We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, great food, great for families with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel to your Saves list
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mastichari, Mastichari 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great beach, great food, great for families with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We spent 1 week with my family in this hotel in June, 2010. We have a 1-year old son and the grandparents came with us as well.

Rooms:
It was a great surprise that even though we booked a double room we got a 2-room-appartment. It was very comfortable that our son had his separate room.
Room quite basic, but clean. Our bathroom though was in strong need of improvement: the tap did not work, it was rusty on the sides of the door... Grandparents' rooms had no such problems.
Our room had a great location: half a minute from the beach and 1 minute from the pool and restaurants.
There is a new part of the hotel, it seemed it was built a couple of years ago only. However, it is nearly 10 minutes walk from the restaurants!

Food:
After the 3rd day you just can't choose as meals are the same.... Some of them are changed but all in all they are all the same every day... Cookies are the same. There was no fruits only pears and oranges every day and apple once. Restaurant staff is really kind and helpful.
There is a thematic restaurant, you can register there. There are Greek, Italian, Chineese and Fish nights. We tried Greek and Italian nights. They were OK but not extraordinary...
Snacks available at the pool bar. Sadly food is the same every day: some cookies (left from breakfast I assumed), pizza slices, sandwiches and ice cream. There was no change in the variety during the week. You can have free cocktails, which are OK.

Beach:
Sandy and clean!! We loved it. Sunbeds for free but you have to get one early in the morning, otherwise there won't be any free sunbeds left. (Early morning means 5-6)

Reception:
Most of the staff were not kind or helpful at all. When we arrived it turned out that baby cot has to be paid. It came as a surprise as we were not informed before. It costs 28 EUR/week.

Animation:
We tried aqua gym which was great. We went to the Greek night, which we loved. There are a lot of programmes for the youngs but for adults, too. Enthusiastic animation team.
We were lucky because late night programs did not disturb us but those who stayed closer to the stages might not get sleep until programmes finish...

Pools:
They are OK, though we spent most of our times on the beach.

Other:
There are 2 playgrounds, our son loved them.
There were always enough baby chairs in the restaurant.
Mastichari village is a nice walk away, only cca. 25 minutes and there is a new pavement along the beach. Worth visiting one afternoon.
Rent a car for a day and see the island. Kos city is a great place to visit.
Mosquitos: there are lots of them in the night, be careful!!
There is a shop across the street: you can buy useful things there and at good prices.
There is also an Internet Cafe across the street, high speed internet for only 2 EUR/30 minutes.

All in all we would go back to this place again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    173
    109
    42
    32
See reviews for
188
150
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We have just arrived back from our 2 week family holiday. We have 2 children our son has just turned 4 and our daughter is 3.

We stayed in the new part of the Achilleas and it was lovely, very clean (they even mopped the paths!).

The staff were really good especially the gentleman in reception, when we lost our sons precious teddy he went out of his way to ensure we got it back.

The food was good lots of choice, baring in mind they had a lot to cater for, it was always hot. My only grumble would be I would have liked more fresh fruit.

There wasn't many english families but the animation team tried there best to cater for all nationalities. They were really nice people and worked really hard. the kids loved the mini disco and learn't some German and Italian songs.
I definitely feel like I've had a holiday, mission accomplished.

The hotel is a little isolated as Masrachi is about a brisk 15 min walk and in hot weather the kids did't want to walk there, although the hotel does provided a bus every day to Kos town for 7 euro's for adults under 12s free, I recommend you get a map of kos town as the bus drops you on a car park and then you have to find the sights. you have to book your seats the day before.

I hope this is helpful to someone as when I was researching the hotel I was worried after reading previous reviews.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We returned from the Achilleas beach on 2nd June and had a good week there.

After having our flights changed from early morning flights to afternoon/nights with On The Beach/Goldtrail Travel without an acceptable reason, we were ready for a holiday. Warning - DO NOT BOOK WITH OTB/Goldtrail, their terms and conditions should read we can do exactly what we want. There was absolutely no customer care whatsoever, frankly they didn't give a damn. They will certainly NOT be getting any further business from us!

The hotel itself is clean and tidy and we were given lovely rooms which overlooked the sea, along with a basket of fruit and wine as it was our anniversary. The complex is spacious and well thought out. The main pool is very large but relatively shallow - so no diving, There was no problem with sunbeds, although it did get busy into the half term week,

The main restaurant is a little Butlins like, but the food is adequate and the staff friendly. There is a pool bar and a beach bar serving rolls, pizza from 10am to 6pm. The main bar and seating area is pleasant but AL drinks finish at 11pm and my husband had definately had enough of the beer by the end of week. The wine is OK, Entertainment every evening. We didn't try the themed evenings so I can't comment on these. My teenage boy was happy with the daytime events, darts, water polo etc.

The hotel run a bus into Kos Town which was rather disappointing, Kalymanos which can accessed via the ferry from Mastichari is far nicer,

Mastichari has a handful of tavernas where the food is good and reasonable.

I don't think we would return here but for a cheap week away it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Have just returned home from family week away at the Achilleas Beach Hotel in Kos. The hotel is beautifully layed out amongest lovely gardens filled with beautiful flowers etc,. The accommodation we stayed in was great and kept spotlessly cleaned by the staff. From our terrace we had a view of the sea and also the pool area. The swimming pool and the poolside area was lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds. You didn't have to get up early to grab a bed. The food was excellent with a huge variety of dishes everyday. The children certainly enjoyed being able to help themselves to drinks, ice creams and cakes/biscuits from the poolside bar and from the restaurant. There is a costal path which takes about 15 minutes to walk to the little fishing village nearby. From the village you can take a boat over to the nearby islands. The hotel also provides a bus into Kos town, which is definitely worth a visit. There is a fantastic waterpark nearby which we took the children to (quite pricey), but it was great fun. I would imagine it might get busy if you went in August. We didn't have to queue for any of the rides (some of them are very scary). Would definitely love to go back there again. I booked the Hotel and the flight separately which worked out a lot cheaper and then got ourselves a taxi when we arrived a the airport. The taxi ride was less then 10 minutes and cost 15 euros. If you are looking for lots of nightlife etc, and partying with young adults/teenagers then you would find this Hotel too quiet. But for families or couples just wanting to get away from everything and have a relaxing time, then yes this is the Hotel for you.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We went to the Eurovillage after reading several conflicting reviews, having stayed there I can now advise as it REALLY is.
Lovely Hotel , Staff-. Excellent friendly and helpful.
Food- Wonderful, massive choice, well presented, well cooked
Accomodation - Sufficient, spotless, bedding changed regularly
Grounds- Well looked after, all areas SCRUBBED daily.
Pool- Cleaned daily, sufficient beds.
Entertainment- Mediocre at best.
Beach- Private, clean catered for by means of Beach Cafe, plenty of beds

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

we arrived at 3 am in the morning got send to a boiling hot room full of mosquitos found no air con was 20 euro deposit plus 36euro 7 days rent even though we now would only have 6! tv remote extra! (we used without as no english channels!) pools very dull but clean kids club often cancelled but boring for our 2 year old when it happened. ,dont expect to see other english our dughter befriended a dutch girl! as for drinks almost no cocktails included towels not provided for pool/beach! front desk staff dont like to help so I hope you have no problems! 1 good point veiw out off our room fantastic sea view!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We went to KOS with my partner and chose Achilleas as it was recommended, which I can understand why. The hotel is on its own, with its own beach areas, you can find peaceful places for yourself where nobody disturbs you at all. The outlook (apartmans, rooms, furniture, plants, etc) are very nice. Renting a motorbike was one of the greatest ideas of ours, it was so good to go all the way to KOS town and checking out the surrounding cities like that. (as the hotel is kinda secluded, you would need a bike or walk to the bus station to get to the more crowded areas/towns. The Aqua Park is also nearby.
The food was good, we had all inclusive, the only problem with that was between breakfast and dinner, there were like 4 types of drinks you could have, the rest wasn't included....
There were loads of shows, which was fun, but those didnt disturb us when we stayed in the room in the evening. The other small problem was the pool size, I think it was too small for the amount of people stayed there. Altough it didn't really bother us as you had the sea in like 100metres. The service was satisfactory, altough, we had to wait for smaller things too for quite a while, but I guess we didn't (want to) care, so it all depends on how you look at it.
All in all, KOS is a great island and if anyone going there, I would recommend Achilleas Beach Hotel for sure either for couples or for families.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel

Address: Mastichari, Mastichari 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurovillage Achilleas kós
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel Kos/Mastichari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.