A/C included for free.
Separate kitchen and dining area with fridge , toaster etc, even an iron and ironing board.
Nice little bar and breakfast area.
Possibly best of all an excellent host in Sokratis the manager who offers you a typical warm
greek welcome and will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilios and Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilios and Irene

Address: Main Street, Mastichari 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mastichari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ilios and Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilios And Irene Kos/Mastichari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilios and Irene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.