We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silver Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silver Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Silver Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kavros, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Yanis and his staff are all very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel looks one of the very best in the area, and is well kept, with a vegetable garden they pick fresh produce from to use in the restaurant every day.We stayed in the Family Suite, and had 2 bedrooms - 1 leading off the other, and it was ideal for a family, or parents with family with 2 single beds in 1 room , and one double bed in a large room. The rooms were a decent size with 2 balconies, 2 bathrooms with showers and nicely decorated, with good air-conditioning. The food is varied, plentiful and good, and the bar is a nice area too. Plenty of loungers around the pool free of charge and plenty on the beach with umbrellas for a small daily charge. Well worth going AI too.
A lovely relaxing place with handy shops nearby, and good free parking at hotel.
Would definitely use again as the staff are exceptionally good, and the beach beautiful and clean.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
It has been a pleasure having you with us here at Silver Beach. As you know, we are very proud of our vegetable garden which now produces enough vegetables for all the guests. Specially this this year as right after we planted it back in May an extremely strong and southern wind burn it all to the ground and we had to replant all of it. But this is life, one must fight to win.
We thank you again for having spent your time with us.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spend our honeymoon there in June. We have never met so friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice and clean and for us was very nice decorated. From restaurant right on the beach is nice view on sunset. Big choice of the food and chef still around to explain what is what. Thanks a lot for this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Renata,
A honeymoon is one of the most important and happy moments of our life (believe me; my old age makes me know that happy moments are few). All of us here at Silver Beach are extremely happy to have contributed to make this moment a little better.
We all wish you a very happy and long life with plenty of little babies, happiness, health and most of all, with lots of love.
Warm Regards from all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went on a last minute search for a nice getaway for the weekend. We found this hotel at a reasonable price and booked an all inclusive 3-bed room for the weekend.
We wanted to stay at a calm place right next to the sea, relax and enjoy good food.
And we made the right choice!

The place is very easy to find, right off the national road and the surrounding area (Kavros-Georgioupoli) offers numerous bars, restaurants/taverns, as well as supermarkets and a pharmacy.

First of all, this hotel has the friendliest and most helpful personnel that I've encountered! It's very important to feel comfortable from the first moment you enter a place.
They offered us a room on the ground floor with a view to the (large) garden and the pool/seaside.
The room was clean, comfortable and the a/c worked fine. The only problem was that the tv broadcasted only 4-5 channels, but we didn't really mind :)
The bathroom was clean and comfortable.
The swimming pool was very nice, with umbrellas and sunbeds right below large palm trees and was not crowdy at all, although we stayed there in late June.
The bar-restaurant is right in front of the beach. The food was very good and offered a big variety. The chef was a amazing and always around to present his dishes and help around. We were offered a large variety of drinks that were part of the all inclusive package. The breakfast was also very good, although we had to wake up early to be on time!
We were also very satisfied with the price that we booked.

In general, this hotel is the perfect getaway, in an area that offers a lot of options.
We're lucky to have stayed there.

Room Tip: Try the souvlaki at the hotel's restaurant. Take some time to visit the surrounding areas and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Constantine,
Thank you for your kind words, it was a real pleasure having you here with us.
Concerning the television, you are right, we only offer 5 satellite channels at the moment as we are trying to figure out what is going to happen with the digital channels. There are many proposals on the table for the moment, but most probably we will go for only satellite TV for next season with around 40-60 channels, including the Greek ones. There another possibility which a higher cost and 600 channels, but is it worth it for a beach hotel?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It has a fantastic location right on top of the sandy beach, with rooms that are comfortable, clean and spacious.

Marvellous uncrowded facilities. Spotlessly clean swimming pool / sunbathing area that was never crowded and indeed we often found ourselves to be the only users as there are only 30 rooms in the hotel (the site is big enough for 60). Plenty of sunbeds and shades around the pool area and on the adjacent sandy beach (again never crowded). Crystal clear seas, a shower to rinse yourself off and toilet facilities near to the pool area.

The all you could eat hot and cold buffet breakfast, set us up for the day and then the evening buffet meal, also served at the lovely restaurant/bar situated at the edge of the pool area, beside the beach, gave a great end to the day where we could look out over the sea and watch the sun set over the mountains. We even saw the Chef picking fresh vegetables from the gardens of the hotel one lunchtime. The drinks at the bar were good value and all the staff so friendly.

No hesitation in recommending the Silver Beach Hotel and indeed there is no doubt we will stay there again next time we visit Crete.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Once again, I can only be embarrassed by the kindness of all of you. We are all so glad and proud to have you all here with us. We feel as if we are building a new family of marvellous persons around us. Thank you for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I spent a week in Silver Beach with my sister Sian in June 2013. The room, facilities and excellent service were second to none. Staff are very friendly and do all they can to help and we felt very well looked after. The hotel offers a great getaway if you want to unwind and relax, its very easy to unwind in such beautiful surroundings. The hotel next door gave us a daily dose of music from their activities but this gave a lovely holiday feeling while relaxing on the beach. It would have been nice to have some entertainment in the evenings in the hotel, however we visited Georgioupolis to see some authentic Greek singing which we enjoyed.
It was great to be able to walk to Georgioupolis along the beach and to see all the other hotels and holiday makers. We also took a bus ride to Rethymnon which was a great day out we would recommend a visit to Alana restaurant as it has such a romantic setting and the food looked fabulous we only stayed for a glass of wine unfortunately. The local tourist information centre in Kavros were also very helpful. Lovely people, beautiful surroundings what more could we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
He big hello from all of us here at Silver Beach. We all thank you for your kind words. You are totally correct to point out that there was not any entertainment. Unfortunately, it happened only the week you were here. We were in the process of changing our program. We do have now a totally new weekly Greek evening and we are planning a second weekly event to start very soon. Again, thank you for your comments and keep giving us new ideas, we will do our best to satisfy them to the best of our abilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here June 2013 and had a wonderful time. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, helpful and cheerful and made our stay delightful. We are vegetarian and the cooks went out of their way to ensure that we had plenty of delicious food every meal.
The hotel is right on the beach, the pool is lovely and never felt crowded, the rooms are clean and tasteful.
Kavos has a number of little shops and has a village feel. Georgioupolis is a good walk down the beach. Diving is arranged from the hotel, as is horse-riding along the beach.
This is an excellently run hotel with only 30 rooms so it feels warm and personal and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
All of you are so good to us that I don't know how to thank you all anymore. I can only say that it feels great to know you had a good time. It has always been our goal to show that Greece and Greeks are a nice country with plenty of nice persons. During those hard times for us here in Greece, your comments and your support are the light at the end of the tunnel, the warmth in our hearts and the hope of a better tomorrow.
A big THANK YOU from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in the Silver Beach Hotel in Kavros in May this year. We have stayed in Rethymnon many times and this year decided to choose somewhere different, but still with easy access for a night out in the town. The hotel was a pleasant surprise, the service was excellent and the staff were really friendly and helpful, doing everything possible for our comfort. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food was very good. All the vegetables for the meals are grown in their own garden. The beach is superb and all the rooms have sea views.

We also tried scuba diving, which you can book through the hotel. Everything was arranged for us on the day and we were collected on the morning by the dive centre and brought back again in the afternoon after a fantastic day out. I cannot speak too highly of this hotel, we had a wonderful holiday and will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Hotel Silver Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
What else can I say? thank you for comments, it has been a privilege to have you here. I am glad you tried the scuba diving, they are a great team and like us, enjoy their work and the contact with all of you. Again thank you so much from all Silver Beach..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silver Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Beach

Address: Kavros, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silver Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver beach is located directly on one of the nicest sandy beaches of Crete, in Kavros area (Chania). The hotel boasts only 30 rooms out of which 4 are family rooms. It has a restaurant and a bar both situated on the beach. It is ideal place for relaxation and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Silver Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach Crete/Georgioupolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silver Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.