We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would and will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luis Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mastichari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luis Apartments
Save
You added Luis Apartments to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mastichari, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
westmidlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“would and will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First I would like to say in response the pops!!! who ever he may be I have never visited and no intention of visiting Butlins and find his judgemental/ intolerant attitude very offensive ! We have been going to Mastihari for over 12 years and have stayed at ilios irene, christina and now for the first time the Luis apts so I feel qualified to give an unbiast review. The Luis was as good a standard of any other I have stayed in very clean and good services,both my husband who is very critical and myself could not fault the accomodation or Nicos and Paula. What pops heard was the sound of people enjoying themselves which may be alien to some people, we stayed there at the same time as he did and did not find any of the other guests offensive at all they were just nice people having a good time. If we wanted to have quiet time we just went to the beach , or another pool we often use. All in all we would happily stay here again and are already looking to return to the area next year.
Food at the pool snack bar was resonably priced and tasty, and Nicos makes a mean cappucino,I also had a wonderful massage by a lovely local lady (a birthday present ) who was advertised in the reception and bought bed etc to our room I can highly recommend her if you fancy treating yourself her name was Anna and price was very resonable. We would eat at any of the restraunts in the village gladly but we do have a couple of favourites Mavros on the beach front and the Kali Kardia on the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Yet again a brilliant holiday at the Luis. Nikos, Paola and boys are a hard working family who are there to provide you with drinks, snacks, meals and any assistance guidance or help with any matters that you need during your stay with them. They provide excellent value on their themed nights and many guests meet up on these nights and return year on year. We don't normally do reviews but we have seen a couple of reviews here that we both disagree with and are appalled by. We have visited Mastihari for the last 9 years and sometimes two or even three times in the same year. Never have we ever been disappointed with the Luis or Mastihari. We have brought family and friends to share this wonderful jewel of a place and made lots of very good friends who we meet up with year on year. We have never had bad service, this is not a noisy place to stay and the rooms are spotlessly clean and you have adequate facilities in your room should you feel the need to cook or remain in your room. However you can order food from the pool bar when it is open and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The people in the village are only too happy to help and assist you. We can assure anyone who stays here will want to return again. You can get spectacular sunsets from your balcony and you will never tire of the views.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same standard so you don't need to be selective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from another holiday in the luis apartments, we have been returning to the luis for several years, and I think that speaks for itself. I don't usually write reviews, however I felt compelled to do so after reading the review of what I now refer to as "dungeon man",(you will find his review slightly further down the page). The luis apartments are quite basic, however no more basic than what you usually find in Greece. They are spotlessly clean, and are managed by Nico and Poala who can't do enough for you. The food and drinks are very reasonably priced if you fancy a day around the pool, which by the way, is the cleanest pool I have ever had the pleasure to swim in. The towels and bed linen are very clean and of good standard and not at all like brillo pads. The review further down where I use broadly the "gentleman" who referred to noisy tourists was most unfriendly and his idea of no privacy meant both himself and his wife often walked about their room naked however did not close the curtain, they also displayed no modesty on their balcony, I personally did not find this offensive, however some people may well have done, he obviously did therefore can I suggest he closes the curtain or shutters in future. The rooms are basic but they have all the facilities necessary, he maybe didn't notice the curtain and shutters. The rooms are all the same standard, and nobody else seemed to complain, I holiday abroad at least 3 times a year often in 5 star accommodation, however I always return to the Luis as these are the friendlies apartments I have ever had the good fortune to stay in. We have stayed here as a couple or with family or friends and have never had any comlaints.

Room Tip: Mastichari is so lovely you will spend very little time in your room, therefore room number is unimp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

have just come home from luis aparts staying in the old block opposite the pool and it resembled staying in a council tenement block!! although the room was basic and i suppose adequate, the noise and lack of privacy was terrible. we couldnt go out on our balcony without being in the middle of people shouting across at each other from early in the morning and the same every evening! we had no hot water until the afternoon and only 2 huge pots to cook with. we have been travelling to Greece for a number of years but found these apartments resembled Benidorm on a bad day! luckily the rest of Mastihari is a beautiful quiet village and once away from our 'hostel' we met some lovely gentle folk (mostly staying at Christina)!
These apartments clearly attract folk who want Butlins type holiday, rather than the romantic private holiday.
we hardly saw the guy who was supposed to run the place but have to say the maid was lovely and was doing her job really well.
we will visit Mastihari again to see new friends and old but will stay clear of these apartments which appear to be misplaced in this idyllic village.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Luis and we will be returning.The rooms were basic but kept clean .We had the room overlooking number 325.(we had hot water every day),as the Luis is in 2 blocks facing each if you want privacy in small apts close the curtains a nod and a smile go a long way in Greece If you do this to the owner Nicos you get what you give.The swiming pool is one of the cleanest we have ever been in cleaned every day The apts are in an ideal place near the sea and the village of Mastichari is a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to the luis apartments since 2002 mostly twice a year. We have just retuned and already we have booked for three weeks next September. It's like "going home" the people are so friendly and Nikos the owner can not do enough for you. He is so accommodating, working 16/17 hours a day. We have met some of the nicest people there who are now our good friends. It's like extended family. Please don't be put off by the few miserable people who have wrote on here. I don't think these people have been to Greece before! Yes it's basic, it's Greece. But it's a jewel in the crown that is Kos! Mastichari is the most beautiful place I have ever been that's why I keep going back, the luis is the best apartments by far. A lovely pool the cleanest I have ever seen, cleaned every single night without fail. The pool bar is reasonable and has a really extensive menu. The kitchen in the apartments is basic but then I don't go on holiday to cook so it doesn't matter. It is just a short 5 minute walk to the beach and a nice slow 10 minute walk to the village. There are plenty of restaurants and tavernas, our favourite being the Harama. The village is quite traditionally Greek and it is a working harbour so there are a lot of fish restaurants. Kos town and kardamena are only a bus ride away if you fancy a change. It is very quiet and relaxing in Mastichari so if you are a party animal then it's not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just come home after spending 2 wonderful weeks at the Luis Apartments. We had a very warm welcOme from NIKOS (the owner) and friends that we had arranged to meet there. That set the bar for our fab hOliday. Everyone was friendly.

The apartments themselves whilst being typical basic, were cleaned every day by the lovely Maria. Nothing was too much trouble for Nikos and Paola. And everyone ( apart from someone who did nothing but moan who I shall call Dungeon) was so friendly, it was like meeting up with family.

Most people who stay at the Luis return there year after year. We really enjoyed our stay there and are already booked to go again next year and meet up with new friends!!

The NIkos Apartments is located 5 minutes from a gorgeous beach and 10 mins from the shops and restaurants.

The place to stay if you want quick access to everywhere. We would definitely recommend staying at the Luis to anyone!

Can't wait to see everyone next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luis Apartments

Address: Mastichari, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mastichari
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
Hotel Class:2 star — Luis Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 167
Also Known As:
Luis Apartments Kos/Mastichari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luis Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.