We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Georgioupoli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli to your Saves list
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Georgioupoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I've been meaning to write this review for some time as we have stayed at the Kokalas Resort three times now and will definitely be returning. Rula & Nicos are so accommodating, nothing is too much trouble, from arranging taxis to and from the airport, to buying in fishfingers for my fussy little eater before our arrival. The rooms are always clean and well maintained, as is the reception, bar area and swimming pool. My husband and eldest son would travel back for the Sunday barbecue alone. The resort is a short stroll from the town centre, bars, restaurants and beaches. You can take a short trip to the beautiful Lake Kournas or the bus to nearby Rethmynon if you are looking to visit somewhere bigger and busier with more lively nightlife. My friends got married here and Rula and Nicos arranged everything to perfection. We have now introduced my parents to Kokalas and they will be returning for the second time this year. All in all an excellent place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We discovered these fantastic apartments by chance in 2012 and loved it so much that we went back for our honeymoon last August and have already booked to return again this year. The resort is ideally placed for the beach and the town square, and the rooms are the best we have stayed in on any of the Greek islands. They are clean, comfortable and spacious and have lovely balconies with great sea views. Nikos, Rula and Frank are great hosts who make all their guests feel welcome. When they knew we were coming on our honeymoon, they decorated our room with beautiful flowers making the holiday even more special. We would definitely recommend this place to families and couples alike.
Mr and Mrs Freeman

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at the Kokalas in June this year. I was made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and clean with a big balcony overlooking the fields and sea. A wonderful barbecue was put on by the owners, the food was awesome with traditional live music, we all danced around the pool. I shall be returning again at the end of May 2014 and really can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed here, this time in the lovely new rooms. Nothing to choose between this and the main building. Both really good. Wonderful welcome from Nicos, Rula and Frank - nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is a good size for a proper swim, barbq night amazing and free unlimited wifi. Well equipped studio apartment so you can make tea/coffee etc or more.What more can you want. Excellent choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few days at the end of a two week holiday in western Crete and were made to feel very welcome by Rula, Nikos and Frank. We had a great room - the one in the centre of the main picture of the hotel. It had a big, square balcony with table and two chairs (not plastic ones) which had the added bonus of sea views as well as overlooking the pool and small garden area (not a lot of room for sun loungers, although there were always plenty to use) It also had a huge bathroom with full size bath. All of the fixtures and fittings are in a very traditional style which was a nice contrast to other accommodation we had stayed in. Food was plentiful, fresh and very popular with most of the guests, whether it was breakfast, a snack or a full meal. There was a large tv in the decked bar/eating area and also use of a laptop, which was very useful as the Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent. The location is good - a short walk from the centre and also sea front and beaches but far enough away to provide a more peaceful retreat. Car parking was available nearby Giorgiopolis itself is perfectly OK - a bit touristy but with some nice beaches and plenty eating places to choose from. There are a couple of banks and a decent sized supermarket as well as loads of smaller ones, and a great little shop called Funky Fish that is worth a visit. The only down side was a rather unpleasant smell that wafted across occasionally - we're not sure where it came from but it smelt like stagnant water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Kokalas Resort and had a fab time. This is a family run hotel and you are made to feel extremely welcome.

My friend had stayed at these apartments twice and managed to get us in at the last minute. From the point that our transfer dropped us off we were greeted by Frank and Nikos who came out to take our suitcases. You are then taken into the bar/cafe area and given a complimentary drink and some cake made by the boys mother.

We had a room in the new part of the complex which is only yards from the main building, and was all new and really nice. Well designed studio's with in the kitchen fridge, kettle and 2 hobs. Need to take a can opener as there wasn't one, but there was a bottle opener. Main part of the studio had 2 single beds, large wardrobe, dressing table and television. Hairdryer was also provided. Patio doors onto a private terrace with two chairs and a table.

Bathroom was a shower room and beautifully designed. Sheets and towels were changed after approximately 3 days. Outside the door was a large drying rack with pegs.

The supermarket is literally around the corner, but you can also have breakfast in the main bar area. Had a barbecue night whilst we were there and was very well attended, and a lot of meat!

Good sized pool and childrens pool and plenty of sunbeds.

You bump into the family everyday and it is clear that they want you to have a great time.

Location wise at the end of the village but it takes minutes to find a restaurant and get to the main square.

Really friendly, great complex and a lovely family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just had a brilliant 2 weeks at the Kokalas resort. Last year we booked for 1 week and were gutted to be going home so soon so we decided to have 2 weeks this year and would have loved to have stayed longer. Rula, Nicos and Frank work hard to ensure you have the best possible time. Not forgetting Anna and Natash who work tirelessly making sure the rooms are clean and spotless and assisting the family with breakfasts.
Kokalas is a small and friendly resort that always has sunbeds available and has a nice clean pool for cooling down and exercise. I like to swim in the sea which is not a problem as it is just a short walk away. The resort of Georgoiupoli is small and beautiful itself. we tend to walk round it every evening passing all our favourite haunts prior to going out for our evening meal at one of the many tavernas available. On an evening we also like people watching at one of the bars in the square. Are favourite bar is the Cotton Club on the sea front. For a night cap you can't do any better than one of Frank's mean Irish Coffees using the very best spirits.
We love Georgoiupoli and would not consider staying anywhere other than at the Kokalas Resort.

Room Tip: Ask to be above ground floor if you enjoy a balcony. Most rooms seem to have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli

Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#1 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli Hotel Georgioupolis
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli Crete/Georgioupolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.