We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome we've ever received” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crabtree River Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crabtree River Cottages
Save
You added Crabtree River Cottages to your Saves list
Crabtree Road, Grove, Tasmania 7109, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warmest welcome we've ever received”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Anna and Garry are the perfect hosts at this lovely, laid back and q-u-i-e-t spot in the stunning Huon Valley area. It is a retreat in the truest sense of the word, with birds, marsupials and the rushing water of the river the only interruptions to the solitude. We deeply regretted jamming so many activities into our brief stay here in The Loft, as it meant we only came back late at night for sleeping before setting off early the next morning each day. If we stay again, we will schedule time simply to sit and enjoy the peace. And we may never leave!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charters Towers, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

arriving late in the afternoon on a cold July afternoon, we were met by a warm and toasty room with the fire place ready for us to light our selves. it was for one night only but would have stayed longer if we had found it at the start of our trip and not towards the end. would definately recommmend for a couples getaway. absolutely lovely!!! oh and the local apple juice was just delicious:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've stayed here twice now. Warm fire, comfy bed and welcoming port. The fairy wrens catching insects by the rivulet are lovely. The location is great on nice country road for running and generally a clean, inviting and private place to stay even with the second unit next door. I will definitely come again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in June. It is a totally peaceful cosy cottage. Fantastic log fire. Cosy bedroom and a nice spa bath. A perfect place to get away from it all. Great breakfast. We'd love to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, beautiful setting, cuddly rooms fantastic city get away!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

These little cottages have everything you'll need for a luxurious little get away in the gorgeous Huon Valley. Only a short drive to Huonville and only 30 minutes out of Hobart, this little gem seems remote but really isn't. When we arrived it was dark, but the second we opened the car door we could hear the rushing river right next to us and it was such a beautiful sound. We really loved the big spa bath, and the fireplace. We stayed in and cooked a few of our meals with ease - the lack of an oven though meant that we had to eat out for oven baked meals - which was absolutely fine with us! Handy to know though if you're planning to cook in. However, the bbq on the deck has a lid so you could use this in place of an oven. Otherwise everything you need is provided, even a delish brekky hamper when you arrive. The bed was very comfy and we were never cold - a radiator does the job if your fire-building skills are lacking or relaxation takes priority. A great little spot which we would highly recommend to anybody wanting a relaxing get away with access to the hubs around the south of Tassie. So beautiful, an absolute winner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Loved the log fire. The kitchen is spacious, generous breakfast hamper. Wish I had more time for the spa. Spotlessly clean. Its so close to Hobart too. This is the best value accomodation we had this trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crabtree River Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree River Cottages

Address: Crabtree Road, Grove, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Grove
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabtree River Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.