We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess to your Saves list
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera la Costa | Cercavieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Higham Ferrers, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the princess La Palma for 7 nights in April as a lone traveller. Booked the holiday online and then thought OMG what have I done! But I needn,t have worried as the whole episode from my daughter dropping me off at Bedford mainline station to pick up train to Gatwick was flawless. I think Thompson are superb as a travel company and have used them for several years now. Excellent flight out slight delay coming home but so what it just means you extend your holiday as far as I,m concerned. Hotel staff are so friendly and approachable, room was spacious clean,comfy bed nice balcony. 3 English channels on tv you could pay for tea and coffee in your room which I did as I love my morning cuppa. The food was varied and tasted good I defy anyone to say they couldn,t find something they liked! You could have champagne for brekky if you liked ( I did like!). Restaurant staff were so friendly and attentive always greeted with a smile. The pools,eleven of them (yes,eleven!) were spotless and continually attended to. The hotel is nestled at the bottom of this beautiful gem of an Island and as you transfer from the airport (about an hour) you can see the pools as you approach. I loved looking up from the pools at the mountains and watching the clouds cross over them I went on the whale trip and saw a mother and her calf about 5 times plus around 30 dolphins. Also I was the only person who spied a Loggerhead turtle. Lovely boat-trip with lunch included. Night time entertainment was fantastic too. The lovely,knowledgeable rep Jay lives on La Palma so can answer lots of your questions - he is so helpful and was so kind to me particularly when he realized I was by myself. Another highlight for me was the star-gazing which is done on Mondays for 15 Euros. Loved the talk first then the "gazing" we would have got our money back if it had been too cloudy to see anything but we were lucky we had some fab views. I believe I stayed the same time as mummymoo82 so please read her review as well. Am planning my return trip to La Palma very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    657
    195
    39
    23
See reviews for
465
964
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great holiday, the hotel is superb with great staff. The restaurant had lots of choice with great table staff, you could not want for more here. The pools (there are quite a few) were well kept, a real safe haven for small children.
The only down side was the pick up from the airport to the hotel, the road was very windy with lots of sheer drops (nice view though). DON'T GET THE BUS, GET A TAXI it is a much better and safer journey, worth every penny!
All in a great holiday.
Just dint believe the rep when he says you can walk to the lighthouse in under 30 mins, more like 3 hours! LOL

Room Tip: Get a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Teneguia Princess Hotel for a week in April/May 13 and both the hotel and the holiday was exactly as expected after the research we did on the holiday. When on the transfer you can see the hotel from a long way up the mountain giving you a great panorama of the complex and its many features. It is an impressive site indeed.
Check in was quicker than expected than usual with 2 busses full of people dropped off at the same time we expected a long wait but even though we were near the back we only waited approx 10 mins, good work from an excellent reception team (more of them later). The rooms were nice if basic and created one of the very few grumbles we experienced on this holiday, having twin beds in a double room - Really not what you would expect at all. Apart from that the room was spacious and clean if a little dark. The Air Con was effective and very quiet but the balcony was scruffy (not that we used it much). The bathroom however was lovely with a bath, stand up shower etc.
The food at the hotel was really nice, breakfast was a great choice of English, continental, cereal, fruit etc, with plenty of everything. The only issue was the fruit juices were all syrupy sugary mix’s and were truly awful. There was however a fridge full of bottled water (still and spring) to take so we just had that, no huge issue for us. Lunch was a bit of a let down as it was a buffet selection at the pool side restaurant and we thought that whilst again it was plentiful, it was a rehash of the leftovers from the previous night’s dinner accompanied by salad, chips and chicken nuggets. It was lovely to have lunch outside by the pool with the view of the sea etc and the self service beer/wine was a nice touch also. Dinner was great, simple but again with 3 different areas to choose from all offering different choices, cooked meats, pasta dishes, cold selection etc… This leads to about 10 different options each day for you to try and you would need to be really REALLY fussy to find nothing that you liked!
The pool area is massive and excellently kept, when we were there we only had 150 or so guests and had about 100 sunbeds each to choose from so no issues there. There are lots of toilets and lots of options to have the sunbeds either in the sun or under small gazebo type shaded areas, suits all… Really lovely pool area indeed. The pools were all unheated but not too cold to swim in at all.
Drinks wise the beer was lovely and served in proper pint glasses and the local spirit/mixer combos were all very nice and generously served, again the cocktails were pre made concoctions so not the best at all but generally the drinks were of excellent quality, the bar staff also were nice but as previously stated with so few people at the hotel they were not overworked at all. The only negative was the entertainment and even though I didn’t expect much from the ‘Animacion Team’ it was dreadful…. Truly dreadful… We had one night with traditional La Canaries Folk music which left us actually wanting to throw ourselves off the nearest volcano…
Overall all the staff at the Hotel were great, the ‘Animacion Team’ (entertainment apart) were really attentive for the kids and TBH they had a pretty tough and unwilling adult crowd to entertain with such holiday hits as Rifle Shooting, Ping Pong, Water Gym etc… The Hotel reception team were just excellent in everything they did, always with a smile and really brilliant in problem solving from air con issues, to ordering pack lunches with 10 mins notice to arranging taxis and rental cars, we didn’t once walk away from the reception desk with a question satisfactorily resolved. A great team… Well done.
Also the groundsmen were great and worked hard to keep the hotel in excellent condition.
I would recommend hiring a car to travel the island as there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel and if you want to explore it is the only way to do so. We found the hotel very relaxing, almost to the point of us getting cabin fever but we had the opportunity to scuba dive for 3 days so did that, if we had 7 straight days at the hotel I feel we would have got bored.
On one of the cloudier days when sunbathing wasn’t a viable option we used the spa which was 10 euros per person to enter and we were pretty disappointed, the spa cmplex was lovely and clean but the pool area and the Jacuzzi etc was cold and not relaxing at all as you were always moving in the water to keep warm. The concept in the pool was great with different muscle groups getting massaged by water jest but pleeeaaaasseee turn the heater on as if you are paying 10 euros a head you would like a warm and comfortable experience. In my opinion it really wasn’t worth the money and the treatments were incredibly expensive… A big let down for us.
All in all the hotel delivered on so much and if we considered going back to La Palma we would go there again but the island was too quiet (even for us) so we probably won’t go again.
7/10 for the overall experience though and we had a great time.

Room Tip: The Spa is not worth the money. rent a car if you want to go anywhere as there is nowhere within wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in April with my young daughter and my parents! what a fantastic hotel, amazing food, well kept and exceptionally clean!!

It is isolated due to its location but that is the only negative! You can get a local bus into town (45mins) and the Thomson rep Jay who was also excellent runs trip!! I would recommend going on the whale and dolphin trip!!

I have to mention that the staff in this hotel are the best I have ever come across not only to myself but also all very friendly to my daughter, who can be very shy!!! There is also a childrens club which done lots of activities for the children!

I would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

hotel excellent, though is very isolated,its in the middle of a banana plantation,. its 11 pools cater for everyone, with plenty of sunbeds, so no need to be up early. shows were good with the il divo tribute a particular favourite. food good, layout of the hotel excellent (village type accommodation blocks) spread over a large area,
the island tours are good value for money and the scenery is nothing like other canary islands, with spectacular views and great walks. the drive up to the top of the island is amazing. you are literally above the clouds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Perfect for a relaxing peaceful holiday, this hotel is great for getting away from everything. It's not for people who want to be busy or in the hustle and bustle of a place, La Palma is not the place for you! There is no McDonalds or Starbucks to been seen anywhere on the island, just perfect traditional Spanish bars and restaurants. La Palma Princess is perfect for people with food allergies especially if you are a coeliac, the chefs and staff cannot do more for you and the supermarkets in La Palma , Spar Supermarket, have a great range of gluten free food available. Food is great, Drinks are great and pools are fab. We usually hire a car to see other villages especially Tazacorte which is a lovely beach village with great restaurants and bars. The island is also popular with walkers and cyclists, an island to suit most people who want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from a week of hot sunshine and relaxation. Started off badly at the airport Europcar are hopeless we ended up last out of the airport with our hire car which had more scratches than a golf competition , not a place to drive if your not experienced roads are poor to say the least. A better option is hire a Metred Taxi 38 euros from the airport and you will get to the hotel before the coaches . Rooms are spotless safety deposit boxes need activated by reception don't spend ages like us trying to use your door card they cost two euros a day to hire . The large pools are cleaned every morning and the heated pool appears to be heated by the sun as we didn't notice any difference between that one and the rest. Food is excellent and the deserts are to die for wine is drinkable and there is lots of choice. Drink is fine the beer is drinkable but the cocktails are premade and are not up to scratch compared with other 4 star hotels , We were told the Al a carte restaurant is good but a set menu the night we toyed with the idea of going it was booked up as a cruise ship came calling, entertainment was good the highlight was a concert of music and dance by the cultural and folk association " Echentive " .
The kids club appeared to be good with all the old favourites at the mini disco and they had a lot of Activities going on during the day .
Due to the Spanish Financial problems the subsidy given per flight has been cut Thomson have withdrawn their Manchester flights to La Palma which means its Gatwick only from the U.K during this summer which is a big shame means the hotel's Reliance on cruise ships will increase
I hope i've not bored you but if you do have any questions don't hesitate to contact me

Room Tip: No difference between rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Address: Carretera la Costa | Cercavieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.