We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orpheas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orpheas Resort to your Saves list
Orpheas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at orpheus resort. This place was amazing. We stayed here for seven nights. This place is paradise if you want a get away for a bit of tourist rush. The beach in front of the hotel is sandy, the main pool area is set in a beautiful garden, in this romantic setting we enjoyed our dinners.. The rooms are not so luxurious but still very good. This place is all about attention to detail. Every staff member we met was so polite, and pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book junior suite...it s the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    41
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

we sayed last August there, nice spot maybe the best in the area, but their style is so , not greek, the rooms small , we ecpected them more clean for the price we paid, their beach bar nothing special , nice area ,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

its not another one cretan hotel, so special beach hotel
nice location , good prices
oerfect beach bar
great staff, very fast wifi
the rooms really have a classic style
special for romantic moments
we stayed only for one week
Crete really rocks, and this location is so different
the beach bar is good and the prices are just fine

Room Tip: dont try booking.co they have better offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very recommendable quiet beach hotel, excellent value for money. The entrance area, the lobby the restaurant, the poolbar... everything is very nice designed. Everywhere there are cozy sitting areas where one gladly stayed. Everything is super clean and tidy. Beautiful garden, pleasant staff with fun at the work... Bus station, plenty of shops, tavernas and pubs in the immediate area. We can only recommend this hotel.
One of the most beautiful hotels, in a very nice garden and comfortable rooms. Ideal for people who are not into large ( Skyscrapers) hotels .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wonderful small individual hotel, very well maintained , with a wonderful view over the sea. We appreciated the pleasant and competent care, the ambience, the extremely clean and comfortable rooms, the breakfast service on the terrace - short : our expectations the Orpheas resort is in all areas met! We felt during our stay very comfortable and in good hands.
Those seeking peace, comfort and a brilliant atmosphere searches, is right here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I will start this review by strongly recommending this unique hotel to anyone who might be interested in north Crete. Orpheas resort is located direct to the sea on the north-western side of the island, 40 min drive from the Chania airport . A lot of the resort is based around all inclusive resort hotels so this stylish, chilled and authentic place was a breath of fresh area.
A perfect boutique hotel in a perfect location.
The hotel has a beach bar that serves lunch til almost 18.00.The service was perfect and the food was all freshly prepared and perfectly presented.
By the main pool there was also a beautiful garden area,with sofas, great place to relax with a bottle of wine.
much more than a 'hotel' we look forward to our return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTTERDAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

ATTENTION: There are some of negative reviews on here which does not reflect the truth. The staffs from reception to waiters and bar staff are really lovely. Excellent food, great choice in the main restaurant. The dining room is large enough and never have to wait for tables, the waiters are very friendly and do a brilliant job. Pools and garden well kept and cared for, PERFECT sandy beach. We had a fantastic stay, we cannot fault the hotel in anyway and would defiantly recommend the Orpheas resort. If you are looking for a beach hotel in West Crete this is the place to go.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Beach
Hotel Silver Beach
#3 of 45 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mythos Palace
Mythos Palace
#8 of 45 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#9 of 45 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#6 of 45 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vantaris Palace
Vantaris Palace
#1 of 6 in Kournas
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
61.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 183 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheas Resort

Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#9 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orpheas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orpheas Resort set off to change from a simple beach hotel to something different… we felt the time had come to create a space for travelers ready to experience the unexpected, searching for a place to unwind and relax, a resort to appeal to all senses. The playful dialogue with the architectural history of Crete provides wonderful surroundings, carefully selected materials, arty design, harmonic colors together with some funky details result in a feel of laid-back luxury with a bohemian twist. With gardens and lounges filled with tranquility, inspiration and the smile of our staff, Orpheas Resort is a true oasis on Crete. Location: Directly on Crete's longest, and most beautiful beach, 18 kilometers long, beneath the impressive White Mountains. Kavros, a little village with some shops, tavernas and cafes is a short walk, Georgioupolis, once a fishing village and now the vivid touristic center of the area, is 4 km away. In 20 km you reach Rethymnon, the beautiful city with its romantic old town. There's a bus station nearby. 50 km to the airport of Chania and ca. 100 km to the airport of Heraklion give you the choice to select the most convenient flight. Our rooms: Expect a selection of beautiful rooms, each with a different, unique style and set-up, all of them designed to offer maximal comfort and a homely embrace. Arty and inspired, in earthy colors and with unexpected details, they elegantly interpret the local traditions. All our rooms feature: Bathroom with Bathtub / Shower Hairdryer Slippers / Bathrobes Air conditioning (cool/heat) Telephone Mini bar Safe deposit box Satellite TV 26" or 32" LCD Wi-Fi access ( free by the lobby area & with extra cost in the rooms) Beach/pool towels Sound proof windows Furnished balcony or terrace Double cat. A Ca. 16-20 m², with double or twin beds and side sea view, accommodates 2 adults. Double cat. B Ca. 13-16 m², with double or twin beds. Less privileged space, view and location than Double cat. A, accommodates 2 adults. Junior Suite Additional features: Tea & coffee making facilities and daily replenished bottled water included, extra comfortable beds with natural latex cover mattress. Ca. 20-25 m², with a bedroom with double bed and a cozy lounge or sleeping area with side sea view, accommodates up to 3 adults. Suite Spacious and airy with beautiful direct sea view, our suites offer upgraded comfort and feature a terrace with sunbeds and umbrella, a DVD-player, an extra comfortable double bed with natural latex cover mattress and a separate lounge or sleeping area. Ca. 22-30 m², accommodates up to 3 adults. Tea & coffee making facilities and daily replenished bottled water is included. Pool Suite Each of our pool suites features additionally a shared or private plunge pool on the balcony or terrace, with direct sea view, 25-35 m², accommodates up to 3 adults. Food & Drink: Start your day with a sumptuous and healthy breakfast and enjoy your dinner with a big variety of Cretan, Greek and international dishes, all cooked with local ingredients. Both breakfast and dinner are served as a help-yourself-buffet, and our staff will be happy to introduce you not only to Cretan cooking, but also to a rich wine list with mostly Greek labels. During the day our Pool Bar provides a'la carte light snacks & meals, fancy salads and all kinds of refreshments. We can serve also on our beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Orpheas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orpheas Hotel Georgioupolis
Orpheas Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orpheas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.